We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Novotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Suite Novotel Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #304 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

On tour with Riviera travel, arrived late in the evening after 3 hour coach drive from airport, hotel were told our arrival time to enable us all to be fed as soon as we arrived. Service was very slow the kitchen staff and waiting staff were not ready for us, we were a party of 34. Had first and main course then majority of the party did not wait for the desserts, it was taking much too long to be served. Left very early next morning for next part of the tour. Besides the very slow service hotel was adequate, and suited its purpose as an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    321
    187
    78
    46
See reviews for
289
251
57
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Reasonable hotel, but lacking any character. Clean and seemingly efficient. Good-sized pool. Not memorable in any way, but decent value booked through hotels.com

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

You would expect 4**** hotel, what you get is modern, European style 2**. Simply imagine Ibis and add couple of square meters for the room.

Starting by order, small reception, 2 receptionists, 5 customers, 25 minutes, welcome of the receptionist was purely around your passport and your credit card (probably he explained all the other stuff to the customers before as it took so long and was tired to reexplain the same stuff to me......)

Room was really spacious, beds comfortable, even if 2nd day after cleaning I found hairs under pillow (surely not mine), Floor was covered with very strange material, kind of dark rubber - plastic with 2 small carpets, quite strange, rather industrial feeling. Closer look into the floor just uncovered stains, so I didn't continue to explore.

bathroom was probably built with intention to give it some local touch of hammam, as shower was going directly on the bathroom floor and with plastic seat just below shower. Effect - small swimming pool around whole bathroom - toilet after using shower.

In the "kitchen" part there were microwave, kettle and small fridge. Didn't try all of these, only fridge - where I found 1st day free bottle of water, not the 2nd day....., and the moment I thought of using fridge for some of the my stuff, I simply realized that inside the fridge the temperature was rather 10°C higher than it should be, making it useless as there was no regulation.....

Another strange thing - from the decorations, furnishing you would kind of expect to be business hotel (although there is a swimming pool probably fine for families). In business hotel I would expect to have flawless internet connection. Out of 3 days - only 1 day connection was "working" (day 3 reception was saying that there is external ADSL provider problem). "Working" 1 day in the brackets, because during 20 minutes it dropped 2 times and during the remaining time I managed to view maximum 2-3 pages as it took ages to load them

Last thing, be aware that there is busy street just in front, with couple of restaurants, bars, night clubs just next to it. So in case you are as lucky as me having room on the ground floor facing street and all of the noise, I would advise you to spend time rather in those clubs, there are definitely better than this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week during May 2012 & found the experience to be a little disappointing. When we initially arrived at the hotel, it took awhile for the receptionist to acknowledge that we were even standing there waiting. He was not very friendly & spoke minimal, not a great first impression as this was our first visit to Marrakech.

The reception area was fairly dark & minimalistic. The staff spoke a little Englsh, but were not as helpful or as friendly as we would have hoped, especially since we were looking for them to advise us on things to do & how to get around.

We were happy when we reached the room as it was very spacious & comfortable with a bit of wear & tear. However, we were facing the front of the hotel which proved to very noisy in the early hours as there are a few nightclubs on our doorsteps. If possible, ask for a pool facing room. There was a showel gel dispenser in the shower & towels were provided, there was also a hairdryer, no iron (but there's an ironing room on the 4th floor). There was a kettle, microwave and a fridge available, there was tea & coffee but they were never replenished when finished. The hotel did provide a small bottle of water daily, however, a few times they did not do this. When we called the reception to request this & on another occasion, some towels which they forget, the service proved to be extremely slow (up to 3 hours) and several calls to reception later to get these, very disappointing indeed!

The breakfast was very repetitive as it was the same thing everyday, croissants, limited fruit (oranges/apples), selection of yoghurts, bread rolls, hard boiled eggs, cold meats, cereal, cheeses, etc. Also food will go cold very quickly, however, there is a microwave available. The seating was limited for breakfast to sofas (in the bar area) and a few tables inside and more outside. The pool was only nicest in the morning as the sun shined there, in the afternoon the sun is on the otherside of the hotel, the water was cold as it is not a heated pool, hence not many people used it.

Opposite the hotel was the Sofitel hotel where you can go to use their ATM. We found the staff there to be much more helpful, they provided us with maps for the area & helped us with most of our queries.

The best thing about this hotel was its location, as it was about 10 minutes drive from the airport (should cost 80-120dirhams depending on size of taxi).

The medina (old town) was only 15 minutes walk, this is where most of the monuments were, koutobia mosque which you cant go in. The bahia/badi palaces (10MAD entrance each) however slightly disappointing as you can finish these within 10 minutes & most of the signs are in french.

The big square/Jma El fina can be daunting if no-one tells you what to expect, there are a lot of things such as snake charmers, people with monkeys, henna artists, etc...if you chose to take a picture, they will expect you to pay them a little money, a small tip is fine, however they may be insistent for you to give them more.

The souks have lots of interesting stalls, however you can get lost within, just remember the price they tell you is more likely 3 times mores what its worth so make sure u haggle or you will get ripped off. There are many cheap food places around the area, however, if thats not what you fancy head to gueliz (new town), where you find more tourist friendly restaurants.

Gueliz area is only 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel, here you find the nicer restaurants, bars, etc. A few that I recommend are Azar (Lebanese restaurant - has bellydancers too), Cantanzaro (an excellent italian restaurant), Bombay (indian restaurant), Thai bistro (thai food). If you like shisha like we did, we found there are a few but limited, one is called lebanon cafe (60MAD - on Avenue Moulay El Hassan), another was SPG (100MAD), on a side road off Avenue Mohammed V.

If you fancy getting some grocery/alcohol or other supplies, there are supermarkets around, there is a Carrefour supermarket on Boulevard Al Yarmouk off the Place de Libertie roundabout, this is closest to the hotel. There is also two Acima supermarkets, one is opposite Majorelle Gardens (50MAD entrance) and a much bigger one but very far on the junction of boulevard abdelkrim al khattabi & avenue al mauqaouama.

For excursions, I recommend the Ourikka Valley where you get to see a waterfall, this cost of 150 MAD each after haggling down the price from an excursion shop on Avenue Mohammed V near the big square. The driver picks us up from our hotel alongside others, spoke extremely limited english, however there were several stops along the way, where you could take pictures of the views, visit a souvenir shop (same as stuff you can get cheaper in the souks), visit a local business where they grow all different herbs and use them to make oils, creams, etc. The next stop was to a local stream with a footbridge, so you can have a wonder & stretch your legs & also see a traditional iron monger. Finally lunch was to nice local restaurant which has a nice flowing river beside it. Once the group had finished lunch, another guide who spoke much better english took you on the trek up the atlas mountains to the waterfall, there is a lot of climbing involved and may not be suitable for everyone. It takes about an hour to get to the waterfall, which is well worth seeing as the air is much fresher. You spend about 20 mins relaxing here and then begin descent back down the mountain & back to your driver.

For nightlife, there are many bars very close to the hotel, extrablatt lounge, so lounge, lotus club, etc. Drink prices are begin at about 80MAD (£7) for spirits. There is also a small casino opposite the hotel & the So lounge nightclub (part of Sofitel - 200 MAD entrance) & the Theatro nightclub (200MAD entrance, on tuesdays they host ladies night which means free entrance & free drinks either house vodkas or whisky all night till 3am). The clubs in Marrakech tend to get more lively around 1.30/2am. Pacha is a fairly long taxi ride away from the hotel (up to 50-100MAD) & is closed early in the week, they hold a ladies night on thursday, otherwise its usually 150-200MAD entrance.

There are a lot of spas/hammans around Marrakech, however, we chose Le Bains de Marrakech near the Kasbah area in the old town, it worked out around 550MAD/£40 each for a couples hamman & massage but proved to be well worth it as we were left feeling very relaxed. There are other cheaper options, but this seemed to be the nicest/most popular & they also spoke some english which was helpful.

Overall, it was a good trip to Marrakech even though the hotel didnt meet our expectations.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are ideal to avoid being woken up by people leaving the clubs at 4am
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

we stayed at Suite Novotel in August 2011 and it was wonderful. The room was big and airy, enough to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children (aged 12 & 13). The pool was lovely and not crowded. There is breakfast available which is included in your room but it is the same every day, there is a decent selection/options.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool side view are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a whole week and we enjoyed the experience. The first impression of the hotel was not that good, because the reception area is a little dark and uninviting, but we were surprised with the room we got, it had a view to the pool area and it was very spatious and cozy. I loved the fact thatwe could watch movies at no extra cost.
I also liked the location of the hotel, it's very close to the main square, the medina, but it's also close to the new part of town and some good entertainment and dining options.
We had a mixed experience with staff, one of the ladies was very nice and patient, she even offered a tour to the mountains that we enjoyed a lot, but some of the people working during the evenings were not that nice, and they even tried to ignore us and kept talking on the phone.
Breakfast was very good, there were many things to choose from. I loved the fresh fruit salad!
I would go back to this hotel if I went back to Marrakech.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Novotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Marrakech

Address: Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Novotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Suite Novotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.