We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite Novotel was just right for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Suite Novotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Suite Novotel Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
963 reviews 963 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
1,718 helpful votes 1,718 helpful votes
“Suite Novotel was just right for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Having stayed at hotels all over the world and several five star ones, we were surprised how large our room was.

The Novotel are a mid scale brand, popular with families as they have rooms that can fit 2 adults and 2 children and also tends to offer buffet breakfast.

Check in took a while as the front desk were busy on the phone. We were given a check in form to complete and asked to pay the local city tax upfront. I asked for a room wit a balcony and we got a room facing the main road. We could see the Sofitel and Casino from our room and street noise was not an issue.

As we entered our room we were taken aback with the rather large size of the room and it was bigger than other Novotel hotels we have stayed in, this is the third Novotel we have been to in the last 12 months.

We had a double bed and a single bed for our child. there was fridge and microwave, kettle for tea and coffee but housekeeping could be a bit stingy with tea and coffee sachets. We also had a complimentary bottle of water provided every day.

As other Novotel rooms there is a separate room for the WC and another room that had both bath and separate shower.

We were given a code for wifi when we checked in, but on the higher floor, we could not get the signal but the hotel also provided a wired connection to the internet. We could get the signal in the lower floors. The hotel also has a PC and a Apple computer in reception.

A surprise was that the tv offered the latest movies when we were there and they are free, So at the time of our stay there was Cowboys & Aliens, Captain America, Kung Fu Panda 2, films released in the cinemas just a few months ago.

Buffet breakfast is not as extensive as other Novotels and it was noticeable that they have skimped a bit here, which includes staffing. Still there is a machine dispensing tea, coffee and hot chocolate but you can also get it from a pot. There was the usual croissants, Pain au Chocolate, pancakes, yoghurts, cheeses. There are a choice of two cereals, our son was not to keen on them and there was some Moroccan food as well. It would do for a short trip but could get too much if you were here for a longer stay.

The hotel has a pool area and near to it a small bar area with a pool table. Our son found it a little bit chilly to swim but it was a decent sized pool and I saw the staff maintaining it and keeping the area round it clean during our stay.

The hotel is based in the Hivernage, the European end of Marrakech, outside the walled Medina. This is a smart suburb of Marrakech where international hotels and designer boutiques rub shoulders. The Medina was 15 minutes walk from the hotel, we found it was better from the exit of the hotel to turn left, turn left again at the first side street, cross the busy road and enter the Royal Mansour. There is a path where you can walk along, but do not go on the roads as the staff will move you along. Once you get out the other side, turn right and you will view the Koutabia tower, walk up a bit towards the tower and then cross the busy main road to take you to the main square.

The hotel is also convenient to the Gueliz area. Its a ten minute walk, past the Court of Appeal building and you have a shopping mall, and places like KFC, Pizza Hut and McDonalds. We also found a small Carrefour near the hotel but on the way to the Gueliz area to help us stock up on some snacks and drinks. The hotel does not have a restaurant but does offer water, crisps, ice creams but at higher prices which is normal for such hotels.

Overall, we got value for money for our stay, the hotel was above our expectations. The hotel was clean and efficient although they could had kept the lifts a bit more cleaner.

Its a shame we could not get a late check out as we had a late flight, the hotel tends to charge for extended check out which we thought was not worth it but you can store the luggage.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    306
    176
    71
    43
See reviews for
277
241
55
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Having stayed at hotels all over the world in fact this is the worst one I have seen. Actually, this should not be classified as a hotel but accepted as a stopover apartment. As for the property it is unclean. I am staying with a family of 5 and after persuasion managed to get two connecting rooms, to this note I also checked rooms on the other floor and they are all pretty much the same. Despite ending up with connecting rooms one of the rooms is not even carpeted. There are stain marks all over the place and we havent seen much housekeeping anywhere including changing of bedding. Actually I have had very little sleep in this place despite overlooking a joke size swimming pool. As we are unable to relax here we spend most of the time away from the Suite or my wife sit out in the decking chairs by the swimming pool. If you really are on a tight budget might like it and the breakfast isnt worth writing about either cold, stale and old. There again I have never been a fan of Ikea furniture but thus is old grade furniture in need of modernisation and renovation.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I went to Morrocco for a december four day break this year ( 2011) and have just come back! My type of holiday is visiting lots of places, travelling throughout the day and having a comfortable, clean hotel ( im a bit fussy!!) to use as a base for a good breakfast to start the day and a good sleep! Suite Novotel met these expectations in every way!

The hotel is only a 15-20 minute walk from the main square and is within walking distance of every other possible place you would want to visit in Marrakech! We literally had a map of Marrakech and spent each day walking to all the different visiting places! However if you are tired on your feet there are a surplus of taxis and even horse and carriages to take you to your destination!

The hotel itself is very comfortable, and decorated in a modernistic fashion ( a bit like ikea has exploded), the tv offers a range of really good recent movies and is very clean! They serve breakfast every morning offering hot & cold drinks, with breads, ham , cheese and other various basic condiments! The staff are helpful; however mainly speak french/arabic, but are every ready to help and converse in broken english

Notes of advice:
1) The hotel is only like a 5 minute drive from the airport! Do not pay more than 100 dirams ( about a tenner) for transport! Such a rip off! Haggle! We managed to get it down to 90 dirams! But sure you can get less!
2) If you book excursions through the hotel, make sure the hotel staff inform your driver exactly what you paid for. As we paid for a waterfall excursion with lunch and guide included, but the driver as unaware so we spent a bit of time arguing back and fourth. Eventually it was okay!
3) Accepting direction advice from locals is a bit iffy, as sometimes they give you incorrect directions and expect a tip in return! (cheeky!)

I had a great time and would recommend this hotel to friends & family

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

This hotel is good value for money. We got a triple room so worked out at not a bad price per person. The hotel staff are varied, some are very good at English and some aren't. But if you know some French, it can help! We were welcomed with mint tea which was very nice! The rooms were cleaned every day. The breakfast is basic but sufficient with croissants, pain au chocolats, cheese, ham, cereal etc. There were free movies on the TV which was good for nights! There were two computers downstairs with quick internet. The taxi ride was MAD90 from the airport, can probably get it for cheaper, definitely don't pay more than MAD100 for the journey as it's not far. Expect to pay more at night though. And then after that until we left, we walked everywhere. It was a 15minute walk into the Square. It wasn't too hot at this time of year, so also walked to Menara Gardens, and Majorelle Gardens, but got a little lost. If you book a day excursion with the hotel, we did for Ourika Valley, make sure the hotel receptionist tells the driver what you paid for, as the driver didn't realise we had paid for lunch and a tour guide as well as the travel, so caused a problem when we got there, as they expected us to pay again! But it got resolved in the end...think it was just a miscommunication! Enjoy Marrakech, best time of year to go in Winter, not so hot and not too many tourists around!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Wonderfull staff. The location is perfect in la plameraie, just behind the Sofitel. The breakfast buffet is simply perfect (I like the danette). The front desk staff was very helpfull with our reservation for Essaouira. Don't hesitate to book if you are going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We are currently staying at this hotel that is advertised as 4 star, I would describe its true rating as a 2/3 star self catering. The hotel offers no atmosphere, a very minimally dressed front foyer, no restaurants, a bar that does not serve food, a couple of fridges that are it's equivalent of a shop - extortionate prices!!!! (a mini tub of Hagen daz 3.50 pounds). The pool is cold and small, the fitness room has a couple of equipment. There is no kids area, activities etc. There is definitely no room service. The hotel laundry service is very expensive. The continental breakfast is rather ridiculous, there is no bread. Its just Croissants and ciabatta. Coffee machines for drinks.

The rooms are very basic. With rolling tables and chairs. The housekeeping do a rather menial job of cleaning, we have been here 4 days and the sheets are yet to be changed. The room was not hoovered on the 1st night, we then asked the housekeeping staff to do this. There are no toiletries, shower caps, toothbrushes, etc..in the bathrooms, that you would expect at a four star hotel.

This is one of the worst 4 star hotels we have stayed at - having travelled to many destinations around the world and stayed at Novotels a number of times. This hotel is certainly not good value for money. I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quality stay. Its basic, basic, basic!

All in all it's probably ok for large families, if you are looking for a really basic accommodation for 4 people.

Room Tip: There is nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gt Yarmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

So impressed I'm writing this from the hotel room. The hotel is exactly as described - the room is spacious and comfortable for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Free internet and a good choice of free films. Beds all good - even the pull out 4th one. The room is clean and well equipped. Fridge, kettle and microwave are handy although there are no local shops nearby - just a few essentials in the hotel foyer.

Breakfast is continental style and served in the foyer as there is no restaurant. This is an unusual arrangement but there is a fair choice of food and we haven't been disappointed.

The hotel is situated in a area full of large hotels but is only a 15 minute walk from the city centre.

It is perfect to use as a base while exploring Marrakech, but lacks the charm of some of the more traditional hotels and we probably wouldn't want to spend a whole day here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite Novotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Marrakech

Address: Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Novotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Suite Novotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.