We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pragmatically excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite Novotel Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Suite Novotel Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Suite Novotel Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pragmatically excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I must begin by telling you all that I am one fussy and experienced traveller, my wife is even worse. My complaints are usually minor, basic stuff that people overlook.

However, I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. We paid £385.00 sterling for a suite that comfortably accommodated the four of us. Other hotels for that week were being priced at almost double for that particular Easter week - we had booked quite last minute. The mattresses were new and firm. There was a king sized bed, not two beds put together which my wife absolutely detests. One bed which could be pulled out from underneath and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was actually a proper single bed which cleverly converted to a sofa by the use of a no. of large cushions - not the other way round usually found in some hotels. The room had a kitchenette comprising of mini fridge, microwave, kettle and a sink. The bathroom had a shower cubicle and a sep. bath, there were toiletries and a hairdryer. The toilet was separate and located near the entrance to the room. The room had a balcony overlooking the pool. The air-conditioning was fab. It wasnt extremely noisy and had three settings.

In terms of amenities, the pool was great. The weather was 30 degrees plus on our visit, yet the pool area was always cool. The breakfast was continental, on busier days the food did run short but was rapidly replaced. The staff were helpful and when we asked for items after the breakfast time had lapsed, my youngest has this thing for boiled eggs at present, they tried their best to help. Our room had a new HD 32 inch tv, this gave us music, internet and on demand movies.
There was an ethernet connection for laptops and the hotel also gave free WIFI access as well as having a computer available in the lobby. The
Hotel is located in L'hivernage which is an expensive part of Marrakech and is next to the grand Sofitel. Plenty of Taxis always available outside. They refer to the hotel as the Suite hotel. 15 Mins Walk to the Jmaa. Also a short 5-10 min walk to Guillez. This is another expensive part which has the Mcdonalds, KFCs and trendy Cafes as well as the nightlife.

The staff were always helpful and tried their best, most people at reception spoke English. As we had booked ryanair flights they helped me print my boarding passes. Any other queries regarding this hotel feel free to email me at league2005@hotmail.co.uk

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    287
    143
    53
    27
See reviews for
227
197
44
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Leaving today to return to UK. Very satisfied with the stay. Nice location, friendly staff, good service. No-hassle hotel. Walking distance to the main square. Provides you with time to relax instead of sensory overload if to stay in the town. Buffet breakfast has enough choice-all healthy. The breakfast runs from 7-11 am! Our room had adequate space and cleaned everyday. The pool is good size and nice. The staff is able to help with arranging taxis, arranging trips. The double decker tourist bus service has a stop outside the hotel and the 48 hour pass costs £18. there is a supermarket 6-7 min walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Able to order PizzaHut/KFC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011 via mobile

We have been on a tour of Marrakech, stayed 4 nights at La Renaisance, 4 at the novotel and 4 at the sofitel. First I will tell you the bad points of the novotel, although it seems that these have been mentioned before! The staff are French and don't seem to have much time for the english! I asked for a room overlooking the pool and with air con that worked, guess what, I got a room facing the road and the air con did not work! I was told that I had an extra large balcony and whilst I agree it is long it is only wide enough to stand and this is confirmed by the fact that there are no chairs or tables to sit on! I knew the area but did not appreciate how noisy it could get at night! Too noisy to open the door and without air con it was like sleeping in a greenhouse! There is a microwave and fridge in the room which is on the plus side but the nearest supermarket (acima) is around 30 mins walk. My advice if you drink is to bring alcohol with you from the airport as it's not cheap here! On the plus side we have wifi in the whole hotel for free. There is a large number of movies to watch on demand in the room again for free. As has previous been mentioned, the extrablatt is a nice cafe just across the road and the square is around a 15 min walk. In summary I am not saying DO NOT stay at this hotel as it is very well priced, just be prepared!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed here at Suite Novotel for 7 nights - and what a fantastic choice it was for our accommodation. It was a real pleasure and we would definitely return. The staff were excellent , friendly and helpful. We were well cared from the start to the end of our visit.
Both inside the hotel and the rooms look wonderful. The location is within easy reach of the Medina region. About 10-15min walk to the Souks and the famous Djemma el Fna.

The rooms are light, spacious. After an exhilarating day in the city, it was always nice to come back to the hotel and find our beds made. Our bathroom was also lovely, with a bath and shower.

The hotel also has a garden and pool area - residents can relax either on the sun loungers beside the pool. You also have access to free unlimited use of the internet and free movies in the comfort of your own room.

A review of Suite Novotel would not be complete without mentioning the food . For breakfast there is a variety of Continental and Moroccan breakfast items; on any given day, we could consume croissants, toasted crusty bread, traditional Moroccan pancakes served with sugar and a honey & butter mix, fried eggs, fruit salad, mint tea and delicious freshly squeezed orange juice.

The hotel staff are so nice and friendly. As well as being extremely professional, Hannan and her brilliant team became good friends to us - they always had time to speak to us either about Marrakech or on a more personal level, and were all beyond kind.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We went as a party of 8 from 3-7 April 2011 flying with Ryanair from East Midlands. We got our currency from Thomas Cook but should have used the exchange at the airport for a better rate. Taxi from the airport was 200 dirhams for each taxi. Hotel is nicely positioned with good rooms and swimming pool-but not enough beds-although they do have some older plastic beds which are kept out of view. No noise at night with good aircon. Breakfast very good although smoking is allowed in some parts of the dining area but there is outside seating. Bar had 2 for 1 on Corona at 55 dirhams which was very good and Ayeesha at the bar was excellent. Open top bus stops outside the hotel and was good-we did 2 days but really a 1 day pass was ok. Marrakesh is frantic but different aand is only a 5 dirham taxi ride away. Choice of restaurants is excellent although I've had enough tagine for a while.We did a trip up into the Ourika valley,including lunch, for 32Euros which was fantastic. Only take dirams for food and drink back to the airport because for some reason they do not accept them at the duty free!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the Novotel this week and were pleased mostly with our choice.
Hotel was in a nice location, 15 mins walk from the medina and the center of the new town. After visiting the medina with its chaos and dirt i was so glad to be coming back to our hotel. Only used taxi's to and from the airport and walked everywhere else, maybe a good idea to take decent shoes if walking as pavements everywhere are awful! Only bad thing about location is that we were facing the Sofital and the road which was pretty to look at but really noisy ALL night. Would definately ask for a room overlooking the pool next time.
Hotel reception and bar were basic but we spent a fair time sitting in there in the evenings as bars close by were few and far between and we didnt fancy venturing too far.
A couple of decent cafe/restaurants nearby but better ones further afield.
Rooms were nice, not the best I've been in but lots of facilities including free movies and internet. Air conditioning didnt work very well, we thought this wouldnt be a problem as we enjoyed leaving the balcony door open, however the noise from outside was awful so we didnt get much sleep. Beds ok, bathroom fine except for fluctuating shower temperature, from boiling hot to freezing in seconds. Nice to have kettle etc but 1 tea bag, 1 coffee and 1 milk the entire stay didnt get us very far!
Strange thing with the towels - after we used them we left them in the bath expecting them to replaced, but we were told that if you request new towels you have to pay so we ended up using same towels for 5 days - not great! They were freely giving out pool towels though which was a bit of a contradiction!!
Breakfast was continental and nice, we quite enjoyed it and loved the free flowing coffee and orange juice. it was also available from 7.30 till 11 which was great.
No restaurant for evening meals which was disappointed - they sold outrageously expensive frozen mush which we could have microwaved in the room!
Staff friendly enough but 1 cleaner left a loo brush in outr toilet which was covered in huge lumps of you know what - not very nice
Pool area was lovely but you had to pick where you sat to still be in the sun after 3ish. Lovely padded mats on the sun beds but the pool was FREEZING, coldest I have ever been in and would be useless for anyone with small children as 10 seconds was the maximum anyone could stay in.
Overall we enjoyed the hotel - only complaints were air con,no restaurant, no fresh towels and freezing pool, other than that it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We had a nice stay. The area is very nice and you are abel to walk around to most of the things.
The rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast was ok and the staff where in generally nice, but did do much in smiles. The pool area is very nice, but we visited the hotel in the end of february and the pool is not heated and it was very, very cold, so we could not use it unfortunately.
But a very nice hotel with good opportunities in the nearby area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suite Novotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Novotel Marrakech

Also Known As:
Suite Novotel Marrakech Hotel
Suite Novotel Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Address: Rue Haroun Errachid | Quartier de l'hivernage, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#188 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Novotel Marrakech 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Suite Novotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite Novotel Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.