We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpredictable hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Save
You added Hotel Le Grand Imilchil to your Saves list
Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unpredictable hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I stayed for 8 nights. Sometimes the reception staff were friendly and helpful but more often they were disinterested. They did not seem to have an efficient admin system. My bill was paid in advance from the Uk but they had no record of this and they became uncomfortably confrontational and accusing. When a phone call clarified the misunderstanding, no apology was given to me.
I had one room at the front which was reasonably spacious with a balcony. Then I was given another room at the back which was small, no balcony and poorly furnished.The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff were friendly and efficient.
The breakfast was very basic and not good value at the price although the staff in the dining room were courteous and seemed to enjoy their work.
Overall its asset is its location and then its pot luck what you get .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    25
    18
    5
See reviews for
7
8
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a holiday with a walking company. The hotel was roomy, plumbing in bedroom poor dripping taps no plugs., Water however was hot and plentiful. Bed very very hard. Breakfast hard roll and danish pastry, took 3 days to get bread. No choice of jam during stay. Coffee luke warm. Service dreadful, it was quicker to get your own breakvfast. No plates used only very thin paper serviette to place on table or your lap. Dinner boring same soup served each evening until request for atlernative made. Likewise no choice other than tagine. Pudding either fruit or yoghurt.. On one night we had creme caramel I asked for fruit told no fruit available. Difficult to eat food around the low round table of 7 people. Most people ate their food on their knee. Collapsable chairs were litarally that,when I pushed my chair back it folded and I fell flat on my back the waiter was amused and did not take my complaint seriously. Chairs still reappeared at other times despite their unsafe condition. The worst hotel for service and food variety I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

For: Reasonable sized rooms, very clean, new aircon, room-width french windows onto balconies, 15-minute walk to the Medina, quick drive to airport. Breakfast until 10 and checkout until 12.
Against: General dilapidation. Plumbing in need of attention (leaks, drips, loose taps etc.), french windows ill-fitting, resulting in a lot of noise from busy road outside. Staff fairly witless, especially at breakfast.
To sum up: Ok for a night but not an extended stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

The concierge was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast food was good. Pool was refreshing. Would consider staying here again--good value for money.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

rooms are ok: enough big, average cleannes. it's not too close from the street, so you'll hear some noise but not too much. average service too. the swimming pool is clean. 490 dh a double room + 45 dh for breakfast in 10/2009

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

The Imilchil has been a regular choice for our last night in Marrakech when we travel to southern Morocco. It's a good size and if you have one of the newly decorated bedrooms high up, you can have a panoramic view with some amazing skyscapes. I usually only have a room here and have meals either near the centre or in Guéliz. If you arrive in the wamer months, it has a nice little pool. Just a gentle warning - if you like soft beds, you need to go elsewhere. The mattresses are rather firm (which I like)! If you're looking for a good standard 3 star at a good arm's length from the madness of the centre, you might find this will suit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Excellent location and good value for money. Our good sized room has climate control (and we needed the ac as it was so warm), large bed, plenty of storage and plenty of hot water. Breakfast adequate with really good coffee, good variety of menus at dinner and staff really helpful. It is a dry hotel (no alcohol) but no problem as there are hotels nearby that you can get a drink at. A short stroll to Djemma el Fna and the souks.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 96

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Grand Imilchil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.