We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big hotel in a big city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Save
You added Hotel Le Grand Imilchil to your Saves list
Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Lodi, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“big hotel in a big city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

rooms are ok: enough big, average cleannes. it's not too close from the street, so you'll hear some noise but not too much. average service too. the swimming pool is clean. 490 dh a double room + 45 dh for breakfast in 10/2009

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    25
    18
    5
See reviews for
7
8
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

The Imilchil has been a regular choice for our last night in Marrakech when we travel to southern Morocco. It's a good size and if you have one of the newly decorated bedrooms high up, you can have a panoramic view with some amazing skyscapes. I usually only have a room here and have meals either near the centre or in Guéliz. If you arrive in the wamer months, it has a nice little pool. Just a gentle warning - if you like soft beds, you need to go elsewhere. The mattresses are rather firm (which I like)! If you're looking for a good standard 3 star at a good arm's length from the madness of the centre, you might find this will suit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Excellent location and good value for money. Our good sized room has climate control (and we needed the ac as it was so warm), large bed, plenty of storage and plenty of hot water. Breakfast adequate with really good coffee, good variety of menus at dinner and staff really helpful. It is a dry hotel (no alcohol) but no problem as there are hotels nearby that you can get a drink at. A short stroll to Djemma el Fna and the souks.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

This quite large hotel has a good location just outside the Medina, and is 15 minutes' easy walk from the Djemaa el Fna. We stayed there with a large walking group. I learned that the tour company would prefer to use other hotels, but the Imilchil will let them have double rooms for single occupancy.

Like all the Moroccan budget places we stayed, it's looking rather "tired" and clearly has not had any money spent on maintenance in quite a while. Our room was small, reasonably clean, and featured very hard beds and pillows, which seems to be another characteristic of Morocco. The room had no heating, unfortunately, and we did not need to try out the aircon. The shower was particularly poor; half the water persisted in emerging through the bath tap, and in consequence it was necessary to shower kneeling down.

Breakfast was a decent French affair, with good coffee.

This place would be OK for the independent traveller, provided that you get a competitive price.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 96

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Grand Imilchil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.