We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not brilliant, but it was good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Save
You added Hotel Le Grand Imilchil to your Saves list
Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #385 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not brilliant, but it was good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

So we came here with a tour.

Place is perfectly reasonable for a few nights and, yes, a few things needed mending here and there, but so what.

Pool was nice enough. Food was perfectly adequate (actually really liked the meal on the first night!)

The bar was basic and didn't stay open late into the night, so essential to keep a good supply of bottled water handy.

There's a supermarket about 5 minutes walk away, so you can get plenty of provisions easily enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    25
    18
    5
See reviews for
7
8
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I think a lot of the reviews for this hotel are unjustified. This is a not a 5* hotel is Paris. It's a 3* in a North African city and to be honest it is excellent value for the dirt cheap price. If you have travelled the rest of Morocco you will find that this is quite luxurious in comparison to a mud hut! I went with my partner as part of a tour group and found the staff very welcoming and helpful. The foyer is very traditionally decorated with mosaic, cushions and carpets. The room was very spacious and we had a large bed. We also had a good sized bath which was nice. Reasonably clean given the location. There was a pool which was nice to dip the toes in but we probably wouldn't have gone for a swim! I wouldn't recommend for a 'luxurious' or 'romantic' getaway but for a safe and comfy place to spend the night on a budget - yes! Also if you hate tour groups...probably not for you as several tour companies use it.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This place probably suffers from the fact it is used by a lot of budget travel companies, so in a way doesn't really need to try too hard.
On my arrival the reception staff were not too interested in helping.
The rooms are OK , Worn but clean, rather bland and spartan. The bathrooms are shabby, as are the towels and hot water totally unreliable. In December this was not a plus.
Public areas are ok, breakfast is good enough but not a buffet. We had dinner there the first night and I was delicious.
As part of a tour, it is a reasonable place, except for lack of hot water, but if you're an independent traveller, you'd be better of staying closer to the medina and in somewhere far more atmospheric and with some character.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The negative reviews of this hotel were not warranted. It is acually quiet pleasant and while run down a little, this entire country is worn down a lot and one must take that into account when making expectations. The breakfast, criticized elsewhere, is actually quite good. The service and attitude of staff was friendly. It's not fancy, but clean and efficient, and nothing wrong with it either.

The hotel is located in the new town and lacks any atmosphere locally. For friendly chaos, book accommodation in the Medina, but don't expect high standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here like a lot of people as a result of a booking from a trekking company. Stayed one night either side of the trek. The accommodation was clean and the staff very friendly but as previous posts have said it was well past its sell by date . In need of serious modernization. Breakfast was a fixed menu of bread roll , croissant , orange , cheese triangle , boiled egg , marmalade and coffee. Lifts clanked and groaned under the weight and we heard what sounded like wires parting. No drama though and we lived to tell the tale. I have to mark it very low as a result of the actions of the man who took our bags to the taxi. We had pre booked the cab through the tour guide for the airport and was told 100 Dirhams . The porter tried to tell us it was now 150 because of the cases. This was an obvious attempt at getting a kick back . We refused to pay up front so he never got his bung from the driver . I advise all travelers to agree a price up front and refuse to budge when they try it on.

Room Tip: Higher up for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The location is excellent for the price. About 10 minute walk to main square, but pleasant walk along the city wall - you can always get a cab for 20MD (£2).

My room was quite large for one person and had a balcony overlooking the pool area. Room was clean but a little outdated, which is very common for Morocco. The downtairs area is nicely set out with plenty of seating places and also has a little restaurant. The food in the restaurant is quite good, but not a lot of choice.

Has WI-FI in your room - big bonus for Morocco :-)

Breakfast was basic but ample consisting of tea/coffee, breads, croissant, jam etc - the best part is the freshly squeezed orange juice!

Staff are very lovely - nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Sowerby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here at the beginning and end of a two week trek in the High atlas. Contrary to many of the reviews I was pleasantly surprised. It isn't 4 star by UK standards but both our rooms were clean with comfortable beds. Service was occasionally a bit haphazard but the staff were courteous and keen to help. It would have been nice to stay a little closer to the centre of town, but standards were higher than in a lot of hotels I've stayed in while participating in adventure holidays in Europe. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 96

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Grand Imilchil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.