We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prison would be preferable....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Prison would be preferable....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place would only be given 3*s if it was reviewed by Stevie Wonder. I was part of an organised trek across Morocco with this hotel being the Marrakesh base. First impressions were that of a rather basic, badly decorated lobby with a bored looking front of house chap sat behind the desk. We were given the keys to a first floor twin room which can best be described as an unfortunate mixture of my grandmother's house and Del Boy Trotter's flat. The room smelly of damp and horse piss, and the beds had itchy mismatched flowery blankets on them, ideal for the 53 degree climate. I was delighted to spot a 1970's phone, however to my dismay this functioned purely as a toy and not as a phone. It was obviously considered an authentic ornament to brighten up the room. We were amused to see that in the corridor there was a glass cabinet marked “Fire extinguisher”, however this contained bottles of dirty water and no extinguisher! Nice one Health and Safety.
The bathroom was appalling. We had to ask for towels, loo roll and soap. All of which caused the grumpy reception man to act as though we had asked for truffles or diamonds. My other complaint was that of the flickering strip light above the mirror. I reported it to two different members of staff, explaining that whilst the disco shower was fun to start with, I was mildly concerned about becoming epileptic. They told me that “no-one is here to fix it”. It materialised that despite there being 4 male staff members standing around admiring the ceiling, none of them were capable of changing a strip light. I offered to change it myself, but they refused.
Having stomped back upstairs to my disco for one, I discovered a cockroach scuttling across the dressing table! I soon realised that the men downstairs were for decorative purposes only and would not be of much help, although one was comically dressed as an army sergeant, which cheered me up momentarily.
Breakfast was by all accounts ridiculously rationed and dull. One extremely over-cooked hard-boiled egg, one cheese triangle and a bread roll. Due to being yeast intolerant I asked if I could have another glass of orange juice, considering that I couldn’t eat the bread, and the surly waiter looked as if I had requested a BBQ’d kitten and told me that I would have to pay 20 dirhams for the OJ. I fed my egg and cheese triangle to the rather lovely cat family that were playing in the trees outside (the only positive element to this hotel), all the time being watched by the breakfast police.
The pool is great if you do not value the 7 layers of skin you were born with and quite fancy a free chemical peel. At this point I could not wait to start the trek and escape, but later found out that we would stay a total of 5 nights here throughout the journey. Splendid.
I would only recommend this hotel to people that I really do not like. There are plenty more hotels around this area, I suggest you try those instead.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    19
    17
    5
See reviews for
6
6
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here pie and post your, as others.....first night was not good, given a room with no view and a mouldy bathroom ceiling.
Breakfast next morning was served by grumpy guy who want keen on offering second chip of coffee.
On return trip, was given a much nicer room, both a bath and shower included, shower was hot and powerful.
Nice view over pool, WiFi extended up to room on first floor, so that was a bonus.
The pool was nice, warm even at 6.45 in the morning.
Breakfast was a while different affair too...helpful smiley service.
There may be complaints about it being quite basic, but it's more than I would help myself to at a buffet.

Second impressions worth it this time.

Quick walk to medina too and supermarket round the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed here last week on 2 occasions, with my 2 children, at the beginning and end of a trekking holiday. I don’t know the room rate because we were booked as part of our trip, so can’t comment on it from a value for money point of view -but suspect if I was able to, value for money would not rate highly. But beds and a pool, after the mountains, were welcome.

It is very close to a real supermarket -yay! –a Carrefour –open good hours so cheap water, snacks, toiletries etc for holiday makers are easily available. Also two banks, with ATMs, are close by.

It's about 20 minutes walk from the medina.

Both rooms were a bit scruffy. When the hot taps were turned on (shower/bath, basin, bidet) the water ran orange for a short time -scary. The aircon struggled. The hot water failed completely in the late afternoon, presumably when everyone wanted a shower (although occupancy was low).

The public spaces –corridors, reception, dining etc were fine, although the overall impression is of tiredness.

The outside space is good, and the pools very good although heavily chlorinated.

The breakfasts were simple but OK. We ate lunch there once, and the quality and cost were fine. Friendly staff although breakfast service was not up to much! Front desk service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 separate times over the course of our Morocco holiday. Every time there was something wrong. Firstly, people being sent to rooms that were still dirty and not made up. Second visit there was no hot water. Final visit the cleaners stripped the beds and cleaned the room before I was even checked out, feeling like I was rushed out the door. On all visits, the maids would come knocking on everybody's doors between 8.30-9am to see if they could clean the room, one cleaner even walked in on someone while they were still in bed. I find this unacceptable

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The breakfast is tightly rationed and don't dare to ask for more. As I don't eat the boiled egg or cheese triangle I thought I could bargain for some extra orange juice but no dice.

They run a money maker booking taxis as twice the price. A taxi to the airport should be about 70-80 dhr and they will book it for you for 150. My booking was changed by the desk clerk so that he could take 2 taxi fares and put 2 separate bookings into the same clapped out taxi (no rear seat belt) and pocket the additional fare.

The staff vary, some are polite and do their best but they are up against it as other members of staff are surly and unprofessional. The only way they keep going is through the tour companies who must get a good deal as no-one in their right mind would stay here of their own volition.

The maid took my towels without replacing them and I wanted to wash my hair. I asked for towels at the reception and you would think I'd asked for gold. Eventually got a towel and half way through washing the hair, the water stopped so I returned to reception to ask what was going on and the chap at the desk rolled his eyes, turned away and muttered something under his breath to a colleage to the effect of 'not her again'.

The place is a disgrace and tour companies using this hotel are just giving themselves a bad name.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is listed as a 3rd cat. hotel but is really higher. It is located in the most beautiful part of downtown Marrakesh, near many super luxury hotels. Has a beautiful garden, all rooms with balconies. and small pool. Relaxing and quiet with personal attention for rental cars, restaurants, etc. Highly recommended for budget travelers and others who want to be in the center of everything with a garden and pool at a low price with high quality.

Room Tip: Choose room with view over pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel! I broke my ankle in the Haut Atlas which brought an end to our holiday. The staff were the best. It's within easy walking distance of the centre. The breakfast is plain but more than adequate. The rooms weren't modern but kept spotlessly clean. Dinner was tagines with tastey soup, then fresh fruit. No one needs any more than this for a holiday in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Grand Imilchil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Imilchil

Address: Avenue Echouhada Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 461 hotels in Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Grand Imilchil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Grand Imilchil to your Saves list