We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zayane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Zayane to your Saves list
Riad Zayane
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   36, derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala - médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huddersfield
1 review
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Such a nice place, friendly and professional staff and amazing little guest house in the old city of Marrakesh!!
I will always remember the excellent mint tea with its homemade biscuits served at the check-in.

Also a special mention to the diner served in the patio which was excellent.

We definitely recommend this place and we will definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
98
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Riad Zayane. Nothing but praise for this very friendly hotel.

A total of five rooms, all of excellent standard (we had a sneaky peak into all of the rooms as we were the only guests on our first night). We booked a taxi pick up from the airport and an evening meal on our first night. The taxi driver was friendly and very knowledgeable and carried our suitcase to the Riad for us. We would never have found the place if it wasn't for him. We were greeted with mint tea as we checked in and the evening meal was exceptional so much so we ate in the hotel twice more during our visit.

It is in a central location, and is easy to get to on foot from any of the tourist attractions. The European part of Marrakech and to the Medinah are easy to find using the maps that the hotel provides. The hardest part is remembering how many streets you have to walk up to turn right to find the Riad, but the hotel have business cards which they leave in your room to carry with you with all their details and a little map on the back to make sure you don't get lost. They have thought of everything.

The courtyard is well furnished with plenty of relaxing space, and a small plunge pool. The rooftop is well equip with settees, chairs and sun loungers. There are a few umbrellas that will provide some shade for those looking to stay out in the sun. They even provide towels and sunhats for your protection on the roof. The photographs don't do it justice.

The hotel arranged some trips for us and they worked out cheaper than booking through agents before hand and even the street hawkers selling trips to the tourists. We had the same taxi driver for our trips (over the Atlas mountains and to the Beach), and I am pleased to say he was a very friendly and competent driver. He refused our offers of tips (except the last one when he took us back to the airport).

Alexander the owner and the rest of the staff were very friendly, spoke several languages to cater for all their clientele. We wanted for nothing while we were there, and when we go back to Marrakech again, we will definitely return to the Riad Zayane.

Room Tip: The cheaper of the rooms is the only bedroom on the ground floor, the other four are on another floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

When we arrived I'm the general area of the hotel we were a little shocked by the surroundings which included live chickens being sold, dirty puddles of water, meats and vegetables covered with flies being displayed outdoors and locals looking to take advantage of baffled tourists as unwanted tour guides. However once you find your bearings you will look less clueless and be left alone. If you have a decent sense of direction then it is an easy walk of about 15 minutes to the main square and if not a taxi should cost you around 20-35 dirhams depending on the time of day which is very cheap!
The hotel itself is spotless, very pleasant to look at with what my fiancé would call the 'Moroccan feel.' You will also find that the staff are very friendly and happy to accommodate any requests. Not all of the staff have the strongest English so if you need to know anything particularly specific try and locate manager Alexandre who speaks fantastic English and can advise you on a range of matters. Other highlights of the Riad include the roof terrace where you can relax in the sun with a nice bottle of wine or a Moroccan beer (which is actually great) and the strong and reliable wifi. The rooms are very nicely decorated as well as being reasonably priced and very well cleaned and maintained. Oh and also don't worry about the lack of pool as there is a very reasonable deal of about 800 dirhams including a meal, non-alcoholic drinks (you can get alcohol it's just not included) and a transfer from Maison d'Arab.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My friends and I did an Exodus tour through Morocco, and ended our trip by having 3 nights here. The property was just amazing. You just stepped out of the Riad and were in the middle of local life with markets and spice shops and the best charcoal chicken I have ever tasted.
The staff here were amazing and couldn't do enough for you. When you were inside you were oblivious of what was happening outside. I work in travel so will definitely be recommending this property to anyone wanting to stay in Marrakesh.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here early June for 4 nights, and absolutely delighted by the experience. Took the serenity package which includes pick up from airport and 3 course dinner for the two of us on first night, and the food was superb. (would definitely recommend pick up from airport rather than finding your own way there) We stayed in the Warda room which was a gorgeous and romantic room in deep shades of reds, purples and dark oak. From the busy streets this really is an escape, once inside, couldn't hear a thing except the numerous birds and the calls to prayer. Great location too inside the medina, and circa 15mins walk to the Jeema el Frna. Staff were wonderfully helpful, and lovely people, really made the stay all the more relaxed. Roof terrace is also superb for relaxing in the sun with some Moroccan beer. Finally, we booked a day tour to the Ourika Valley through the riad, which was a superb long day trip - highly recommend. Would absolutely stay here again if back in Marrakech, which I think we fully intend to be. A wonderful break.

Room Tip: Warda room was lovely, and would highly recommend for a couple. Each room seemed in a slightly diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

this is the most beautiful place i have ever stayed, shared the whole riad with nine other friends, had to redecorate my bedroom in a morrocan style when i got home!!! situated a short walk to all the hustle and bustle of the souks in the centre, the place is so tranquil and 'joe' and the staff were so helpful, couldn't do enough for us. This was truely a memorable break :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went with my wife and two friends to Marrakech for 4 nights in April. Found this Riad on the Easyjet website. The photos looked great so we booked flights with Easyjet from Stansted to Marrakech, and accommodation at the Riad Zayane. What a great place to stay! Only 5 rooms so as was never full whilst we stayed there, we felt as if it was our personal home. All the staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Even brought us a cold bottle of Moroccan white wine in a cooler all the way up to the roof terrace for a pre-dinner drink. The food? What can we say? Cooked by a wonderful Moroccan lady chef. Real local flavours. All the staff speak English too.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and placed at first floor level around an enclosed courtyard, except one on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Zayane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane

Address: 36, derb Nakhla | Bab Doukkala - médina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zayane 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé à deux pas de la Mosquée Bab Doukkala et des transports en commun, le Riad Zayane est une magnifique maison d'hôtes de Marrakech à cinq minutes à pied des Souks et quinze minutes de la place Jemaâ El Fna . Outre ses 5 chambres et suite climatisées à la luxueuse décoration métissée, le Riad Zayane dispose d'une terrasse sur le toit avec solarium, d'un salon et d'une salle à manger ainsi que d'un magnifique patio aux zeligues bicolores avec bassin et fontaine traditionnelle, où vous pourrez vivre un dîner aux chandelles des plus romantiques autour de mets savoureux typiques de la tradition culinaire marocaine, concoctés par la cuisinière du Riad. Le personnel est disponible 24h/24 et vous aidera à organiser excursions et visites guidées de Marrakech et ses environs, ou encore à réserver une table de restaurant et autres billets de spectacles. Un service de navette pour l'aéroport vous sera fourni sur réservation préalable. Enfin, l'accès Wi-Fi est gratuit dans tout le bâtiment. Un parking payant se trouve à proximitéIdeally located near Bab Doukkala Mosque and the public transports, Riad Zayane is a beautiful Marrakesh guesthouse within a 5-minute walk from the Souks markets and 15-minute walk from Jemaa El Fna square. In addition to its 5 luxury guestrooms and suite exquisitely decorated, Riad Zayane has a rooftop terrace with solarium, a lounge and a dining room, as well as a beautiful patio tiled with zeligues and boasting a traditional pond and fountain, ideal setting for a romantic candlelit dinner over tasty dishes of Moroccan cuisine, concocted by Hayat, the in-house cook of the Riad. Staff are available 24/24 and will help you organize excursions and guided tours in Marrakesh and the surroundings, or to book a restaurant and tickets. A shuttle service to the airport will be provided on prior reservation. Eventually, a free wireless Internet is available throughout the building. Charged parking is available nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Zayane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zayane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.