We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Station...a Great Rail System !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station Marrakesh

Station Marrakesh
Hasan II Avenue, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 141 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Great Station...a Great Rail System !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

I ended my recent trip to Morocco by taking the train from Marrakech back to Casablanca and the international airport.....a 3.5 hour journey door to door. First class ticket is about $18 USD....much less expensive that flying and you will see much more of the countryside. If you are going to the international airport, a train transfer is necessary (at Casa Oasis Station), but very easy.

This newer station is modern, clean and centrally located in Marrakech for easy access. The train system in Morocco is very inexpensive and a great way to get around. Seems like the trains are very punctual in this country, so arrive a bit early to purchase your ticket.

If you are in Morocco, I highly recommend trying the rail system.....a fun experience in my opinion!

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    187
    59
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice facade but nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

The station has a nice facade but nothing more to it. We arrived here from Rabat. The train ride was nice, comfortable and quite economical.
The station was near and the restrooms were very clean.
Unless you are catching a train I wouldn't recommend a visit.
Taxis are available outside and are economical

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Peace after the hustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

and bustle, of the medina, the station is is very peaceful, you can wander around and appreciate the architecture, it is a beautiful building so worth a look and the toilets are free.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Striking building.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We passed this while on the tourist bus tour and had to go back for a closer look. Worth a visit if you like architecture. This was built after independence from France, so it is a good example of modern Moroccan architecture and design.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stand out building - The other side of marrakech, photo opp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Though we didnt use a train, we visited the station for the architecture and to have a look around one of the most modern buildings in the city.

Well worth it and also to get some home staples such as McDonalds with a Moroccan twist if your into doing stuff like that while on holiday..

Great photos out front, a real different side to the near slums of the medina.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Station Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.