We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand out building - The other side of marrakech, photo opp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station Marrakesh

Station Marrakesh
Hasan II Avenue, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 139 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stand out building - The other side of marrakech, photo opp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 NEW

Though we didnt use a train, we visited the station for the architecture and to have a look around one of the most modern buildings in the city.

Well worth it and also to get some home staples such as McDonalds with a Moroccan twist if your into doing stuff like that while on holiday..

Great photos out front, a real different side to the near slums of the medina.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    186
    58
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Magnificent new building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

After spending some days in the medina it was a surprise to find such a modern and beautiful building in the new part of Marrakesh. Trains arrive/depart to the rest of the country. The train we took from Fes to Marrakesh took about 8 hours to arrive. It was completely reliable, clean, with air condition / heating, seats were as big as 1st class seats.

We paid 30 dirham from the train station to the big square in the Medina. Do not pay more than 30 even though they will ask you for ridiculous prices. Just walk away from the drivers and absolutely every time there will be at least 1 that will take you for 30.

Next to the train station you can find Supratours which is the bus company.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin_leigh79
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Rather beautiful, but a little crazy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Arrived here and departed here to/from Tangier, so we got familiar with the place. Be prepared for the madness that is the taxi operators who will practically fight tooth and nail to haggle each other into getting your ride. People line up early for the PM train back to Tangier, so you'll have to join the masses, which doesn't really matter if you book a 1st class cabin like we did, which is pre-assigned. Again, the sickly cats are everywhere, and of course I'd watch yourself and your belongings in any train station, so no different here. Good experience.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean modern railway station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

Surprisingly modern, very clean and efficient railway station. Beware of the touts outside the station though that will start hounding you for taxis or riads

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute-Garonne, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ticket booths / counters inside for each operater / route?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Like many places in the city - heavily policed but not threatening. Inside a passable café and loos!! , there are "shops" inside around the perimeter which seemed to be specific to a route or Bus operator or maybe both. Outside there were taxis in abundance , and a vibrant stall area selling usual local mint/ herbs and books , and fruit and places to eat - but wasn't hungry enough - and I can't imagine I would ever be tempted to try them. Maybe I am too protective of my constitution?

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station Marrakesh also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Station Marrakesh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Marrakesh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.