We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Nouba Riad Marrakesh - Way to Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Nouba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Nouba to your Saves list
Dar Nouba
9 Derb Slima, Hart Soura | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #333 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dar Nouba Riad Marrakesh - Way to Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed at the Riad Dar Nouba in Marrakech for a week in January. It was excellent. Merwan & Gaethane (the owner and his wife) could not have been more welcoming, friendly and a significant part of the enjoyment of the whole holiday. The room was lovely, The Riad was outstanding. Breakfast with the family each morning was a bonus - it enabled opportunities to talk about life in Morocco much more than in a sterile hotel. There is a lovely roof terrace - whcih we topok advantage of on many occasions. Although evening meals are not part of the booking (it's qouted B&B) - they state that you can book a meal in advance. We had 2 - the 1st the night we arrived and the other on a day when we had been out to the Atlas mountains for the day. They have a local lady who comes in to cook and clean and her tagines were to die for - particularly her mutton, raisin and almond one. My son had stayed here 3 years previosuly and recommended it to us and I would heartily recommend it to anyone (as long as it doesn't become too popular so that I couldn't book again if I wanted!). Great price too. It is a Riad - so a private house built around a courtyard. It is located in the old town close to the souk and it is a short walk through the souk to the Jemma el Fna square which is a constant source of life/entertainment. Thanks a million Merwan

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed for over a week and just loved the room, hospitality, garden and roof terrace. My broken down vehicle neccesitated the long stay and Merwan our host could not have been more helpful both in speaking to the garage as well as helping us book our Hammam and other activities.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We had booked a two night stay at this lovely riad, which - thanks to a broken down camper van - turned into 9 or 10 nights! We loved it. I stayed in a much more expensive riad on my last visit, and this one was more enjoyable and friendlier. It was very good value for money and I have no hesitation in recommending it..

Even before arrival the owners, a lovely Morrocan/Belgian couple Merwan & Gaethane, were very helpful providing additional information on parking, taxi bookings and so on.

The riad hs four guest bedrooms and is well presented in a simple traditional style. The continental breakfast was different every day and the roof terrace and courtyard were lovely places to sit and relax. It is a haven amongst the chaos.

Five minutes walk from the museum (easiest way to find its locaton on map) and ten minutes from the main square it was a great place to stay. Although not the easiest to find at first - nowhere in the medina is! - a guided walk to the square with Merwan in the first evening helped us find our bearings.

Merwan speaks reasonable English also and was able to act as a translator for us more than once. There is Wi Fi. There were endless supplies of mint tea. Dinner was availabe by arrangment, and a stock of bottled water, soft drinks, beers and wine was also on offer. They were happy to recommend hammans, restaurants, and other local services for us too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

The riad is located 2 mins walk from the top end of the souk - approx 10 min walk from Jemma Al Fna main square. There are no signs - not even on the door, but the owners meet you at a nearby landmark (hospital antaka), where a taxi can drop you off, which is about 5 min walk away. There is a public telephone and post office at the landmark in case of problems.
When arriving, you walk through dusty run down streets, but what a delightful suprise when you enter the riad! It is beautifully designed and appears newly decorated. New modern bathrooms, but with moroccan style. The owners had even gone to the trouble of laying out rose petals and fresh flowers. The beds are in good condition and don't squeak!
Whilst staying, my husband was ill. The owners were wonderful in looking after him, and because I was then a lone female not wanting to go out by myself, they took me out for a personal tour on their scooter! very kind.
There is a resident 'cook', who will make tea at request. Meals are cheap, delicious and generous in portion. Better than what we found in restaurants. Be clear to communicate when you want a meal, so they have time to shop for food.
Be sure to have a good map of the medina - the one given to us by the owners was not detailed enough. If you are lost the owners will be happy to come a find you.
There is a shared lounge with TV, free internet, board games, coffee table books etc.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We loved it, the owners are friendly and helpful, the riad looks like in the Arabian Nights. We took the taxi set by the owners from the airport, it was a little too expensive but worthy because otherwise we wouldn’t have been able to reach the riad hidden on the small streets of the old city. The riad is far enough from the center square not to hear the noise by night but not too difficult to reach it as the map given by the owners is very good. He also came with us the first time to show us the way.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 4 night break at Dar Nouba Riad in Marrakesh. The owners arranged a taxi to and from the airport and this took us to the Medina and then by foot on to the Riad (no cars allowed). We were met with such hospitality and kindness and nothing was too much trouble. Dar Nouba is very near Ben Youseff and the Souks and you walk through the Souks (10minutes) to the Square. Their map was easy and we had their mobile number in case we got lost (very easy to do in the Souk area but we managed fine).
We stayed in the Saharienne suite which had 1 double and a single bed or 3 singles (one was smaller). If there were 2 people you would have a small lounge area. All the rooms are freshly and tastefully decorated in traditional styles. The bathroom (shower) was spacious,seperate loo, plenty of hot water and no problem with the plumbing. It was their winter/spring and although it reached 23degrees in the day it was chilly at night but the store of blankets and the short use of a calor gas heater in the room made it fine and it would be cool in the heat of the summer. We spent the afternoons away from the hustle and bustle on the simple but pleasant roof terrace.
Breakfast was breads,soft cheese,homemade pancakes and preserves,orange juice,coffee and mint tea. We ate in twice in the evening as a local lady cooked delicious traditional Moroccan food. If the GBPound had been stronger it would have been very reasonable but it was still very good value for money. We had a great time and hope this of use to someone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Nouba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Nouba

Address: 9 Derb Slima, Hart Soura | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Nouba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Nouba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.