We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paeaceful place in the medina of marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Nouba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Nouba to your Saves list
Dar Nouba
9 Derb Slima, Hart Soura | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“paeaceful place in the medina of marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

this riad is north of marrakech's main place, the djemaa el fna. to get there you have to walk 15 minutes through the famous souks, the markets of the city, where roaring vendors will sell you anything froom carpets to herbs.
the riad itself is lead by a really nice morocco-belgian couple and has 4-5 rooms. the court is nicely decorated and very bright during the day. due to its location between two mosques an awakening during the night is unavoidable. the breakfast ist tasty, even though the butter was a little rancid.
we would come back any time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Beautiful Riad

We had a wonderful stay, in this beautiful riad.
You will feel like you are staying with friends in their home.
The riad is well decorated with great taste, the location is perfect, just minutes walk from the main square and the market, and If you get lost on the way to the market, no worries Merwan will save you!

Thanks! Merwan and Gaethane

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed there during 5 days/4 nights in November 2011. Ideally located in the lively medina, this place is very welcoming and the hosts are very friendly. Enjoying a green tea on the sunny roof of the riad, eating the local tasty specialties, and having very interesting discussions with the owners is, for sure, something you can not miss. Should you want to visit some others places out of Marrakech, your hosts will do everything in order to assist you so that you can enjoy your stay. I definitely do recommend this place and warmly thanks them for the great time spent there.

Brieuc NDB

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to Morocco and would definelty recommend it. The owners were so welcoming and offered lots of advice, recommendations and a handy map. It's a short distance to the north end of the main souks and a nice walk to the main square. We ate at the riad one night and had one of the best meals we had on our week holiday, very nice! The rooms and roof terrace are both lovely. We ate in Le Fondouk, only a few minutes' walk from the riad which I would recommend, book in advance if possible.
A little gem in the Medina

Room Tip: Our room wasn't ensuite but the shower and toilet were close plus handy bath robes. Be sure to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canillas de Aceituno, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We had a wonderful stay with Merwan and Gaethane in their beauitful riad. Straight away, it felt like we were staying with friends in their home. The riad is simply but beautifully furnished and decorated and in the perfect location, just mintues walk from the main square and all the amazing shops and stalls of the medina. It was very pleasant to come back to the cool and tranquility of Dar Nouba after a hard, hot day bargaining in the souk. Our room was cool and comfortable with a lovely bathroom decorated with beautiful local tiles. We had a delicious meal cooked by the lovely lady in the kitchen on our first evening and enjoyed wonderful pastries that she prepared for breakfast every morning. Thanks to the three of you for a lovely stay and please give Zelda a scratch behind the ears from us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The Riad is lovely... located inside the medina it's an oasis after a busy day on the noisy marrakech. The rooms are lovely (there are only for rooms so it's really cozy) , great breakfast and a really good experience.
It's run by very nice people that are willing to make your stay incredible!!
Some things to have in mind: First of all you are inside the medina, so i would recommend you to check with Merwan (the owner) so that they can guide you and don't get lost on your arrival (getting lost in the medina is the usual). Second of all you will get lost eventually, so just enjoy the experience...

Room Tip: Any room is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbon, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We went to Marrakesh for our honeymoon and stayed at Riad Dar Nouba. This was our first visit to the country. The owners Merwan and Gaethane were very friendly and helpful. Even Princess Zelda the cat was friendly and well versed in hospitality! They helped with airport transfers, maps/guides through the souks to Djemaa El Fna Square, local restaurants, where to shop for souvenirs etc. One morning, we decided to take a cooking class and Merwan was able to arrange that for us. This Riad is a bit hard to find the first time-you have to be taken there. It is an oasis from all the noise of the souks and is only about a 10 minute walk to the Square. Breakfast was wonderful and shared with the owners and all the other guests every morning. We met and made new friends from Germany whom we will be visiting in a few months. It doesn't have a restaurant but if you would like to have dinner made for you some evening, you just need to let the hosts know in the morning. We had dinner there one night and it was very delicious and authentic Moroccan chicken tagine. The owners were very attentive and really did everything they could to make our stay a memorable and enjoyable one! We fell in love not only with the country and its people but with this particular Riad and will be going back there in a couple of months.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Nouba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Nouba

Address: 9 Derb Slima, Hart Soura | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Nouba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Nouba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.