We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Ihssane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Ihssane to your Saves list
Dar Ihssane
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   14 Derb Chorfa Lakbir Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #410 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed at the friendly, traditional Dar Ihssane riad with 9 friends for a long weekend and had a wonderful time! Located down a back alley in the Medina, you will likely need some help from a local to find it (we booked an airport transfer so it wasn't an issue), but even after a few days, it always felt a little exciting to step in from a dark alley in to such a relaxing space. It's located about 10 mins from the main square & the walk is full of souks/shops. Common areas (courtyard, living room, roof terrace) were welcoming and perfect for lounging around. Free WiFi was available and I loved that there were books in several languages that you could borrow for your stay. Nice light breakfast was included - cheese, fresh bread, beghrir & freshly squeezed orange juice. One thing I would note - many of the rooms do not have walls/door to a separate bathroom...only share a room with someone you know quite well! Overall, I'd recommend Dar Ihssane to anyone looking for a laid-back, peaceful riad with very accommodating staff (thanks Aimad!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    55
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I traveled to Marrakech with two of my friends just a few weeks ago and staying at the riad dar ihssane totally made the trip. The riad is sooo cute, the rooms are nice and it feels very authentic. The location is amazing, soo close to the main square and easily walkable to everywhere we wanted to go. Most importantly, the staff was AMAZING. They were so friendly and so helpful with all of our questions and they helped us plan all of our activities. Definitely recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A traditional moroccan style riad in the Medina. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The room is fair, (dim lights and some ash on the table). I like their library and common room - such a good place to relax. The breakfast is very good, fresh orange juice, coffee, cheese and bread. The riad is really hard to find, I would suggest everyone to book the pick up service which save you time and money. If you need someone to guide you to the riad and they asked you for money, do not pay more than 3 euros. (People usually pay 10-20 dirhams) Great location - takes 4 minutes to the central medina market where you can shop and eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed this riad, particularly their library/common room area. It was such a peaceful, beautiful place to read a book or catch up on emails. The riad was pretty hard to find since we didn't see any signs directing us to it but luckily ended up stumbling upon it by accident. Book the airport transfer and save yourself the hassle.

Our room was nice but we did not like the bathroom set up. The bathroom and the bedroom are in the same room-there is no door separating the bathroom area from the main room, just a wall that juts out to divide the room. There was also no door on the shower. So if you're showering or on the toilet, the other person could partially see you. It also made the room a little damp after taking showers. Maybe this isn't an issue for everyone, but I personally like some privacy when I'm in the bathroom.

Breakfast was very good. We didn't try dinner as you have to book 24 hours in advance. Riad was clean and staff helpful and you can be at the Djemma el Fna in around 10 minutes. The wifi was very good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights at the Dar Ihssane riad. The riad is cosy and has a nice lounge and a sun terrace on the roof. The free WiFI worked well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and the coffee was excellent. We booked a nice 2 day tour via the riad. The tour started early and the staff arranged then an early breakfast for us. The location in the Medina is very good. It is very close to a nice hamman. We had no problem to find the riad.
We strongly recommend the Dar Ihssane riad and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at Dar Ihssane. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The place itself was well kept, clean and cosy. The location would have been hard to find without help at first, but it was otherwise in a very convenient location relative to the surrounding attractions. We will definitely return to this riad the next time we are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A group of 4 spanish girsl have been here for four days in february and we are very happy with this riad. Location, breakfast very good. We had a dinner there, it was excelent and generous. very friendly and helpful staff. We found the riad a little worn than what you see in the photos. Anyway this is just a small comment as the VFM is really good.

Room Tip: the VFM is really good. The location is exelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Ihssane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ihssane

Address: 14 Derb Chorfa Lakbir Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Ihssane 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Ihssane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ihssane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Ihssane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.