We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“utter bliss!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar-K

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar-K
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar-K to your Saves list
Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“utter bliss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I still remember what it was like walking through the door of riad dar k. peaceful. unbelievaably peaceful. unlike the peace one gets from just being in a quiet area. no not like that at all. more like a zen peace. fresh. pure. serene. tall beautiful orange trees. white walls. gray doors. and light. so much light. unusually so. with a chirping bird or two or more. always in the background.

every room with fine lines, appointments, cool and white. ever so clean. ever so simple. modern design within contemporary morocco. chic spaces to hang in. current music. we don't need ornate complexities to find such beauty. simple and tasteful. our own rooms were airy and large. open windows morning and night. gorgeous lamps. skylight in the bathroom such a plus! fabulous shower. a great space to sleep and wake in.

all the staff, sarah a fabulous hostess, hussein a sous host, chef malika, all so there for you. sarah. so beautiful. like a gazelle taking us through the marketplace. bringing us to special merchants whenever we requested a need for her french:) advising us. making reservations for us. setting up a road trip for us with her great road guide. it didn't matter what the request. she's incredible. hussein couldn't be cooler! and malika ever so sweet, cooking those fine breakfasts! don't hesitate to try a dinner. you will be most pleased by her beautiful food!

so enter through this madness that marrakech is so unique to. and be thankful to find riad dar k while you do.

it's bliss! utter bliss!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
136
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Absolutely loved our trip to Riad Dar-K
The host Sarah and her staff of Malika and Yassin leave no stone unturned when it comes to making sure you have everything you need to make your stay perfect.

TripAdvisor didn't have their website listed which made finding contact info difficult (FYI it's http://riad-dar-k.com)

Once we called Sarah was amazing about not only staying in email and phone contact but went out of her way to:
1. Find us alternative accommodations for our first night since their Riad was booked
2. Though we'd be staying elsewhere the first night Sarah made sure to send us a taxi for the train station and to be sure we got settled properly at the other Riad (also another amazing place)
3. Making sure that someone was available to greet us when we did arrive at Raid Dar-K early the next morning

Once we got there, having made a VERY long 18 hour trip and me being pregnant....... the staff was absolutely wonderful about making sure we had everything we need.

We stayed in the upstairs suite which was impeccably clean and beautiful. I loved it so that Sarah took me shopping later to the same places she bought her blankets etc......... and she even got me her special Sarah discount! Don't miss a trip shopping with her... she's fast, knows her way around and doesnt mess around. The prices she get are the same you'd spend hours haggling for!

By the time we left we really felt as if we were leaving a dear friend. I cant recommend it highly enough. She and her staff are a sea of efficiency and care for their guests.

Our only regret was that we neglected to ask to eat one night at the Riad. Malika's cooking smelled and looked divine!

The location of the Riad is also wonderful, super close to the entry to the Souk and close to a number of cute eatery options. Anything they don't have, Sarah will see to it that you get. My husband and I are torn about leaving too good a review in case we can't get reservations next time...... ;) But better to let them enjoy every well deserved success. Enjoy!

p.s. yes they have wifi and it works very well

Room Tip: We loved the upstairs suite but every room looks beautiful. The upstairs rooms are especially perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

It has taken me a month or so to get round to writing this but we stayed in Morocco for a week, staying in Marrakech for 3 days, then over to Essaouira for a couple of days and then back to Marrakech. The time that we spent at Riad Dar-K was the highlight of our visit to Morocco. Sarah was fantastic, showing us around and just fixing everything- where to go, what to see- how to get back!
We really loved this place- it's beautifully put together and you feel really well looked after. Sarah- if you read this can you let me know which rose wine you gave us on our first night- it was teh best I ever tasted?
To sum this place up- simple and elegant, plus you get the feeling that Sarah and her team really would do anything to make your trip comfortable. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a suite, lovely and big- simply furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hi,
My fiancé and I stayed here in February and really enjoyed our 4 nights here. Its modern, clean, bright and all of the staff are wonderful.
I would defiantly stay here again if I went back to Marrakech.
Sean And Sarah

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Second time staying at Riad Dar-K and was just as pleasurable as the first time! We even took our friends!
Sarah, Yassine and Malina made our stay relaxed and comfortable!
Good food, chilled out style and NO TV! Good stuff!
TAKE ME BACK NOW!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed in three different riads while in Marrakech and Dar-K was by far the stand-out. The rooms are huge with natural light and are furnished with a modern minimalist moroccan flavour, great location in the centre of the medina with a short walk to the square and souks, extremely clean and tidy, very fairly priced (particularly when compared to the other places we stayed) and Sarah and the team are very helpful and hospitable.

If we go back to Marrakesh we will stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had one of our best hotel experiences ever when we stayed at Dar-K. The wonderful riad is so well renovated in a traditional style but with a modern eye. That made us happy - space for rest, space for dreams and no bric-a-brac at all :-) which otherwise could have destroyed a house like this. We are are impressed. Wonderful breakfast on the the roof! Wonderful staff!
Wonderful rooms! Wonderful dinner - best during the week. We felt like living with friends. Dont even try to find another riad in the medina - Book now!

Asa & Soren Gothenburg Sweden

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar-K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar-K

Address: Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar-K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.