We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar-K

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar-K
Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic Place to Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just spent the weekend in Marrakech. My wife saw this place in the Sunday Times years ago and it was well worth the wait. Arrived to a very warm and freindly welcome by host Sarah. We had a great dinner and retired to our room. Spotless and decorated with such charm. Great breakfast followed and the follwing nights dinner recommendation (Le Fondook) was sublime. Felt like a home from home the moment we arrived. Sarah's staff are first class and we highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
133
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Believe all the great reviews. Not an ornate, old Moroccan Riad, but a sweet, minimalistic Riad done with traditional flair. Simple and elegant beauty, quiet amid the craziness of Marrakech. A slight funkiness to it -- the towels were a little threadbare and our shower had some draining problems -- not the absolute height of luxury. But who cares, the price is great, the hospitality is so overwhelmingly wonderful by Sarah and her staff to the point where they made our dinner reservations and walked us to the restaurants so we wouldn't get lost (something that is very easy to do in Marrakech). A safe, warm and embracing place to retreat, relax, enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Riad Dar-K was an amazing experience that was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. The Riad is in the heart of the Medina yet it is peaceful once you set foot inside. It is a short and easy walk to the main square and right adjacent to Ben Youssef Madrasa. We were shown our way to the main square by Sarah who is the owner of the Riad. She gave us lots of good hits on how not to get lost. At first we felt we would not find out way back but Sarah's hints were precisely what we need any time we felt we were going off track. After the first trip to the square we felt like we knew the route like the back of our hands.

The highlight of the Riad has to be its employees. Everyone took great care of us and showed genuine care towards our happiness. We spent late night talking to many of the employees about travel and life.

The architecture of the Riad is stunning. The rooms were extremely clean and conferrable. Our only regret is that we only spent one night here. It was by far the best Riad we stayed at in morocco over our 5 days traveling through morocco.

Best mint tea I had anywhere in morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were recommended to go to this Riad and it was everything we hoped it would be. Close to the bustling Medina, but so quiet as soon as you close the door. You felt very safe within the walls of the Riad which was very stylish with its simplicity decor. The rooms were very nice, newly renovated with stylish features. We stayed in a first floor room, large in size and it had everything we needed. Hairdryer in room, safe deposit (even though it wasn't screwed down to anything) towels changed daily and beds made.
You must have dinner at least one night in the Riad. The fire was set, rose petals around the table, a very romantic experience and the entire lounge area to ourselves. We controlled the fire and chilled out on the cushions in the corner whilst listening to the music. You can control the Bose docking station with an iPod already in place to set the local ambient of your choice. Lovely 3 course dinner and wine made by the in-house chef. 18 euros each plus 10 euro for a bottle of Red.
Jeep trip to the Atlas Mountains was very enjoyable through the rough terrain of the hills. Lunch at the top and a smoother drive home cost 150 Euro for 2 or if you share a trip with another couple like we did, it will cost 100 euro per couple for a full days tour. We got to experience a Moroccan house in the mountain including the toilet!!!!!! An experience you need to have just once at least.
New year we went to the restaurant Le Foundouk which was 2 mins around the corner to the Riad. This was a very classy restaurant at very high prices but it was new year. It worked out with wine to be around £230 for the evening but as I said it was new year and we had an amazing 6 course meal. Must try on a normal night though.
Overall the trip was very enjoyable and the Riad was in the middle of the old town 1 min from all the Souks. Will definitely return one day.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar-K for 5 nights in Dec 2012, at the Patio room and the Suite. We loved both rooms. The riad is very stylish and peaceful, a very comfortable place to relax after walking around the bustling souks of Marrakech. The location was very good.
Sarah, Malika and Yasim were very helpful and caring. We felt we were very well looked after. They even guided us to local restaurants so we wouldn't get lost in the medina.
We had the dinner at the riad for 3 nights and the food prepared by Malika was the best we have had in Marrakech. After travelling for a while and eating out everyday, the home-cooked food was very comforting.
Overall the experience was excellent. If we return to Marrakech, we will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our family and friends.
Thank you Sarah, from Jady and Jono.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a beautiful Riad with lovely views from the roof and a very warm, friendly and helpful host Sarah. The staff were also very friendly and lovely. They made our stay there over New Years really pleasant and a great relaxing break. We also ate in the Riad for one night by the fire, and the food was great and the setting very peaceful. From the pick up to the drop off the whole experience of the Riad was great.

The decor is modern and beautiful and looks every bit as good as the photos.

They made the stay really pleasant and the Riad was a peaceful haven from the madness of Marrakesh.

We went to the Atlas mountains on an excursion which was good. The mountains are beautiful but it’s more a case of going and having a few photo ops on the way rather than any walking or adventuring.

A great place to go and alot of fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband, my 2 yr old daughter and I stayed here for 5 days, and It was by far the best experience I've had. The owner Sara was very welcoming, kind, and professional. She answered all of our questions, and had reservations ready whenever we needed them. The atmosphere is relaxing where you feel right at home. The staff members Yassine and Malika were great in every way! Yassine showed us around the the old city, gave us so many tips and pointers, and most of all, my daughter loved playing with him in the open yard. Chef Malika is one of the greatest cooks. We loved her food so much, that i had to ask her to give me some cooking lessons. You have a few areas to choose where you would like to eat your meals. they are all great choices, from the roof top where you can see the whole city, to the court yard downstairs, to the balcony in front of your room. We had such relaxing mornings with some great breakfasts, best way to start your day. The Madina offers a whole new shopping experience. From all the small shops, to the open area full of performers and restaurants. Every street in this old city has a taste of its own. I would go back there in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom suite. Nice size, and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar-K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar-K

Address: Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar-K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar-K to your Saves list