We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place. Loved everything about it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar-K

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar-K
Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent Place. Loved everything about it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband, my 2 yr old daughter and I stayed here for 5 days, and It was by far the best experience I've had. The owner Sara was very welcoming, kind, and professional. She answered all of our questions, and had reservations ready whenever we needed them. The atmosphere is relaxing where you feel right at home. The staff members Yassine and Malika were great in every way! Yassine showed us around the the old city, gave us so many tips and pointers, and most of all, my daughter loved playing with him in the open yard. Chef Malika is one of the greatest cooks. We loved her food so much, that i had to ask her to give me some cooking lessons. You have a few areas to choose where you would like to eat your meals. they are all great choices, from the roof top where you can see the whole city, to the court yard downstairs, to the balcony in front of your room. We had such relaxing mornings with some great breakfasts, best way to start your day. The Madina offers a whole new shopping experience. From all the small shops, to the open area full of performers and restaurants. Every street in this old city has a taste of its own. I would go back there in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We had the 2 bedroom suite. Nice size, and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
133
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our trip to marakech was made 10000000 times better by the caring of Dar K. What a wonderful experience in all ways. Everyone on the staff is lovely and warm. The food was the best I have had anywhere for a long time and ...I'm fussy! All in all a lovely experience. Sarah the owner is a gem. Trust the reviews on this one and enjoy a beautiful experience! My only sorrows was that I had to leave...and without letting Sarah know how she embodies graciousness and hospitality!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Loved the suite but all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just returned from Marrakech which we thoroughly enjoyed. What made the trip so special was this amazing santuary in the Medina. It is simply but beautifully decorated and Sarah and the rest of the staff were absolutely lovely and went over and above the call of duty. The location is perfect for exploring the city. Marrakesh is a crazy but wonderful place and it was great to have such a nice place to come home to each day. I would recommend drinks on the terrace in the evening too - lovely! Would be very surprised if anyone did not enjoy this riad. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Recently stayed here on a visit to the bustling city of Marrakech. If you are thinking of going and are looking at different riads then stop and book this.....if its not already sold out! There are only 4 bedrooms in this fantastic Riad. We were welcomed by Sarah the GM and given mint tea whilst we filled out the paperwork. We were then shown to our very large, spacious and beautiful room. There wasn't any clutter in the room nor any tv but in a bustling city like Marrakech there isn't really a need. The riad served breakfast each morning which included tea, coffee, fruit, breads, pancakes etc. The Riad had free wifi. The plunge pool is covered over in the winter months. Staff are all very friendly and make you feel extremely welcome. The roof top has nice seats to relax in in the hot afternoon sun and if you squint you can see the Atlas Mountains. The Riad is approx 10 mins away from the main Jemma El Fna square and the route takes you through the spice souks and 'normal' souks where you can buy lanterns, mirrors, clothes, shoes and pretty much anything else your heart desires. This Riad is a definite winner and a must if your staying in Marrakech....you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent a week in Marrakech, 4 days at another Riad and the last 3 at this one. As soon as we stepped inside we wish we spent the entire week here. Sarah the owner came and collected us from the first riad and had someone take our luggage to Dar-K for us. The riad is exactly how it looks on the photographs. Absolutely beautiful, clean, modern and just beautiful. We had originally booked the patio room but on arrival we were upgraded to a suite. The room was massive, the bed was humungous and the simplistic decor was just gorgeous. We had breakfast every day which was typically Moroccan, orange juice, tea, breads, preserves, cakes, pancakes, fruit and yogurt. Lovely way to set you up for the day. The weather picked up quite a bit while we were there so we made use of the roof terrace which is a complete sun trap. The staff are so friendly and a credit to Sarah. Every whim was catered to and we were made to feel almost like family. In terms of proximity to the main square, Jeema El Fna, it's about 10 minutes through the souks. 5 mins away from the spice souk. It's a complete oasis of tranquility in the heart of a crazy bustling city. If I was ever to come back to Marrakech i'd book Riad Dar-K in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just spent four wonderful nights at Riad Dar-K and although there’s not much to add to the already fantastic reviews, we have had such a great few days we felt the need to share.

From our first to last contact with the owner, Sarah, she has been the perfect host. Replying to our email almost instantaneously, she organised a driver to meet us at the airport and an evening meal for our first night. She started our stay by serving us tea and then offering to show us how to get to the main square via the souk. She went out of her way to answer our every whim and we very much felt as if we were her own personal guests.

The Riad itself was an old family dwelling, which was gutted and painstakingly renovated the owners 4 years ago. It is simply beautiful and the attention to detail is exceptional, from the calm of the stylish inner courtyard to the four very individually designed boutique rooms. Unlike a lot of places on Tripadvisor, the pictures on their website are an accurate portrayal of the riad.

We opted to have supper at the Riad twice as their evening meal far surpassed other meals that we had at other restaurants. Malika is an amazing cook!

As a gay couple, we had some concerns about how we would be treated in Morocco but Sarah and all her staff made us feel welcome. A non-issue.
We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Riad Dar-k to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on a sailing boat around the world
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

right from the beginning Sarah(who runs the place) and her team were more than just helpful making our stay at the riad dar-k a real highlight.
the rooms are wonderful, breakfast up on the roof terrace is phantastic and make sure you have dinner at the riad too!
i will recommend family and friends who travels to marrakech to stay here without a doubt! and hope to one day return myself!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar-K? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar-K

Address: Derb Boucetta lekbir No23, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar-K, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar-K to your Saves list