We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go for views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier

Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier
Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 603 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just go for views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We went up to the top terrace and you had to buy a drink before you entered the terrace. You could order a hot drink which i did but it took a long time to arrive. Staff not all that friendly. Good place to go just for views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    114
    123
    67
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible service only worth for the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been to this place as we've heard about its wonderful views. It's a great place to relax and see all the life happening in jemaa el fna.
My relaxing time suddenly turned to be a disaster when the waiter tried to charge us more money. When I told him the price was not correct, he became very rude, angry with a despicable attitude. We never felt so worthless and left the place without leaving any tips!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good spot for sunshine and views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a quick coke at lunchtime overlooking the Jemaa el-Fnaa square. Nice sun-trap, and efficient, and the pizzas didn't look too bad either.
Good alternative to other cafes overlooking the square.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Higher than neighbouring establishments such as the awful Cafe de France (which has no real overview of the square Djemma al Fna) or the nearly completed Argana this cafe has the best vantage point on the square. Go at sunset to watch the food stalls being laid out. The far corner table is the best location with views of the Koutoubia mosque minaret. You may have to compete with others who have the same idea! You need to order a refreshment (avoid the food) such as a mint tea or, my favourite, cafe nus-nus.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the amazing view and cheapish drinks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We didnt eat hear but from what i can tell the food looked pretty standard, i wouldnt bother eating but it is 100% worth getting a drink and sitting back and watching the madness of the square. We went up here twice, once at sunset which was just perfect!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.