We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go for the views!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier

Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier
Jemaa El Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 535 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just go for the views!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As everyone has said, this is not a place for fine dining, or even good drinks! But you should go up, pay for a coke and then enjoy the views over the djemma el fna and soak up the atmosphere!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

33% Recommend
    21
    52
    70
    43
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view, food not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We came here with the intention to view the activities in the square without getting hassled by all the "acts" rather than the gastronomic value of this place. We had chicken tajine and chicken couscous - both were acceptable and not bad like some of the reviews (i only read them after our visit).

The place was like a zoo when we arrived, everyone scrambling for a table. I'm coming to the conclusion that Marrakech (in general) doesnt like/want organisation!

The view was definitely worth the visit but food wasnt bad either. Would we return? Yes definitely but just for drinks next time as the menu was very limited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great view, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Probably the best terrace view for getting photos looking down over the Place Jemma el Fna and the Koutoubia mosque at sunset. They know it too! The upstairs terrace has a great ringside view of all the action below and tourist groups fill the place all day. However, the food upstairs is only average - tajines, pizzas, salads, brochettes etc and service is very slow and surly. Food prices are reasonable tourist prices but about 20% more than any of the other cafe/restaurants just a few metres away (without terrace) e.g. Cafe Snack Toubkal. Downstairs is popular cafe for Moroccans and tourists alike and a good, easily found meeting point. Food is not served downstairs. I used to go here a lot and put up with the bad restaurant service, however the last time I tried to save a couple of seats for some friends who were on their way to meet me in the downstairs cafe the waiter insisted that I could not keep them and installed a couple of tourists. I promptly left and we went elsewhere and got cheaper coffee and better service! Only go here if you want to get the photos and need to escape from the chaos of the main square with a good vantage point.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Basically paying £1.80 for a view with a complimentary soft drink”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Being close to the square is the only selling point for this cafe and people don't seem to tally awhile here so not much in atmosphere. Preferred to go to one of the other terrace cafes, sit down have a leisurely drink and meal while observing activity in the square. Did not use the toilets here but from other comments probably a good thing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Less of a cafe, more like a view with drinks...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced drinks, but you're paying for arguably the best view over Jemaa-el-Fna. You can buy fizzy pop from the fridge on the way in, or order hot drinks.
Worth a trip for a sit and a people watch. I didn't eat here, or use the facilities, so can't comment on those.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Balcon Cafe Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.