We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Housnia

Save Saved
You added Dar Housnia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Housnia
2 derb Lalla Azzouna, Medina de MKH | Medina de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #142 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Levallois-Perret, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband, in-laws and I have just returned from a magical four-night stay at Dar Housnia. The four of us were thrilled with our experience.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owners, Eveline and Marc, on holiday in December. They showed us photos and told us how they came about being owners of a riad. We had a good idea that the guest house would be beautiful, but Dar Housnia went above and beyond our expectations. It truly is a haven within the hustle and bustle of the medina. The decor is refined, tasteful, chic with just the perfect splashes of color here and there to reflect the colors you see around the city.

We stayed in the Douiria, a private apartment made up of two en-suite rooms, a sitting room with a dining area and a lovely rooftop terrace. We had our meals on the terrace under a beautiful pergola that protected us from the sun in the afternoon and the breeze in the morning and evenings.

The pool area is charming and serene. It is shared by the six rooms, but most of the time we felt as if we had our own, private pool area. The hammam and treatment rooms are also beautiful. We treated ourselves to very nice massages by Nadia.

The five person staff of Dar Housnia are fantastic. They are available for anything you need, but leave you to enjoy the guest house as if it is your home. As we were arriving late the first evening, we arranged to have dinner in. We were so thrilled with Rachida's cooking that we continued to have most of our meals at the guest house on our peaceful terrace, overlooking the rooftops and minarets of the medina. Excellent food!

We used the transportation provided by Dar Housnia to and from the airport. We would highly recommend doing so. The taxi can only go so far into the medina before the roads are too small. There is a porter waiting for you at that point to take your bags and guide you to the guest house.
They can also arrange transportation for the day if you want to visit some of the outlying areas of the city.

We really enjoyed the location of Dar Housnia. It is very convenient to get to the souks and the Place Jemaa el Fna. You get a real taste of everday life in the medina. The small street is very quiet.

There is not one negative thing to say about Dar Housnia. I cannot recommend it enough. We will definitely return, hopefully very soon, to this perfect little place in Marrakech! Thanks to everyone at Dar Housnia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

you want to be close to the suk but at a quiet place? you hate overloaden riads with red-to-dark carpets, lots of dark furniture and red-blue-green lamps? but you do want the quietness and orientalic style of a riad - mixed with the amenities western travellers like? over-average food quality, cleanliness and a caring, friendly staff are important to you? And you are willing to pay a bit more for this?

if your answer to all these questions is yes - this if your place.
Breakfast as well as dinners are served on the roof terrace. the many stairs and different patios make you feel as if you are (almost) the only guest.
Massage room (max 1 pers.) and Hamam (max 2 pers.) are really tiny - but also clean and they work for what they are built. But don't expect something like a SPA area.

This Riad is positioned right in the middle. Between the many lower priced riads which often are a bit dark, a bit run down, not too clean, places where you won't wanna necessarily eat etc. - and on the other hand the 250€ and up riads like Enja and Riad72, which are more on the boutique hotel end of the scale, but where you pay a significant fee for it.

Room Tip: for groups there is a possibliy to take an own private part of the Riad, with you own patio. This in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We took our time selecting a hotel for our stay in Marrakech - and Dar Housnia turned out to be the perfect choice for those looking for an oasis in the hustle and bustle of the old city. The souks and Jemaa el Fna Square are 10 minutes away on foot, so you're right in the heart of Marrakech-but the riad is quiet, cosy and just the right thing after a day out in the city.

Be aware that with most the riads within the medina, your taxi won't be able to drop you off by the front door (streets are too narrow for cars). Dar Housnia arranged out airport transfer and for someone to meet our taxi in the city, carry our luggage and show us to the hotel (a 3-minute walk from the drop-off point). From the moment we set foot inside, the riad felt like home. Staff go out of their way to accommodate guests, and the layout is wonderful-even though you know there are other people staying, you somehow feel that you're the only people there.

We had the Fes and Mogador suites, which occupy an entire floor and have a shared sitting room/lounge area, so it was really like our very own house in Marrakech. Both suites are spacious, airy and beautifully decorated, with big bathrooms (Mogador has a huge bathtub as well)

Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, and if I had to nitpick, I'd say a choice of plain green tea and something savory for breakfast would have been nice (they offer traditional mint tea with sugar or coffee, alongside pancakes or pastries) - but that really is nitpicking for the sake of objectivity :)
They also offered us a complimentary dinner on our second evening there (delicious food, much better that most of what's on offer in the city)

The riad also offers hammam and massage services, and even though we missed out on the hammam, the hour-long massage after a day hiking in the mountains was perfect.

Basically, Dar Housnia really is a gem, and for those who shy away from big-name hotels and want to be in the heart of it all, the perfect choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend (4 nights) stay at this wonderul riad. We were looked after magnificently by the very friendly and helpful staff who gave us the impression that our comfort and care was their only concern. The riad has beautiful local architectural features which are shown off well by the restrained but very tasteful decor. We had breakfast on the roof terrace but, as the evenings were cool, on the nights that we ate in dinner was served in a dining/sitting room separated from the courtyard by heavy curtains. There was a wood fire burning in an open grate which you could curl by on luxurious sofas and cushions after dinner. The food was superb. I would recommend booking transport from the airport with the riad as they also arrange a porter to transport your luggage from the nearest drop off point and who will guide you there. Also, if you are arriving late afternoon/evening, you may wish to eat in that night as it can take you some time to orientate yourself in this part of the old town if you are not familiar with it. We did not use the spa, but I was told by another guest that it was superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

An absolutely brilliant riad in Marrakesh. Located in a quiet corner, you'll be in for an amazing experience once you walk through the doors. We had a two storey 'room'. In it, two bedrooms and a lovely living room, and direct access to the pool. The rooms were nicely done, lovely bathrooms too. The staff were terrific, food was delicious. Only regret is we stayed there only for 3 nights. Don't think twice, just go for it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my second visit. It is a tastefully designed riad which immediately soothes you when you enter. All the rooms (there are only 4 or 5) are unique and distinctive (one has a sunken tub, one has a private loggia, you can see them on the website). It is not overdone or fussy or that fake Moroccan style. Colours are mostly white, beige, and green. The staff are very accomodating. It is impeccably clean and well kept. The food is wonderful. Breakfast on the roof terrace is the best start to a busy day. I find it always good to arrange a dinner at the riad, it is delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family and I stayed in the separate Douriria with our own sitting room, roof terrace and bedrooms. Every comfort has been thought out and the team that look after you at this romantic and beautifully designed riad exceeded all expectations.

Situated in the busy, narrow streets of the Medina, the riad is ideal for exploring the true heart of the city, the souks and the museums. It allows you to experience the hussle but takes out the bussle as you enter the riad doors the peace and quiet takes over. It was quiet and restful and the delicious food made it hard to leave. We are well travelled and have stayed in some very special 5 * hotels but this riad sits comfortably among our favourite spots. A true find!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Housnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Housnia

Address: 2 derb Lalla Azzouna, Medina de MKH | Medina de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Housnia is an elegant guesthouse, unique in marrakech, comprisinga Riad and a Douiria wich articulate around an inside terrace with a lovely swimming pool.Dar Housnia was renovated in the true style and spirit of Arabian Andalusian architecture, using traditional methods.Dar Housnia is located in one of the most authentic district of the Medina, only at 5 min walking from the Medersa Ben Youssef and a 15 min from the legendary Jemaa el Fna square.The riad has 4 suite junior and the Douiria 2 rooms, each with a bathroom.An traditional hammam as well as a massage room allow to enjoy wellmess cares at dar Housnia...just next to your room.Rachida, our cook, can offer you a choice of dishes for lunch or dinner.having a candelight "t^te-à-t^te" dinner on the roof terrace, listening to a quiet music is a blessing!Free wifi, Guard 24h/24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dar Housnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Housnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.