We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Arabian Nights adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Housnia

Save Saved
You added Dar Housnia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Housnia
2 derb Lalla Azzouna, Medina de MKH | Medina de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #141 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chichester
1 review
“An Arabian Nights adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend (4 nights) stay at this wonderul riad. We were looked after magnificently by the very friendly and helpful staff who gave us the impression that our comfort and care was their only concern. The riad has beautiful local architectural features which are shown off well by the restrained but very tasteful decor. We had breakfast on the roof terrace but, as the evenings were cool, on the nights that we ate in dinner was served in a dining/sitting room separated from the courtyard by heavy curtains. There was a wood fire burning in an open grate which you could curl by on luxurious sofas and cushions after dinner. The food was superb. I would recommend booking transport from the airport with the riad as they also arrange a porter to transport your luggage from the nearest drop off point and who will guide you there. Also, if you are arriving late afternoon/evening, you may wish to eat in that night as it can take you some time to orientate yourself in this part of the old town if you are not familiar with it. We did not use the spa, but I was told by another guest that it was superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

An absolutely brilliant riad in Marrakesh. Located in a quiet corner, you'll be in for an amazing experience once you walk through the doors. We had a two storey 'room'. In it, two bedrooms and a lovely living room, and direct access to the pool. The rooms were nicely done, lovely bathrooms too. The staff were terrific, food was delicious. Only regret is we stayed there only for 3 nights. Don't think twice, just go for it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was my second visit. It is a tastefully designed riad which immediately soothes you when you enter. All the rooms (there are only 4 or 5) are unique and distinctive (one has a sunken tub, one has a private loggia, you can see them on the website). It is not overdone or fussy or that fake Moroccan style. Colours are mostly white, beige, and green. The staff are very accomodating. It is impeccably clean and well kept. The food is wonderful. Breakfast on the roof terrace is the best start to a busy day. I find it always good to arrange a dinner at the riad, it is delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My family and I stayed in the separate Douriria with our own sitting room, roof terrace and bedrooms. Every comfort has been thought out and the team that look after you at this romantic and beautifully designed riad exceeded all expectations.

Situated in the busy, narrow streets of the Medina, the riad is ideal for exploring the true heart of the city, the souks and the museums. It allows you to experience the hussle but takes out the bussle as you enter the riad doors the peace and quiet takes over. It was quiet and restful and the delicious food made it hard to leave. We are well travelled and have stayed in some very special 5 * hotels but this riad sits comfortably among our favourite spots. A true find!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Dar Housnia. We have both travelled extensively to some of the most remote areas of the world and stayed in some really wonderful places but this has to be the one of most beautifulI experiences we have ever had. We flew from Bristol to Marrakech (3 hrs) and were met by a charming taxi driver (which Dar Housnia organised on our behalf) he then arranged for a porter to transfer our cases a short distance through the medina to our Riad.
The Riad was absolutely stunning, our room was off the courtyard and was spacious and full of beautiful touches. The courtyard was lit by candlelight and completely peaceful - almost impossible to believe that the hustle and bustle of the medina was so close. After we had had an opportunity to settle we were taken onto the roof top where we were served the most delicious morrocan supper. Again the attention to detail was wonderful, the Morrocan wine which we were served was superb and the service extremely friendly but also very descreet, definately the most romantic meal that I have ever had. The breakfasts were also delicious and we even opted to have our leaving lunch at the riad because we knew it would be hard to find anything else that could be so special (and we werent disappointed).
The staff were all lovely, extremely helpful and very friendly but also discreet.
The lap pool was situated on a different rooftop and again was very tranquil.
One of the things we really appreciated staying here was that we were right in the heart of the Medina so you could easily walk out of the door to the souks and museums and then when the crazy atmosphere got too much we could retreat back into the tranquility of the riad. I honestly believe it would be hard to find anywhere else as beautiful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, I think that the Patio room was the best but the upstairs rooms are sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is my first ever trip advisor review and i just wanted to let everyone know that if you are after a luxury Riad right in the centre of the Medina then look no further than Dar Housina. My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here for three nights in September 2011 and cannot praise it enough.
The Riad itself is lovely, beautifully designed from top to bottom and has everything you need - Rooftop terrace, plunge pool, swimming pool, free internet, lovely rooms, amazing free breakfast (cooked each morning by a wonderful chef) and the evening meal we had on our first night was the best we had during our stay. Looking back we wish we had eaten at the Riad every night instead of eating out elsewhere in the city, it was that nice!
All the staff are superb and really couldnt do enough for us and made us feel really special.
Although it is not the easiest place to find in the dark, the location is perfect in terms of being only a 5 min walk from the souks and only a ten min walk to the square.
I would defo go back to this Riad and would strongly suggest to others to try it rather than stay at the soul-less, so called 5* hotels outside the city walls.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borth,Abersytwyth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here two years ago., and I've been thinking about writing this since! So here we go!
In one way this was like staying amongst the pages of Elle Decoration, however the whole experience was spoiled by the attitude of the manageress who was primarily concerned with making as much money from us as possible.
My husband , daughter and myself had contracted bad food poisoning in the souks and although we had ordered a meal for us all I was too ill to eat mine and so I cancelled it late afternoon. When the bill came at the end of our stay they had charged for it and were adamant that we should pay.
The Riad was in one of the poorest parts of the Medina and walking back at night was quite nerve-racking, with people seriously pestering us for money and threatening us if we did not respond or give enough.
All the other staff were lovely, but the Manageress created a very unpleasant atmosphere indeed.

Sad but true
This turned out to be a very expensive holiday
This was one of the bad experiences we had there-there were more

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnez, Propriétaire at Dar Housnia, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your rating giving to Dar Housnia the highest rate for sleep quality, rooms and cleanliness, and your praise of riad decoration.

If you did not appreciate our location, we, personally, are proud to be in one of the oldest and most authentic part of the medina close to the souks, the brilliant Medersa and the interesting Museum of Marrakesh… and not in an insipid and colourless (“soul-less” as expressed by one of our guest) district where tourists cannot feel the genuine atmosphere of Marrakesh and its medina, made of congested derbs, busy souks, smells and noises. We feel that this is a unique experience we offer to our guests and what shouldn’t be missed when living in the medina, staying in an old house and mixing up with the population. As far as we know, we never record any serious problem walking through the “derbs” although, like anywhere else, people should reasonably keep alert. A question of taste…

Regarding the service and our manageress, Bouchra, we find your comment unjust –if not malevolent after 2 years– for an issue that we thought was fixed at the time.

But let’s tell the full story : you ordered in the morning 3 three-courses dinners for the evening. It should be pointed out that we ask our clients to order meals in the morning so that our cook may do her shopping for fresh food and prepare the dinner (Moroccan cuisine requires long time of preparation). It is when you came back around 7:00 pm that you cancelled the dinner for you, having contracted some food poisoning in the souks. Your daughter and husband take their dinner. We feel nevertheless fair and understandable to charge you for your dinner since it was cooked and prepared especially for you. We are not a restaurant, meals are never re-heated and our staff never eat what clients leave !

We are further quite puzzled by your comment which came after 2 years, since, contacted by our manageress, we asked her to make a commercial deal and not to charge you for the meal you annulled, a decision that she has not the authority to take. We thought doing so, having fixed the issue. This was apparently not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Housnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Housnia

Address: 2 derb Lalla Azzouna, Medina de MKH | Medina de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Housnia is an elegant guesthouse, unique in marrakech, comprisinga Riad and a Douiria wich articulate around an inside terrace with a lovely swimming pool.Dar Housnia was renovated in the true style and spirit of Arabian Andalusian architecture, using traditional methods.Dar Housnia is located in one of the most authentic district of the Medina, only at 5 min walking from the Medersa Ben Youssef and a 15 min from the legendary Jemaa el Fna square.The riad has 4 suite junior and the Douiria 2 rooms, each with a bathroom.An traditional hammam as well as a massage room allow to enjoy wellmess cares at dar Housnia...just next to your room.Rachida, our cook, can offer you a choice of dishes for lunch or dinner.having a candelight "t^te-à-t^te" dinner on the roof terrace, listening to a quiet music is a blessing!Free wifi, Guard 24h/24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Dar Housnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Housnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.