We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Riad - Perfect Calm in the Chaos of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Housnia

Save Saved
You added Dar Housnia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Housnia
2 derb Lalla Azzouna, Medina de MKH | Medina de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #141 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Riad - Perfect Calm in the Chaos of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is my first ever trip advisor review and i just wanted to let everyone know that if you are after a luxury Riad right in the centre of the Medina then look no further than Dar Housina. My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here for three nights in September 2011 and cannot praise it enough.
The Riad itself is lovely, beautifully designed from top to bottom and has everything you need - Rooftop terrace, plunge pool, swimming pool, free internet, lovely rooms, amazing free breakfast (cooked each morning by a wonderful chef) and the evening meal we had on our first night was the best we had during our stay. Looking back we wish we had eaten at the Riad every night instead of eating out elsewhere in the city, it was that nice!
All the staff are superb and really couldnt do enough for us and made us feel really special.
Although it is not the easiest place to find in the dark, the location is perfect in terms of being only a 5 min walk from the souks and only a ten min walk to the square.
I would defo go back to this Riad and would strongly suggest to others to try it rather than stay at the soul-less, so called 5* hotels outside the city walls.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Borth,Abersytwyth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here two years ago., and I've been thinking about writing this since! So here we go!
In one way this was like staying amongst the pages of Elle Decoration, however the whole experience was spoiled by the attitude of the manageress who was primarily concerned with making as much money from us as possible.
My husband , daughter and myself had contracted bad food poisoning in the souks and although we had ordered a meal for us all I was too ill to eat mine and so I cancelled it late afternoon. When the bill came at the end of our stay they had charged for it and were adamant that we should pay.
The Riad was in one of the poorest parts of the Medina and walking back at night was quite nerve-racking, with people seriously pestering us for money and threatening us if we did not respond or give enough.
All the other staff were lovely, but the Manageress created a very unpleasant atmosphere indeed.

Sad but true
This turned out to be a very expensive holiday
This was one of the bad experiences we had there-there were more

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnez, Propriétaire at Dar Housnia, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your rating giving to Dar Housnia the highest rate for sleep quality, rooms and cleanliness, and your praise of riad decoration.

If you did not appreciate our location, we, personally, are proud to be in one of the oldest and most authentic part of the medina close to the souks, the brilliant Medersa and the interesting Museum of Marrakesh… and not in an insipid and colourless (“soul-less” as expressed by one of our guest) district where tourists cannot feel the genuine atmosphere of Marrakesh and its medina, made of congested derbs, busy souks, smells and noises. We feel that this is a unique experience we offer to our guests and what shouldn’t be missed when living in the medina, staying in an old house and mixing up with the population. As far as we know, we never record any serious problem walking through the “derbs” although, like anywhere else, people should reasonably keep alert. A question of taste…

Regarding the service and our manageress, Bouchra, we find your comment unjust –if not malevolent after 2 years– for an issue that we thought was fixed at the time.

But let’s tell the full story : you ordered in the morning 3 three-courses dinners for the evening. It should be pointed out that we ask our clients to order meals in the morning so that our cook may do her shopping for fresh food and prepare the dinner (Moroccan cuisine requires long time of preparation). It is when you came back around 7:00 pm that you cancelled the dinner for you, having contracted some food poisoning in the souks. Your daughter and husband take their dinner. We feel nevertheless fair and understandable to charge you for your dinner since it was cooked and prepared especially for you. We are not a restaurant, meals are never re-heated and our staff never eat what clients leave !

We are further quite puzzled by your comment which came after 2 years, since, contacted by our manageress, we asked her to make a commercial deal and not to charge you for the meal you annulled, a decision that she has not the authority to take. We thought doing so, having fixed the issue. This was apparently not the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

The team of Dar Housnia made our stay to something special. The transfer from the airport to the Dar Housnia worked out perfectly, even though we come almost 40 minutes. We had such a warm welome and Bushra gave us real good informations about Marrakesh. Rashia prepared us twice such a wonderful dinner that all the restaurants around the Dar Housnia would be glad to have such a good cook. The rooms are fantastic and freshly renewed. The whole Dar ist in perfect condition. There is also a hammam and we had a real good massage, too. After a long dax in the souks we relaxed on the pool.The roofterrace is a exellent place to have dinner or breakfast. The Dar is a real fantastic hide-away! Thanks to all the people who made our stay a special one!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

In the middle of the busy old Medina, a few minutes walk from the souks and the wonderful Medersa Ben Youssouf, Dar Housnia is an oasis of quiet, where we enjoyed the sensuous atmosphere created by the aesthetically refined decor and the attentions of the staff. Eating the wonderful food prepared by the cook Rachida on the terrace under a starry sky is like being transported in a tale from the Thousand and One Nights. Our room (Mogador) was wonderful. We asked if we could see another,unoccupied one, and we were shown the one called Fes, which is as beautiful as Mogador. Real Tadelakt baths in which one can luxuriate, a luxury which is simply elegant instead of ostentatious. We will come back.

Room Tip: The rooms Fes and Mogador share an adjacent loggia looking on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deinze
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

this is what I call "une maison de qualité et d'excellence" with a very special atmosphere
atmosphere created not only by the surroundings and/or furnishings but most of all by
the fantastic and fully dedicated staff . My wife and I had a fantastic and relaxing stay at Dar-Housnia , enjoying not only great food but appreciating the constant kind and devoted attentions and presence of a very professional staff .
Here we are close to perfection .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We loved to be at Dar-Housnia, a little paradise in the middle of the busy old town. It was like coming home and settle down after a tired day.
The friendly reception, the delicious food of the cook Rachida, the little concerns of the personnel, ... we were pampered!
The rooms are elegant decorated in a typical Moroccan style, each room in his own lovely decoration.
We'll return certainly!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Travellers do not be persuaded by the previous good reviews, or at least make sure that the Belgium owners will be present during your stay at this Riyad. BE AWARE!!
We booked for 3 nights and our rate included breakfast.
It is unfortunate for the Belgian owners that their Moroccan staff are stealing on a daily basis.
On arrival we asked to be recommended an authentic Moroccan restaurant. Abdullah, the night manager told us he would organise a taxi and that it would cost 250 MAD (25 euro) round trip. We left for the restaurant he recommended and found it was a tacky tourist trap with meals costing upwards of 450MAD (which is about 40 euro). We decided not to eat at the restaurant and left for another place close by which a friend had recommended. The taxi told us he would be back to pick us up after our meal. When we called him he said he’d be there in 5 minutes but took 40 minutes to get there. While waiting we asked some taxis in front of the restaurant how much they would charge to take us back to the Riyad and to our astonishment they said only 20 MAD (2 euro!!). It was then that we realised what we were up against.

We froze our butts in our bedrooms - it was freezing. We told Abdullah the next day but he did nothing about it. We slept in a freezing room on the second night as well.

There was drinking water in the room when we arrived but when we returned to the riyad on the first day, we had not been given any new drinking water and they did not give us fresh bottles of water after that. We had to go down to the kitchen and ask for it - which they tried to charge it to our bill on departure.
The staff had gone through our make-up and toiletry bags. We noticed because we could not open the lids to our products - someone had gone through our stuff and opened and closed the lids.

For breakfast on the first day we received 2 pieces of bread, 3 bowls of super-sweet fruit salad (not sure what it is about Moroccans and sugar!) and some jam and butter. On the second day we only received 1 piece of bread and 1 cup of yoghurt between the 3 of us! We asked for 2 eggs per person about 4 times before they reluctantly brought us 1 fried egg each for only two of us, which was uncooked. We told them to cancel breakfast on the last day however they still charged us for it.

We asked for a local laundry service as we did not wish to spend 21 euros for a few pieces of undergarments at the Riyad. Both Abdullah and Bucshra insisted that we use their washing machine. When we told them we’d rather have self-service they said “no problem”. However like everything thing else they were dishonest about this too, we were later charged 21 euros for washing our small items.

Perhaps the staff are a little too comfortable in this Riyad - making us feel we had imposed and intruded their space the morning after we arrived.
We almost immediately felt as though we had intruded in their private home. They didn’t even like having us turn the Fireplace on!
We can easily say that this place and the incredibly RUDE staff ruined our experience in Marrakech.
Holidayers don’t waste your time or money like we did, there are plenty of other placed in Marrakech.
Good luck!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnez, Propriétaire at Dar Housnia, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
We took full and serious account of your remarks and disappointment regarding your stay in Dar Housnia since we are particularly attentive to clients’ comments to improve constantly our service.

We have been in Marrakech recently and immediately discuss with our staff of what happened. Having got a quite different version and appreciation we will not judge nor polemize here about a situation which rapidly deteriorated into a subjective and unfair judgment of our staff attitude and readiness to help and serve, creating a wall of incomprehension.

It is nevertheless true that, among others, we do not allow clients to use themselves the 2 laundry machines (one of which had to be subsequently repaired - these must be operated exclusively by our staff) and, for evident security reason since we are in a medina, to make themselves an open fire. As far as taxis are concerned, our personnel is not responsible for the rates and tariffs applied by taxi drivers, unless our habitual drivers, with whom we negotiated fixed rates, are used. To avoid any surprise, we pay ourselves the driver and charge this to the client’s final bill.

Your experience provided some learning and our staff has been taught properly. Besides this, we still keep full confidence and trust in our staff who, most of them, work for us since more than 9 years, is eager to help and receive lots of highly praised comments either on Tripadvisor or in our guestbook about his service, his friendliness and the cooking (regardless whether we –the “Belgian owners”– are present or not). Needless to say that, we firmly deny the unfunded accusation of dishonesty and “staff stealing on a daily basis”, and put this on a strong resentment you had about your stay, which unfortunately came to your excessive comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Housnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Housnia

Address: 2 derb Lalla Azzouna, Medina de MKH | Medina de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Housnia is an elegant guesthouse, unique in marrakech, comprisinga Riad and a Douiria wich articulate around an inside terrace with a lovely swimming pool.Dar Housnia was renovated in the true style and spirit of Arabian Andalusian architecture, using traditional methods.Dar Housnia is located in one of the most authentic district of the Medina, only at 5 min walking from the Medersa Ben Youssef and a 15 min from the legendary Jemaa el Fna square.The riad has 4 suite junior and the Douiria 2 rooms, each with a bathroom.An traditional hammam as well as a massage room allow to enjoy wellmess cares at dar Housnia...just next to your room.Rachida, our cook, can offer you a choice of dishes for lunch or dinner.having a candelight "t^te-à-t^te" dinner on the roof terrace, listening to a quiet music is a blessing!Free wifi, Guard 24h/24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Escapio so you can book your Dar Housnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Housnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.