We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 rue de la Kasbah | 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco (Formerly Restaurant of 'La Sultana')
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $53 - $132
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely setting with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This restaurant certainly looks special and our table was by the pool with lots of candles around us. The food was good, I particularly enjoyed the pigeon pie starter. The chicken tagine was good but not the best I tasted whilst in Marrakesh. The service was excellent, staff were welcoming and attentive.
Might be a tad expensive but worth it as a treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    49
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Amazing building; truly stunning, but not convinced ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I know this is a little 'against the grain' to give this restaurant anything other than a stunning review; and from the setting and building it truly deserves a fantastic review - but this is a restaurant review and this needs to consider price, service and food.

Setting: We ate indoors around the pool, which was a lovely setting, but the distance between the tables meant that when the Sitar player stopped there was no atmosphere and almost an eerie silence.

Price: Ok, I knew this would be a high class restaurant (and it is) and therefore expensive. For me it is too expensive for the quality of the food (€40 for a vegetarian lasagna).

Service: Certainly polite and attentive - no complaints here.

Food: Ok, linked to the price debate, clearly the food is of superb quality but is there value here.

Thank you for a nice night, but I walked away thinking had the night been overshadowed by the lack of atmosphere and the bill - I know you're going to think I'm a tight git, but honestly I'm not, it's about whether you feel it was worth it ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had dinner here for my 40th birthday. The rooftop terrace was amazing, with a fabulous aptmosphere. We had drinks before dinner, whils the sun set. The service was very good and the menu choice excellent - with lots of fish options, which I love.

The only niggle was that they had run out of the chablis we selected, so we ended up with a pouilly fuisse, which was just as good but a little more expensive.

The seafood tagine that I had was exceptional, with so much seafood and fish it was too much to eat it all. My partner had a beef dish, which he really enjoyed too.

The setting, decor, service, location, musician; all added up to a fabulous evening that was truly memorable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, lovely food and romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a few lunches on the roof terrace and one dinner by the pool in this wonderful hotel. The ambience is excellent and the team of staff was friendly and welcoming. Would strongly recommend for a relaxing lunch and afternoon or more vibrant dinner with live music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

When we arrived we had a drink on the roof terrace. The only thing I could criticise would be that it was not made clear to us when or where we would be eating. We were left on the terrace for sometime, then we asked for our booking name. Then someone came to get us and we asked for 10 more minutes as we wanted to watch the sunset. But after that nobody came and we had to ask to be taken to our table, about half an hour after the sunset!

However the wine was terrific and the selection very good. We had an amazing meal, the portions were large and excellent quality.

The tables round the pool are beautiful and the whole place has a lovely atmosphere.

For the quality of the food and drink I think it is well priced.

Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.