We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 Rue de la Kasbah | 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Restaurant of 'La Sultana')
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 576 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Amazing unexpected arrival from a busy Medina street which takes you once more into a hidden secret jewel. The way to the elevator takes you through the beautiful ground floor where you would love to stay ... in one of the 'riads' with their cozy and morocain decorated corners. The restaurant on the terrasse is fairly priced for a 5 star hotel and has beautiful views. Staff is nice and helpful, food is good and when you leave you just have one wish: to come back soon! Thank you for a great lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    60
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is my dream place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend had dinner in this extremely fantastic restaurant. The morrocon tasty menu is perfect and the staff were very very friendly. The most important advice to the management of this place is to make sure the traditional arabic music (oud) continue in this reataurant to maintain the great level.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Similar to other 'fancy' restaurants and riads in Marrakesh, this place is off the beaten track and an oasis of calm away from the bustling streets. The inside is grand and beautifully decorated. The lighting is low, which made for a nice atmosphere, and torches were provided to read the menus which was a novel idea, though somewhat annoying after a while! We were served potato and blue cheese soup in shot glasses as a free starter, these were creamy and delicious. The main tagines were tasty, though meat portions were small compared to other restaurants. They were served with couscous which was pleasing, as other places seemed to only offer bread. Service was friendly and attentive. I asked if they had any ginger tea and was brought a whole box of herbal teas to choose from. There was also a live musician playing relaxing music throughout. Wine was expensive and not much available by the glass. Cost was on par with similar restaurants, you pay for the wonderful setting and good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Our first day here in Marrakech & pleased to see that as we were staying here the restaurant had such a good reputation & it didn't let us down. A complimentary amuse bouche of petits pois done creme brûlée style, followed by an Excellent beef tagine & a fillet steak, both incredible, our request for 2 spoons was greeted very well as we shared a baked Alaska Flambé at the table with Grand Marnier. A fantastic setting, in doors with heaters round the pool, with local music playing, local wines too. Well worth a visit, it's expensive but worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrens-Marsous, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A truly special restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was an expensive evening out, and the food was very good, although not exceptional. But the whole package is what makes a meal here worth the money. We had aperitifs on the roof terrace, with excellent canapés, and then dinner inside by the pool. Both settings were stunning. The service was attentive and cordial, and there was an attention to detail that we haven't seen anywhere else. We were serenaded throughout by a musician, who provided just the right level of discreet background entertainment to create the perfect ambiance. A memory to treasure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.