We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic building and setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 rue de la Kasbah | 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco (Formerly Restaurant of 'La Sultana')
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $53 - $132
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic building and setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had dinner here last week - the rooftop setting is lovely, and the meal was pretty good on the whole. Had harrira soup and pigeon pastilla which are Moroccan classics and both good - really surprised at the pigeon pastille which was delicious. We shared a whole shoulder of slow cooked lamb which was a tiny bit disappointing - it didn't really have any Moroccan flavours and came with some veg and reminded me of an English Sunday roast! My wife had a chocolate dessert and I had a sub standard apple tart. The service was great, and it's pretty pricey by local standards but was a lovely setting and the building itself has to be one of the most beautiful I have ever seen - it is stunning inside and throughout. I think that we should have chosen a different main course and then this might have been a 5* review.

The location is maybe 5-10 mins in a cab from the main square - a taxi ride which should be about 50dh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    114
    47
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hg-lil1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I don't often use words like superb, but that pretty much sums up our evening at La Sultana. As soon as you step in off of Marrakech's crazy streets your know you're in for a treat and walking up to the restaurant I can understand the many reviews raving about this place as a hotel.
My husband and I both went for the non-moroccan taster menu, having eaten tangine on the previous two nights, and we are so happy we did. Every mouthful was a treat and we will remember this meal on the beautiful rooftop terrace forever I have no doubt. It is undeniably pricey, especially for marrakech, but worth every penny in my opinion and would be fantastic as a treat for birthdays or anniversaries. We had a bottle of Merlot for about £16 I think which was lovely, no need to go for the more expensive wines. The staff were lovely and friendly.
If you're thinking about going, I would wholeheartedly recommend it. You'll enjoy every moment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place will remain in your lifetime memories.
An secluded, quiet gem on the top of hectic souks the setting is breathtaking. It goes for lunch and dinner and is one of the most romantic place in Marrakesh.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a romantic, pleasant and tasty terrace with good food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

You can choose Maghreb or International style cuisine. Select moroccan wines because they deserve to be drunk.Everything was well cooked and prepared .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Surroundings are very nice
Amazing view
Great hotel
Good food, not too expensive
We sad so we could look down at SAADIAN TOMBS

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.