We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous tasting Menus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 614 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables or the Home Made Duck Foie Gras.
AUH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous tasting Menus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here and ate here all three nights. The food was fabulous with both the Moroccan tasting menu and the European tasting menu giving a sample of the whole menu. High quality and high end food in a perfect rooftop location with fabulous local music.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    69
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I ordered the Lamb dish which was served at our table by the waiter. It just melted in the mouth. The sultana is a lovely restaurant to come enjoy some fine dining for a special occasion .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal in a beautiful environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went to La Sultana restaurant in June . The food, atmosphere, staff and hotel were fantastic!! It really is a "must do" in Marrakech, you won,t be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

La Sultana was recommended to us as a great venue for dinner in Marrakech and we were not disappointed. The venue was just stunning - so beautiful; the food was fabulous - the best we had in Marrakech by a comfortable distance (strongly recommend the 'Tasting Menus' - have one of each and share them); the staff were very professional, attentive, polite and welcoming.

Once the meal was over we were given a tour of the hotel and it was spectacular. If we return to Marrakech this is the place we want to stay.

The whole experience was just wonderful. Not cheap, but worth every penny. We loved it!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful terrace restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here. As a moroccan I know quite well the difference between what tourists are served up in the square and what authentic moroccan is, and this is really it! It tasted just like home. Delicious moroccan courses in great portions will have you unwilling to move. We had the wood pigeon pie and beef tajine, and some moroccan mezze. Delicious! The terrace was stunning with a night view over the medina. The oud player was very talented and played some arabic classics really well. The service was impeccable and the waiter spoke great english for my guest. We were the last people to leave and they waited on us out of sight allowing us to enjoy the terrace and appeared only when we had decided to head home. Very discreet. We also had the pleasure of watching a moroccan wedding procession happening down bellow. It was magical really. After the dinner we were given a tour of the stunning riad. All in all a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone in Marrakech for friends, family or couples.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.