We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful terrace restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 604 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables or the Home Made Duck Foie Gras.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful terrace restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here. As a moroccan I know quite well the difference between what tourists are served up in the square and what authentic moroccan is, and this is really it! It tasted just like home. Delicious moroccan courses in great portions will have you unwilling to move. We had the wood pigeon pie and beef tajine, and some moroccan mezze. Delicious! The terrace was stunning with a night view over the medina. The oud player was very talented and played some arabic classics really well. The service was impeccable and the waiter spoke great english for my guest. We were the last people to leave and they waited on us out of sight allowing us to enjoy the terrace and appeared only when we had decided to head home. Very discreet. We also had the pleasure of watching a moroccan wedding procession happening down bellow. It was magical really. After the dinner we were given a tour of the stunning riad. All in all a wonderful experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone in Marrakech for friends, family or couples.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    65
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My friends and I decided to have a special evening out on our last night in Marrakech. We chose the Restaurant of La Sultana based on the reviews and its location close to our riad. We were not disappointed. From the time we arrived the service was attentive and professional. The setting is wonderful and the food excellent. While not cheap (we paid about AU$60 per head) I would say this is one of the best meals I have eaten. Certainly worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow Tres Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This amazingly beautiful riad/restaurant is set back out of a bustling busy street in the Kasbah area. From the moment you walk down the red carpet, the decor, lighting and music all combine in a feast for the senses. The food, while fairly expensive by Moroccan standards, is no more than you would pay for a meal in Australian/European cities, but is so much better than more expensive meals I have eaten! In fact I would have to say this was one of the best meals I have ever had (spinach risotto with the most amazing champagne cream sauce!). The service was incredible too, and nothing was too much trouble. Could not recommend this highly enough!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ambient dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great meal, service and location at La Sultana. Has to be top of the list if you are looking for fine dining. Very romantic location and great service - a must do if you can afford it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, lovely atmosphere, elegant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food is expensive, but not unreasonable, particularly compared with US and European cities. The atmosphere is lovely and the service was excellent - attentive and friendly without being pretentious. The food was delicious. Moroccan appetizers were 130 dh and main dishes were 250 dh. European entrees were more expensive. At 100 dh each, the desserts seemed way overpriced. We had the Harrira soup (we shared one portion, which was plenty for two people), red sea bream tagine and chicken tagine. Everything was excellent, but the chicken tagine was especially memorable with the most delicious sweet tomatoes that tasted like candy. The chicken was moist and the dish had a great balance between sweet and savory dishes. Highly recommended and a nice splurge/change of pace from the heavy cooking at many of the smaller, less expensive restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.