We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, lovely atmosphere, elegant service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 rue de la Kasbah | 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco (Formerly Restaurant of 'La Sultana')
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $53 - $132
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, lovely atmosphere, elegant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food is expensive, but not unreasonable, particularly compared with US and European cities. The atmosphere is lovely and the service was excellent - attentive and friendly without being pretentious. The food was delicious. Moroccan appetizers were 130 dh and main dishes were 250 dh. European entrees were more expensive. At 100 dh each, the desserts seemed way overpriced. We had the Harrira soup (we shared one portion, which was plenty for two people), red sea bream tagine and chicken tagine. Everything was excellent, but the chicken tagine was especially memorable with the most delicious sweet tomatoes that tasted like candy. The chicken was moist and the dish had a great balance between sweet and savory dishes. Highly recommended and a nice splurge/change of pace from the heavy cooking at many of the smaller, less expensive restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    107
    45
    15
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance when dinner is served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food was good, the service is also good. The dinner is served around the pool yard with life music.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Stylish and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We dined here on the last night of our trip and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was a little hard to find, there is a small sign on the wall of the main busy street indicating the turn. We had a tour of the sumptuous riads before dinner. Fabulous decor, very stylish indeed.
Drinks are served on the top terrace pior to dinner which starts at 8pm.
The fixed menu was 650dh per person. There was also an a la carte with starters around 150 and main courses 250dh . We had foie gras with an apple compote and home-made warm pain d'epice. Then my husband had beef fillet and I had ostrich and duck. Both delicious, very well presented . My dessert was an almond and cream pastilla . I think my husband had a creme brulee. We had a bottle of wine and the total bill was around 1500 DH which we thought was fine for food of this quality and the ambience .
All the tables were full and this is a venue which must be booked .
Perfect for a special celebration and a welcome change from the more usual food in Morocco which can get a bit tiring after a while .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE NEC PLUS ULTRA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When you discover this restaurant located very discreetly in the Kasbah of Marrakech you enter an incredible world of luxe, quietness and beauty. Before entering the courtyard where the tables are organized in order to feel as at home ,you will receive a very warm welcome from the staff always smily and efficient.The card offer traditionnal moroccan and international dishes of top quality.The service is excellent as the waiters will always look at your table,ready to bring some more bread, pouring wine and water in your glasses.There is also a continuous but low music played by musicians so that you feel in a palace of one and thousand nights! The prices are at the level of the quality and service but as you are in Morocco they are much lower than in europe!really one of the best restaurant in Marrakech at present !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Perfect finish to our holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Hidden amongst the chaos is this oasis of luxury and quiet. We didnt book and were lucky to get in with a table next to the pool. Recommend you book to ensure a place as it is well worth it. Set taster menue 620dh each. Wine 180 dh for merlot. Expensive but plenty of food and great quality plus setting and live traditional music. Staff very attentive and spoke good english with good humour. Perfect end to our holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.