We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 610 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The restaurant of La Sultana offers a traditional Moroccan cuisine to reflect the flavors of the season with the Tasting Menu, the Traditional Lamb Couscous with Seven Vegetables or the Home Made Duck Foie Gras.
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Stylish and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We dined here on the last night of our trip and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was a little hard to find, there is a small sign on the wall of the main busy street indicating the turn. We had a tour of the sumptuous riads before dinner. Fabulous decor, very stylish indeed.
Drinks are served on the top terrace pior to dinner which starts at 8pm.
The fixed menu was 650dh per person. There was also an a la carte with starters around 150 and main courses 250dh . We had foie gras with an apple compote and home-made warm pain d'epice. Then my husband had beef fillet and I had ostrich and duck. Both delicious, very well presented . My dessert was an almond and cream pastilla . I think my husband had a creme brulee. We had a bottle of wine and the total bill was around 1500 DH which we thought was fine for food of this quality and the ambience .
All the tables were full and this is a venue which must be booked .
Perfect for a special celebration and a welcome change from the more usual food in Morocco which can get a bit tiring after a while .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    68
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tangier, Morocco
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE NEC PLUS ULTRA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When you discover this restaurant located very discreetly in the Kasbah of Marrakech you enter an incredible world of luxe, quietness and beauty. Before entering the courtyard where the tables are organized in order to feel as at home ,you will receive a very warm welcome from the staff always smily and efficient.The card offer traditionnal moroccan and international dishes of top quality.The service is excellent as the waiters will always look at your table,ready to bring some more bread, pouring wine and water in your glasses.There is also a continuous but low music played by musicians so that you feel in a palace of one and thousand nights! The prices are at the level of the quality and service but as you are in Morocco they are much lower than in europe!really one of the best restaurant in Marrakech at present !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Perfect finish to our holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Hidden amongst the chaos is this oasis of luxury and quiet. We didnt book and were lucky to get in with a table next to the pool. Recommend you book to ensure a place as it is well worth it. Set taster menue 620dh each. Wine 180 dh for merlot. Expensive but plenty of food and great quality plus setting and live traditional music. Staff very attentive and spoke good english with good humour. Perfect end to our holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great....up to a point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

An absolutely stunning room for dinner. The most beautiful of our trip. The hotel's dining room (courtyard) and adjoining room were stunning. The food too was superb and perhaps the best we had all week, but......it's dear. Dir 250 for a main course (about £20) and the service was a little haphazard at times. On the whole I would recommend it though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fantastic restaurant - an oasis of peace and calm after hectic sightseeing in Marrakech. Wonderful location with fabulous views over the Saadian tombs, welcoming staff, great food and an interesting Moroccan wine list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.