We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sultana

La Sultana
403 Rue de la Kasbah | 403 rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Restaurant of 'La Sultana')
+212 5243-88008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $53 - $132
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Fabulous decor, menu got a little boring as it was the same for 2 weeks. The service was attentive. Lighting could be improved a little, one night it was so dark we couldn't actually see what we were eating!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    60
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb but not cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A real experience . It is a stunning setting and has food and service to match. But comes at a price.
Food is predominantly moroccan with a bit of international

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Have eaten at here twice and would go back, the riad is newly built but stunning with a gorgeuous roof terrace and central area with a beautifully maintained pool. Musician played the whole time during our meal and it felt time we stepped back in time. Not cheap but worth paying extra for. Booking essential as they dont allow walk ins!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dining at La Sultana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had breakfast daily on the rooftop terrace and also had dinner once on the same terrace. Both were excellent. However, although there was plenty of the local Casablanca beer in our room fridge, there was often a shortage in the bar area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Beautiful atmosphere, wonderful musician playing the mandolin. The fish was fishy, the veggie tagine was only a serving dish, and they served us foie gras (yuck) after we told them we didn't eat meat. No dessert. Two glasses of wine. For that we paid more that $100. What a waste.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sultana also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Sultana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sultana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.