We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place, superb company, charming host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Diarna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Diarna
Save
You added Riad Diarna to your Saves list
No 163, Derb Djdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cirencester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delightful place, superb company, charming host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I came to Riad Diarna with 7 friends on a celebratory birthday trip to Morocco. I am so glad we chose to stay at this Riad in Marrakech. It is situated close to the Jmaa el Fna and so is easy to find in the warren of streets in the medina.

Simone, our host, was charming, most helpful and I felt so warmly welcomed. We had a special birthday meal at the Riad - Couscous Royale - excellent food, great company, a lovely evening.

Simone organised my friends' transport from the airport efficiently, the guide Medhi and helped us in every way. The Riad is very comfortable - a real home from home. Lovely rooms with personal touches which reflect Simone's personality, roses in our rooms and such a special ambiance. I look forward to staying there again on my next visit.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONAMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Diarna, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you so much - your postcard "ROSE" is staying in your room "ROSE & LILAS" !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We arrived for one night before going up to the Atlas mountains and returned for two moe. Simone makes everything so easy. The taxi was where she said it would be, it was paid for and all we had to do was enjoy the ride.
The riad is beautiful. Rooms open from a courtyard where birds fly and sing. all the rooms are beautiful with rose petal scattered across the beds and thoughtful touches such as fans and water. We had a Couscous Royale on or first night as we had arrived late and for the other two nights, Simone provided suggestions of restaurants and when we had made our choice she made the booking and walked us there. She seems to know nearly everyone in the medina and nothing is too much trouble forthis perfect

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONAMarrakech, Owner at Riad Diarna, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
To give pleasure is also my pleasure....Thanks to you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida, usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

The hotel that we wanted was not available the owner suggested we stay with her friend simone at riad Diarna. I emailed simone and she had space available for my husband, myself and 11 year old. Only four days prior to arrival I took the booking sight unseen. I was just happy to have a reservation. Hopefully it would be clean and we would feel safe. To make a long story short. All doubts were vanished upon entering the Riad. Riad Diarna was a delight. It was clean, we felt safe, comfortable and very welcomed. Located in the Medina on steps away from the main square. It was a wonderful oasis of serenity for my family after spending the day sightseeing, shopping etc. We felt as if we were visiting a family friend. Chatting late at night in the salon over mint and soft lounge music. We hope to return someday in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Simone's lovely Riad just a stone's throw away from the magic of Djemaa el Fna made for a wonderful experience in Marrakech. She knows the city and knows how to treat people well. As we'd never been to Morocco before, finding Simone's Riad made for a perfect introduction. The Riad is simple yet romantic, well-designed, with a sunny terrace. It's nice to be in a smaller Riad, one that doesn't feel like a hotel but like a home, in the middle of a Marrakech neighborhood. Simone took great care of us, gave us great tips, helped with arrangements, and was a kind and thoughtful host. We were very happy!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

We are backpackers who went to Marrakech for a three-day business meeting and chose Riad Diarna for our housing. We so much loved the place that we stayed for a week. Situated near the central Djema-el-Fna place (5 minutes walk), you will travel the souks to find this little gem. The owner, Simone, will greet you with friendship, a smile and surely a cup of minth tea. Simone showed us the heart of the souks, tipped us on good shopping spots, arranged for our trip into the desert and Essaouira and even made us dinner at one time... It was truly an unforgettable experience because we do not feel only like we travelled Marrakech but like we made a friend.

Will recommend to all backpackers out there.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Diarna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diarna

Address: No 163, Derb Djdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typical Riad of 4 bedrooms all commodities (11 pax maximun)Patio, salo, & flowered terrace with sunbeds and berber tent. Breakfast serbed in patio or terraceMint tea freeAirport transfert possible ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Diarna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.