We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Traditional Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moullaoud

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
Riad Moullaoud
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 derb Guessaba El kebir | EL Moukkef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #386 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really Nice Traditional Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very friendly staff and most had good levels of English speaking, only a couple had limited English but this was not a problem, plenty of staff on hand to help and assist for anything, really nice riad with traditional features, lots of seating areas inside and outside on the roof terrace, 2 different outdoor pools and plenty on sun beds as well. Food in the hotel was good, bar service was good as well offer beer and wine and soft drinks. Breakfast was good and enjoyed this everyday. Standard room was slightly on the small side, we changed halfway through our stay to superior room and this was bigger and nicer. overall excellent stay and will be happy to re book at this Riad, The Riad was about a 15min walk to the squad through the souks which wasn't too bad, they provide you with a map and information. The first time we walked to the square we got lost but it was fine after that once you get your bearings.

Room Tip: the standard room we had was small, when we changed to the superior room this was much bigger and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    47
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
94
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The only saving grace was the rooftop terrace. The location was poor, the staff was not helpful, limited English speakers, and the room was horrible. I can touch the wall of the room from one side to the other and there was not enough room to open the suitcase. There was no light from the windows so it felt like a dungeon. We can hear the kitchen all through the night. The shower did not drain and no privacy for the toilet. Do not let the pictures mislead you. We did ask to change rooms but was told the hotel was fully booked, although we know the room next to us was empty. I am sure that not all rooms are this poor but you can experience what we did. This is not a typical Moroccan experience as we have different experiences elsewhere. You run the risk staying at this riad. The location is hidden, which is mysterious but there are so many better riad that give you an authentic feel and local life styles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great little hideaway in Marrakech. Nice breakfast and a good view from the roof top. Easy to find but hard to get to by car due to the small streets but once you are there, you don't need to drive so only bad going in and going out. Rooms are not quite child friendly but the staff is. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our stay in Marrakech was completely made by the Riad Moullaoud. What a paradise, hidden in the alleys of the souks! As soon as we passed their front door, we were stunned by the beautiful decor and the chilled atmosphere inside. Having heard a lot about their roof terrace we raced straight up and were overwhelmed by the view! Snow-capped Atlas Mountains in the distance, and overlooking the wonderful, seemingly peaceful city of Marrakech. The staff are absolutely wonderful, always greeting you with a smile. Breakfast on the terrace was a real treat too! Riad Moullaoud and Marrakech were so enchanting we couldn't wrench ourselves away, and had to book a third night! I have already recommended Riad Moullaoud to some friends travelling the Marrakech in May! Would be difficult to find from central Marrakech without the help of a local boy, who will be expecting to be paid. Though once we were shown, we had no difficulty finding it again. Beautiful. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Dune' suite on the bottom floor. Absolutely fine, but be warned, the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The front door does not give away any of the wonders that lay behind it. Behind these doors lie an oasis with endless nooks and crannies! Our room was at the top floor (rooftop) and we did not run out of corners to hang out at. Service and the jacuzzi are on 24hrs. Some places say this but try ringing up at 2am and there is no one in sight. We went for a dip early hours and staff showed up from nowhere to help us turn the jacuzzi on and get some drinks served as well. There is a good selection of wine, the Moroccan mint tea is the best I have tasted with fresh mint leaves, the homemade snacks are superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just back from Marrakesh and stayed in the Riad Moullaoud. We had to move rooms 3 times due to no hot water. It was a really lovely place with lots of areas to explore and the roof top garden was spectacular with a great view to the Atlas snow covered mountains. I agree with previous comments if you dont like the toiltet being in the same room a hotel would be better and i felt myself i would have prefered the comfort of a hotel in the more modern area of Marrakesh. I found once you stepped outside the Riad you were pestered none stop all the way to the Square and back by young boys. They expect you to give them money for showing you the Square which you could fine yourself. But the Riad was a real haven and the staff were always polite and very helpful at all times. If you want a real experience of Marrakesh then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Askf or a room not near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our arrival at the Riad was like entering another world. I couldn't rate this place more, in terms of authenticity, traditional decor and value.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff were a delight (charming and helpful) and location was ideal.
We were originally allocated to a small size bedroom, beautifully decorated but too compact for our needs, however we managed to swiftly upgrade to a larger size and had a very comfortable stay.
Aside from the hustle of the souks, we found the Riad our haven and a peaceful retreat - dinner was excellent and service spot on.
Would definitely recommend talking to other holiday makers about tips on where to eat/excursions etc for an honest account. A day trip up to the Atlas mountains is definitely recommended, but be prepared for a lot of climbing!
This Riad really made our stay. For the city itself; don't forget your Lonely Planet guide and certainly go equipped with an open mind!

Room Tip: When booking, be specific about your needs and requirements
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Moullaoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moullaoud

Also Known As:
Riad Moullaoud Hotel Marrakech
Riad Moullaoud Hotel
Address: 33 derb Guessaba El kebir | EL Moukkef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Moullaoud 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored recently, The Riad Moullaoud is located in the heart of the charming and fascinating medina of Marrakech. It has been preserved in all his authenticity, a simple style with purity of lines. At About 2 minutes walk from the exciting must-see old markets (souks), just near the Ben Youssef Medersa, and 7 minutes from the famous Jemaâ El Fna square, but also near the Royal Golf and the Amelkis Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad Moullaoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Moullaoud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Moullaoud to your Saves list