We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good riad on nice location in the old souks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moullaoud

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Moullaoud to your Saves list
Riad Moullaoud
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 derb Guessaba El kebir | EL Moukkef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #405 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good riad on nice location in the old souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, enjoyed the full week. not too close to the square, but never a dull walk between square and riad. on hottest part of the day, its nice being in one of the pools on the roof. Close to place moqf (moukef), many smaall workshops, shops and other riads in the neighboorhood.simple breakfast made of bread, fruit, fruitjuice and coffee served on the roof terrace to start the day. hammam in possible in rad, but is expensive. suggest to go ask around in area for hammam for less expensive price. atmosphere in hotel in absolutely relaxed with many nice seats and corners to relax. Wifi isnt available in all rooms, but in lobby only. had a really nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    56
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
28
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

If I could award 6 stars to this place I would! The place its self is a work of art full full of water features and traditional Moroccan art work. I cannot praise the staff enough for how welcoming and humble they all are, I'm sure if a problem was to have risen I'm sure they would have gone above and beyond to correct it. We ate dinner here twice and the food was always top quality and being able to eat on the rooftop always made it that much more special! We are already planning to visit riad Moullaoud in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This Riad is absolutely wonderful !. Tranquil, peaceful, beautifully and tastefully furnished and staffed by very pleasant, attentive and superb staff. Our room was wonderful and kept clean on a daily basis with clean towels each day. The roof top terrace with views across the old Medina is wonderful, making dining there a great experience. No request was too much for the staff and we were served with nothing but friendliness and courtesy.

Staying anywhere in the Medina ( old town ) can be a daunting experience for some, but when inside the Riad Moullaoud it is a calming world of tranquility compared to the lively hustle and bustle of the streets and alleys outside. - HIGHLY RECOMENDED - !

RICHARD & BARBARA - SOUTHAMPTON UK

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms may have more noise from Roof Top Terrace, e.g. when cleaning terrace or moving t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The title was my daughters quote concerning our arrival at this Riad. Lots of attention to detail in this place, very well laid out and wonderful decor. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the rooms very comfortable. Neither my wife nor I were very keen on the "open" toilet which shared space with the sink and shower with no enclosure. If you want to eat dinner here you need to make your reservation at breakfast (I missed that part) - without the reservation, there was "No room at the inn" although the restaraunt about 200 meters down the alley was more than acceptable. Breakfast, sunning, pool and jacuzzi available on the roof. Georgous at night, eye opening by day (Marrakech that is...). I'd stay here again - it was MAGICAL!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Upon setting foot through the wooden door, we realised we had made a fantastic choice. Leaving behind the door the hustle and bussle of Marrakech it was incredibly peaceful and quiet once inside with very little noise.

The staff are friendly and informative with both the manager and assistant manager speaking fluent English.

The Riad is on various floors, each unique as were the hotel rooms. The bedroom we stayed in was really spacious. Great bed, free air conditioning and a clean bathroom and shower area.

On the top of the Riad is a terrace where breakfast is served overlooking the city. Here are various sun loungers, sitting areas and tables to relax and enjoy the sun.

Food in the Riad was excellent. You can choose on the morning whether you will stay in for dinner and each day something different is served. The food is plentiful and authentic.

A ten minute walk will find you in the main square and from there pretty much everything is on offer.

Overall I coul not fault the hotel at all. If I were to travel to Marrakech again I would definately stay here again.

Food, staff and value is 100%.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as a family of four, mother, sister, daughter and myself. The transfer to and from the airport was booked through the Riad. You cannot be dropped off directly outside the Riad as the streets are too narrow, a young man met us and helped us to the Riad with our luggage. He did ask for a tip but unfortunately at this point we had no cash, our plan was to tip on our departure but we had a different person. On arriving at the Riad It was like stepping into an oasis, with the smell of orange blossom and the sound of water. The decor and furniture was beautiful, a real mixture of Morrocan and French, I have never stayed somewhere so unusual. A refreshing change from your normal large hotels. We had reserved 2 twin rooms but on arrival was told that only a double and twin was available, a twin room would not become available until the evening. Me and my daughter decided to take a look at the double and agreed to it there and then. We stayed in the 'Coupole' room which has a four poster bed and a large open ensuite. The open ensuite isn't ideal but there is so many areas to sit and read, sunbathe or watch tv, whilst the other person showers so it wasn't a huge problem for us. My mother and sister stayed in the 'Orient Express' which is situated up on the terrace, in comparison to our room it was very basic but they were happy enough with it. Ismael was very helpful and gave us a map with directions to the square. He did tell us that if we got lost there is always young boys willing to show us the way back but they do expect paying and that its best to agree a price first. We also realised that initially they will try and direct you in the wrong direction and then offer their help. We did do this once on the first night, and we paid a boy 20 Dirham (about £1.60) but after that we did manage between us to find our way back to the Riad. We felt safe the whole time we were there. Breakfast consisted of pastries, breads, orange juice and coffee served up on the terrace looking out at the Atlas mountains. My only complaint was there seemed to be a really bad wasp problem, so rather than breakfast being a relaxing affair, we tended to eat it as quick as we could with serviettes placed over all the food. For convenience we ate lunch at the hotel a couple of times and sampled one of their delicious cakes. Eating in the souks and the square is very cheap, we tended to eat there most days and return to the hotel for a few bottles of wine. We also had lovely massages at the hotel. The hotel provides towels and straw hats for sunbathing on the terrace. The staff were very nice and friendly and when the owner arrived, he came and introduced himself. We also liked that we pretty much had the rooms until we checked out. We all agreed that should we return to Marrakech then we would not hesitate in booking this Riad. Also worth a mention, the guys that work in the herbalist shop a few metres down from the Riad on the left hand side. (we also used this as a landmark) Very friendly and if you get lost, or want directions ask them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This wonderful Riad is beautifully decorated with the colors and objects of Morocco.
It has small and very cute living rooms which give you the option to enjoy your drink in front of a fire place or next to one of the small but beautiful pools.
The delicious breakfast is served at the top of the Riad from where you can enjoy the view of the medina (Marrakesh )
We stayed at the Rubin suite a wonderful room and as we had the opportunity to see also other rooms, they were all beautiful and each one had its own character.
The staff very polite and makes you feel like at home.
The location of the Riad is very good, close to the Marrakesh museum and the beginning of the souks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Moullaoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moullaoud

Address: 33 derb Guessaba El kebir | EL Moukkef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Moullaoud 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Riad is located in central Marrakesh, in the Medina and a 10-minute walk to Jamaa El Fna Square. It has 3 swimming pools, a hammam and a panoramic roof terrace. Each of the Riad De Charme's guest rooms has a private bathroom and free Wi-Fi internet access. The Moullaoud's restaurant serves traditional, regional cuisine which can be enjoyed on the hotel terrace and patio. Guests of the Riad De Charme can enjoy massage treatment and relax in the Hammam or on the sunbathing terrace. Golf is available nearby. Riad De Charme Moullaoud is just a 2-minute walk from old markets, souks and guests can visit the nearby Ben Youssef Medersa, and Jemaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Moullaoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Moullaoud Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Moullaoud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.