We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Magical"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moullaoud

Save Saved
You added Riad Moullaoud to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Moullaoud
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 derb Guessaba El kebir | EL Moukkef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #424 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“"Magical"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The title was my daughters quote concerning our arrival at this Riad. Lots of attention to detail in this place, very well laid out and wonderful decor. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the rooms very comfortable. Neither my wife nor I were very keen on the "open" toilet which shared space with the sink and shower with no enclosure. If you want to eat dinner here you need to make your reservation at breakfast (I missed that part) - without the reservation, there was "No room at the inn" although the restaraunt about 200 meters down the alley was more than acceptable. Breakfast, sunning, pool and jacuzzi available on the roof. Georgous at night, eye opening by day (Marrakech that is...). I'd stay here again - it was MAGICAL!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    52
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
27
102
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

Upon setting foot through the wooden door, we realised we had made a fantastic choice. Leaving behind the door the hustle and bussle of Marrakech it was incredibly peaceful and quiet once inside with very little noise.

The staff are friendly and informative with both the manager and assistant manager speaking fluent English.

The Riad is on various floors, each unique as were the hotel rooms. The bedroom we stayed in was really spacious. Great bed, free air conditioning and a clean bathroom and shower area.

On the top of the Riad is a terrace where breakfast is served overlooking the city. Here are various sun loungers, sitting areas and tables to relax and enjoy the sun.

Food in the Riad was excellent. You can choose on the morning whether you will stay in for dinner and each day something different is served. The food is plentiful and authentic.

A ten minute walk will find you in the main square and from there pretty much everything is on offer.

Overall I coul not fault the hotel at all. If I were to travel to Marrakech again I would definately stay here again.

Food, staff and value is 100%.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as a family of four, mother, sister, daughter and myself. The transfer to and from the airport was booked through the Riad. You cannot be dropped off directly outside the Riad as the streets are too narrow, a young man met us and helped us to the Riad with our luggage. He did ask for a tip but unfortunately at this point we had no cash, our plan was to tip on our departure but we had a different person. On arriving at the Riad It was like stepping into an oasis, with the smell of orange blossom and the sound of water. The decor and furniture was beautiful, a real mixture of Morrocan and French, I have never stayed somewhere so unusual. A refreshing change from your normal large hotels. We had reserved 2 twin rooms but on arrival was told that only a double and twin was available, a twin room would not become available until the evening. Me and my daughter decided to take a look at the double and agreed to it there and then. We stayed in the 'Coupole' room which has a four poster bed and a large open ensuite. The open ensuite isn't ideal but there is so many areas to sit and read, sunbathe or watch tv, whilst the other person showers so it wasn't a huge problem for us. My mother and sister stayed in the 'Orient Express' which is situated up on the terrace, in comparison to our room it was very basic but they were happy enough with it. Ismael was very helpful and gave us a map with directions to the square. He did tell us that if we got lost there is always young boys willing to show us the way back but they do expect paying and that its best to agree a price first. We also realised that initially they will try and direct you in the wrong direction and then offer their help. We did do this once on the first night, and we paid a boy 20 Dirham (about £1.60) but after that we did manage between us to find our way back to the Riad. We felt safe the whole time we were there. Breakfast consisted of pastries, breads, orange juice and coffee served up on the terrace looking out at the Atlas mountains. My only complaint was there seemed to be a really bad wasp problem, so rather than breakfast being a relaxing affair, we tended to eat it as quick as we could with serviettes placed over all the food. For convenience we ate lunch at the hotel a couple of times and sampled one of their delicious cakes. Eating in the souks and the square is very cheap, we tended to eat there most days and return to the hotel for a few bottles of wine. We also had lovely massages at the hotel. The hotel provides towels and straw hats for sunbathing on the terrace. The staff were very nice and friendly and when the owner arrived, he came and introduced himself. We also liked that we pretty much had the rooms until we checked out. We all agreed that should we return to Marrakech then we would not hesitate in booking this Riad. Also worth a mention, the guys that work in the herbalist shop a few metres down from the Riad on the left hand side. (we also used this as a landmark) Very friendly and if you get lost, or want directions ask them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This wonderful Riad is beautifully decorated with the colors and objects of Morocco.
It has small and very cute living rooms which give you the option to enjoy your drink in front of a fire place or next to one of the small but beautiful pools.
The delicious breakfast is served at the top of the Riad from where you can enjoy the view of the medina (Marrakesh )
We stayed at the Rubin suite a wonderful room and as we had the opportunity to see also other rooms, they were all beautiful and each one had its own character.
The staff very polite and makes you feel like at home.
The location of the Riad is very good, close to the Marrakesh museum and the beginning of the souks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

At the very last minute and having discovered this Riad through Trip Advisor, I can safely say we felt more comfortable and well looked after than we could ever have imagined. They accomodated our every wish and whim as we came and went from Marrakech to travel all around Morocco and each and every room we stayed in was enchanting. Such a warm welcome at all times was gratefully received, especially the night we had driven back from the desert, over the mountain passes - and to a late and last minute fantastic home cooked tagine. I can't tell you my relief when unable to break my journey Ismael found a room, a meal and a parking space right outside the hotel for us to return to and alerted our friends already staying that they would be welcome to join us for a fantastic reunion made possible! Thank you. I truly believe that any problem would not be too much for the staff to handle!! All the staff were so charming, accomodating and above all fun to chat to, sharing information about places and interest and pride in how our travels around their beautiful country had been. I felt that the Riad was excellently situated, just a little north of the main Souks, a short walk to allow you to experience the real and vibrant Marrakech. Close to an excellent restaurant that they recommend called Le Foundouk. I can certainly recommend this charming Riad, and definately look at the pictures on the website to give you a flavour of the vibrance and yet peacefullness of this extroadinary Oasis behind the streets of Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

We have spent 4 nights in this lovely Riad and are planning to come back! The people managing the Riad are extremely nice, the rooms are beautiful and well equipped. The fact that the toilet/shower is an 'open space' in the room could bother some people, it didn't bother us at all.
The Riad is situated in the north of the medina, about 10 minutes from the 'jamaa fna', it's a popular area, far from the tourists - something we found refreshing. About 80m from the Riad, on your left, the excellent restaurant 'Al Foundouk' will serve you excellent food and wine...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The riad is at the top end of the souks, an ideal location for exploring. The roof terrace was lovely both in the daytime and in the evenings. The pools are small but big enough to cool off in. We booked a standard double (cheapest) room for 4 night. The room was small but we only wanted it for sleeping in so this didnt matter to us. It had its own bathroom but it was open plan to the room, the room also had air con. The decor of our room was white and simple, but some of the lager rooms and suits were beautiful. Clean throughout. The staff were very helpful and polite. The breakfast was orange juice, coffee, fruit, a selection of breads and jams, nothing fancy but good and filling.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room if you plan on spending lots of time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Moullaoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moullaoud

Address: 33 derb Guessaba El kebir | EL Moukkef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Moullaoud 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Riad is located in central Marrakesh, in the Medina and a 10-minute walk to Jamaa El Fna Square. It has 3 swimming pools, a hammam and a panoramic roof terrace. Each of the Riad De Charme's guest rooms has a private bathroom and free Wi-Fi internet access. The Moullaoud's restaurant serves traditional, regional cuisine which can be enjoyed on the hotel terrace and patio. Guests of the Riad De Charme can enjoy massage treatment and relax in the Hammam or on the sunbathing terrace. Golf is available nearby. Riad De Charme Moullaoud is just a 2-minute walk from old markets, souks and guests can visit the nearby Ben Youssef Medersa, and Jemaa El Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Moullaoud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Moullaoud Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Moullaoud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.