We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice Riad with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Coq Fou

Save Saved
You added Riad Le Coq Fou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Le Coq Fou
44, derb Assabanne | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 1,028 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice Riad with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a really great time in this Riad in Marrakech, stayed several days and have slept in different rooms. The terrasse is great to hang out at night, the staff is really willing to help you with booking trips or to help you with transport.

Tip: 1) at arrival book the airport transport od the Riad, the caps can't stop right in front, cause it is in the medina, you save yourself a lot of searching if you book the cap ahead, and from the airport it is all the same price anyhow. 2) choose one of the rooms upstairs, there is one room downstairs this is the noisiest one (still cosy, but just if you have the choice)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rimavska Sobota, Slovakia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

we were 2 girls stays for 5 nights in fossile room.before you go, write down the contact number in case you dont know the exact time of your arrival. when we arrived Youssef-the receptionist welcomed us with great mint tea and explained everything about marrakech. The riad looked amazing, nice style, the rooms very comfy and traditional, the terrase was spectacular!! every day we had complimentary tea and any problem we had- the stuff tried to help us. the were very friendly including the owner and cleaning ladies. the two receptionists (even the third one from the riad next door) were caring, helpful and friendly. the breakfast was very good fresh and tasty! its close to the centre, just 10-15min from the square.they arranged a free shuttle. would definitely recommend

Room Tip: fossile room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

we loved our time in this house.
- location: not so hard to find, very peaceful inside, dont get to hear prayer calling too loud
- staff: beshir explained sights and how to get to everywhere very clearly once we arrived; he showed up during breakfast and near dinner time to see if we needed him for anything and left us for privacy during most of the time (important, because at some other guesthouses the staff might seem to be too "hard-sell" i.e. wanting to bring you to their friends' stores to buy carpets etc); Layla is a very adorable, passionate, and kind lady. we love her warmth while talking to us, making us feel like a family (we left in a hurry and felt very bad that we forgot to take a picture with her :( Another staff, youssef, whom we didn't get to interact much also is a polite and helpful guy, just whenever we asked him about directions, taxi fare, those kind of things.
- breakfast was huge, Layla is very generous on the portion and pays attention to what you eat and not eat. she will give you more of what you ate the previous day :)
- house is cute and very clean. terrace and sun beds are very nice. it was too hot to go up there during the day. so we only went up to see amazing sunset and chatted looking up to the starry night at midnight.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The walk to the Riad was rather different, I mean small streets and definitely a difficult place to find. I would suggest booking the taxi service provided by the hotel trust me it's worth it. You don't want to get lost in Marakech, people will try to help you and if you fall for that they will then demand money. Even Bashir and Yousuf warned us about that. Bashir personally came and picked us up from the taxi and walked us to the Riad. Yousuf takes care of the place in the evenings. They both were great! On arrival Bashir drew us some maps of places to visit and things to see, they take their time in doing that which is perfect. Loved the mint teas served in unlimited quantities at any time of the day and night. Leyla and Fatima were also great making sure we were comfortable during our stay. Loved the breakfast! We even had dinner at the hotel Terrace which was set up with candles creamery cozy atmosphere. Loved it! One night I had a bad throat and Yusuf made me some hot tea... He is absolutely wonderful and goes above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Overall a home away from home.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent a wonderful 5 days at the riad le coq fou in November. The owners could not have been more helpful, collecting us on arrival, drawing maps so we could find our way round the medina, just outside the front door and always interested in our day and plans. The hotel was small and beautiful, we had a private internal terrace overlooking the courtyard where we ate wonderful breakfasts, and access to a beautiful roof terrace where we drank wine in the warm evening sunshine and listened to the calls to prayer from the mosques. We loved this hotel, intend to go back and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

It's a wonderful place situated in La Medina, with very friendly people, very nice and I complete and very good breakfast. Fantastic. A 10!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a wonderful three night stay at Le Coq Fou in April, 2011. The rooms were nice: we have three children (14, 11, 6) and the layout was perfect, with a small private courtyard and table between the kids' rooms and ours. The roof is amazing with great flowers. Best of all, however, was the service. Our travel plans changed; we left a bag in the desert hundreds of kilometers away; we needed other assistance, and Mohammed helped with everything. We even got our bag back. He was fantastic. The other staff were also great, but did not speak English. Thanks for a wonderful visit!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Le Coq Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Coq Fou

Address: 44, derb Assabanne | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 1,028 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Le Coq Fou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Coq Fou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.