We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect oasis of calm in the bustle of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Coq Fou

Save Saved
You added Riad Le Coq Fou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Le Coq Fou
44, derb Assabanne | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #243 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect oasis of calm in the bustle of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent a wonderful 5 days at the riad le coq fou in November. The owners could not have been more helpful, collecting us on arrival, drawing maps so we could find our way round the medina, just outside the front door and always interested in our day and plans. The hotel was small and beautiful, we had a private internal terrace overlooking the courtyard where we ate wonderful breakfasts, and access to a beautiful roof terrace where we drank wine in the warm evening sunshine and listened to the calls to prayer from the mosques. We loved this hotel, intend to go back and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
49
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

It's a wonderful place situated in La Medina, with very friendly people, very nice and I complete and very good breakfast. Fantastic. A 10!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a wonderful three night stay at Le Coq Fou in April, 2011. The rooms were nice: we have three children (14, 11, 6) and the layout was perfect, with a small private courtyard and table between the kids' rooms and ours. The roof is amazing with great flowers. Best of all, however, was the service. Our travel plans changed; we left a bag in the desert hundreds of kilometers away; we needed other assistance, and Mohammed helped with everything. We even got our bag back. He was fantastic. The other staff were also great, but did not speak English. Thanks for a wonderful visit!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

If You are looking for true hospitality, a calm hide away and the most delicious Moroccain breakfast in Marrakech stop Your search in here. Not one second we needed to feel unsafe or unwanted in Riad Le coq fou. The breakfasts on the rooftop teracce were unforgettable; home made youghurt, pancakes and other delicasies. Thank You Fulvio and his excellent team!
Ps. An insider tip for dinner in the square; try out the stall number 14.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our second visit to Marrakech and the Riad Le Coq Fou. We were met at the end of the medina by Lahcen the manager of the riad. This time he had a man with a barrow with him for our luggage! But we did have to tip him. A short walk brought us to the riad and we were made very welcome by the staff. What a great start! Throughout our week's stay we were looked after royally. Nothing was too much trouble - I could use the internet whenever I wanted to, foc. Breakfasts were delicious, as much coffee as we wanted, whenever we asked. I would recommend this riad to anyone - no pool, no fancy extras but the care and attention by the staff was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in Marrakech and Le Coq Fou made it a pleasure - when you've had enough of people, retire to the roof top terrace for some evening bliss (don't forget to bring your own duty free gin!). When we tell our friends tales of our travels, this ryad is one of the special places.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Riad Le Coq Fou is a quaint guesthouse very close to the souks of Marrakech. On first visit it is not an easy find and worth enquiring if you can be collected at the airport or somewhere central and shown to where it is.
The entrance alleyway might seem a little dark but don't let this put you off. Riad Le Coq Fou is very functional, well designed with air conditioning and fabulous roof terrace.
The staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean and cosy.
Breakfast is bread, cakes and coffee and evening meals are optional.
Unfortunately maps of Marrakech in general don't correspond to the streets in this area and you have to travel their by foot. But it is only 10 or 15 mins walk from the main square. We did get lost on our first night and a man approached us as lots do and offered to walk us back. He then tried to charge us 20 euro for doing so but after discussion and refusal to pay was happy with 10 euro. After this we became very aware of what was the right amount to offer and tip etc and once you feel comfortable talking to those around you and feel that you're not being taken advantage of this is a fabulous city and one which has endless delights and amazing things to see. We will definitely be back and are very grateful to the staff at Le Coq Fou for their kind hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Le Coq Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Coq Fou

Address: 44, derb Assabanne | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Le Coq Fou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Coq Fou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.