We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Raid, Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Le Coq Fou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Le Coq Fou to your Saves list
Riad Le Coq Fou
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ryad Laarouss | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 1,136 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
berlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Raid, Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had a wonderful three night stay at Le Coq Fou in April, 2011. The rooms were nice: we have three children (14, 11, 6) and the layout was perfect, with a small private courtyard and table between the kids' rooms and ours. The roof is amazing with great flowers. Best of all, however, was the service. Our travel plans changed; we left a bag in the desert hundreds of kilometers away; we needed other assistance, and Mohammed helped with everything. We even got our bag back. He was fantastic. The other staff were also great, but did not speak English. Thanks for a wonderful visit!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

If You are looking for true hospitality, a calm hide away and the most delicious Moroccain breakfast in Marrakech stop Your search in here. Not one second we needed to feel unsafe or unwanted in Riad Le coq fou. The breakfasts on the rooftop teracce were unforgettable; home made youghurt, pancakes and other delicasies. Thank You Fulvio and his excellent team!
Ps. An insider tip for dinner in the square; try out the stall number 14.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Stewart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was our second visit to Marrakech and the Riad Le Coq Fou. We were met at the end of the medina by Lahcen the manager of the riad. This time he had a man with a barrow with him for our luggage! But we did have to tip him. A short walk brought us to the riad and we were made very welcome by the staff. What a great start! Throughout our week's stay we were looked after royally. Nothing was too much trouble - I could use the internet whenever I wanted to, foc. Breakfasts were delicious, as much coffee as we wanted, whenever we asked. I would recommend this riad to anyone - no pool, no fancy extras but the care and attention by the staff was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in Marrakech and Le Coq Fou made it a pleasure - when you've had enough of people, retire to the roof top terrace for some evening bliss (don't forget to bring your own duty free gin!). When we tell our friends tales of our travels, this ryad is one of the special places.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Riad Le Coq Fou is a quaint guesthouse very close to the souks of Marrakech. On first visit it is not an easy find and worth enquiring if you can be collected at the airport or somewhere central and shown to where it is.
The entrance alleyway might seem a little dark but don't let this put you off. Riad Le Coq Fou is very functional, well designed with air conditioning and fabulous roof terrace.
The staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean and cosy.
Breakfast is bread, cakes and coffee and evening meals are optional.
Unfortunately maps of Marrakech in general don't correspond to the streets in this area and you have to travel their by foot. But it is only 10 or 15 mins walk from the main square. We did get lost on our first night and a man approached us as lots do and offered to walk us back. He then tried to charge us 20 euro for doing so but after discussion and refusal to pay was happy with 10 euro. After this we became very aware of what was the right amount to offer and tip etc and once you feel comfortable talking to those around you and feel that you're not being taken advantage of this is a fabulous city and one which has endless delights and amazing things to see. We will definitely be back and are very grateful to the staff at Le Coq Fou for their kind hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Le Coq Fou is a wonderful oasis that just has this warm welcome feel to it. Excellent service and staff!!!

If you take a taxi from the airport (15-20 euros) depending on how much the taxi drivers feel like hustling you for, you’ll be dropped off at the Phamarcie Populaire. Walk down the road, and turn right once you past the line of shops and get to a “clearing”. It was a bit hard to find at first, but after you turn right, go through the alleyways until you find #40 with a tiny sign “Coq Fou”. The riad has its own shuttle service too. I would recommend taking the shuttle upon arriving. It’s worth the extra few Euros.

Larsen greeted us at the door and once we walked in, it was absolute peaceful and calming. The housekeeper (sorry I forgot her name!) spoke limited English, but was very kind and friendly and served us mint tea when we arrived.

Our room (“Of the Fossils”) was on the ground floor that opened to the courtyard. The A/C worked so nicely in the hot weather, there's free wi-fi, the room and bathroom were clean (although one of the towels smelled). The doors and windows aren’t sealed completely (it used to be a house), so it was a different experience for us staying at a riad, especially our ground floor bedroom, because you can definitely hear what’s going on outside and in the morning when other guests are having their breakfast.

The only complaint I have is that when we checked in, they were looking for the key to our room. (Our room already has a door latch that closes the door, but no key to lock the door). When we asked a second time if they found the key, Larsen said the previous guest lost the key. We still had the key to the front door of the riad itself, but if there were untrustworthy guests or unwelcomed visitors, anybody could have just walked in and out of our room. But, we accepted it and just tried to trust the riad and the employees.

The rooftop terrace was intimate and cozy. A great place to hang out during the day and take a break from the overpowering heat and sightseeing. At night, it was a beautiful experience to listen to the prayers from the mosque. We also met other guests as well as guests from the other connecting riad Le Coq Berber who are the same owners and where Larsen works also. He saw us one night and brought us complimentary coke and water. Very nice.

The riad is right is at the northern part of the medina, near the middle of the souks. The paths may be confusing at first to the Djemaa el Fna, but just ask the store owners for directions. Do NOT accept help from the locals who suddenly appear and walk with you and act as your friend. They will ask for money. Asking the store owners is a better way because they can’t leave their stalls.

We also tried to come back to the riad early (10pm or earlier) because the streets become more deserted and darker and I’m not sure how safe it can be. I’m sure if you’re traveling in a large group, it should be fine.

I would say if you are a bit on the adventurous side and don’t mind being amidst the hustle and bustle of the medina and occasionally being asked for money, then this place is definitely worth the money. The medina can be a bit overwhelming and the streets confusing. Know what kind of traveler you are. If you are the adventurous type who doesn’t mind getting lost and roaming streets as part of the experience, then it’s worth it to stay in Medina. If you are the type of traveler who likes organized tours, top notch amenities, and aren’t as adventurous, then this may not be the place for you.

If I come back, I would definitely stay here again. The whole experience here was great!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouddorp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed in Le Coq Fou:it was basic ,clean and had further all you need for a pleasant stay in Marrakech.
You could always sit somewhere in the riad during the day on a cool place.Airco in the room was excellent!
We enjoyed our stay there very much,though the entrance outside the riad was a bit shabby.
The relation between price and quality was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#41 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Charai
Riad Charai
#217 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Le Coq Berbere
Riad Le Coq Berbere
#223 of 1,136 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#67 of 1,136 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zamzam Riad
Zamzam Riad
#36 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Coq Fou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Coq Fou

Address: Ryad Laarouss | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 1,136 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Coq Fou 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coq Fou is a traditional Moroccan house with a patio in the center and fountain. It has a lovely terrace with a breathtaking view and a solarium. At sunset you can enjoy aperitifs followed by delicious dinners typically Moroccan. It is connected through the terrace with the twin Coq Berbere and together can accommodate up to 27 people with a total of 11 rooms and suites. An oasis of peace in the bustle of the Marrakech's medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Le Coq Fou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Le Coq Fou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.