We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad des Eaux et Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad des Eaux et Spa to your Saves list
Riad des Eaux et Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Derb Lakhadar | Riad Zitoun Lakdim Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Upon arrival we were welcomed with mint tea & pastries and a demand for more money!
We had paid for our holiday in full at the time of booking and had a receipt which confirmed this. They insisted that we had to pay another 25 dirhams per person per night as a local "tax", previous reviewers have commented on this. On reading the notice in the room it appears to be the commission which the hotel pays to the booking agents. At the end of our stay they did not ask for the money as we had made our position clear. The description of the riad showed satellite tv, only the cables were present in the room. There were 3 hair driers to service all the rooms which took a number of requests to obtain. The staff were friendly but if you are expecting modern hotel standards this is not for you. There were no facilities to make a hot drink and the safe was small and easily portable & not even secured to the wardrobe shelf. The bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable we have encountered anywhere and the slope made it evident that the mattress had not been turned for some time. Washbasins were cracked and the plumbing basic, the taps were more like valves and the spouts were bent copper pipe The room was dark and the rugs faded. The positive is the location within a couple of hundred metres of the main square however this means a long trundle down alleys with the cases avoiding mopeds.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Dec 2012 we had the junior suite for four nights. The room was lovely looking with two sofas, sunken bath/shower, mini fridge and tv with satellite. There were also built in wardrobes and plenty of cupboard space.

Location was fantastic, three mins walk to the main square and all its attractions and despite being in the middle of the city it was remarkably peaceful and relaxing.

We didn't eat at the hotel; apart from breakfast which was the standard Moroccan fare of hard boiled eggs, fruit juice, yoghurt and an assortment of bread based products and preserves.

Reception area and courtyard were very pretty and the spa area looked nice and smelled wonderful. Hammam and various treatments were available but hubby and I are not too keen so didn't try them.

The roof terrace was furnished with a couple of loungers, plenty of low chairs and tables and a high table we used to play cards in the morning sun.

Wifi didn't work in the room but if you put your wifi device on the open widow sill it worked fine or better still sat on the rooftop terrace.

The pool is on the ground floor, behind the courtyard and is very small, more of a plunge pool than for swimming. We didn't fancy a dip as there were only upholstered chairs in the courtyard to sit and dry off on. So we guessed you had to walk, dripping wet back to your room. No fun with a winding uneven stone staircase but the pool did look very attractive.

Likes:

Location
Sunken shower
Large bright and airy room
Roof terrace

Dislikes:

Incredibly hard bed that was dome shaped
Only one plug for TV or Satellite neither work without the other but I don't think the satellite works anyway

Room Tip: Standard rooms looked very small with the bed pushed against the wall and little walking around room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great and friendly Raid, two minutes away from the main square. Brilliant location. An oasis of calm. Very attentive and friendly service. Food amazing. Each mornign we were served fresh orange juice, bolied egg, youghurt, crepes and Moroccan bread with butter and jam. On our last night we ate a meal the Raid we had ordered a tangine but they brought out a 3 course meal of fresh salad an melon and grapes for afterwards. The riad also has a massage parlour and I had a really good massage! The staff do speak some English , was really useful that I spoke French too! Definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Have a massage and a meal at the Riad! Excellent service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Lets start with the location - if you want earthy, local experience then this has it all - inaccessible by car, a chap with a wheelbarrow took our luggage down the side streets, the last being too narrow to get down other than on foot. A 5 minute walk from the main square - great in the day, if you dodge the mopeds, but a bit scary at night and I could have done without being offered hash for the umpteenth time outside the riad. The welcome couldn't be faulted and we had a lovely cup of tea before being given the "tour". It's rustic. The 'pool' we were shown was marginally bigger than 3 domestic baths shoved together. The place was clean and tidy enough. The roof terrace was compact shall we say but it looked all very lovely. Our room was just not for us - I think we had looked at the better room pics on this site and assumed that they would all be as nice - the WC and bath (the interior of which was mud brown in colour) were separated from the bed by a curtain; sorry just not my idea of a nice experience. The previous guest had taken the one key with them so our room was insecure, there was a safe so at least our small valuables could be locked away. The following day some workmen were replacing the lock when we returned to our room after a walk.
Breakfast was very nice, and the staff helpful - their spoken English not great but then why should it be, our poor French was worse, but between the two we all got by. We decided that it really wasn't the place or the location for us.; fortunately the free wifi was just that so we organised another hotel with more European amenities & standards for the remainder of our stay. We left mid morning but there was no one of any standing to speak to as we left, as we didn't want to give the impression that there was anything wrong per se. But we couldn't communicate that and so departed, leaving a bemused member of staff behind.
In summary if you want it raw and traditional, then I'm sure you'll like it; but if you want something polished, then no, I'd give it a miss. And as for 4 or 5 stars, I'm sorry I couldn't conceive of any scale where more than 2 or 3 would be an honest reflection.

Room Tip: Contact the riad direct and describe which one you want from their photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 7nights. Booked superior room through hotels4u, when reading room facilities it says tv, water garden, comfortable furnishings and modern amenities it had none of the above. The room had no cupboards, no bath but instead an old shower. I fell of the chair twice, bed was as hard as rocks. Breakfast was same everyday, we had 2 ask reception to clean our room after it had not been cleaned for three days. Had to ask reception for toilet paper everytime we ran out. Hotel is in heart of jama el fna so shops and restaurants near by but locals are very rude and didn't not make us feel welcome. When we questioned hotel why they clearly state that room includes tv,all they could say was sorry. Would not recommend anyone to stay in a riad unless you know what to expect or you'll be very disapointed. Hotel only has 5rooms and is more like a 2star then a 4star.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kader F, Responsable relations clients at Riad des Eaux et Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear ASMELLA KOSAR & Bashir Mohamed Chazad.
Before we get started, we really appologize for the delay of our responding, even though we don't respond to all comments individually, we regularly read analyze and act on our customer feedback, what we all hope to improve the quality of our service .
My biggest gripe is that you shall call a responsable to face all those challenges, you choose keep quite.
I remember your first day, your wife criticized all because she was in bad mood because she didn't know or outward journey with Marrakech.
concerning your room you must leave your key, when you didn't call upon chambermaid the receptionniste ask you whether you want to make your room. you accept but you follow the house keeping one by one like saying "this lady is a thief and according to our law we should stone her to death" after you never leave your key . you never allowed the woman to make your room that why you require toilet paper.
for chairs no body complaints and this room is the most wished by all our guests, these parts are bought of Africa. so please i don't agree with you , the bath is traditionnal moroccan hammam style you can't understand.
Breadfast is not the same every day .
so please, we accept based arguments , no lies.
our riad is not 2 stars i can say better than five stars but its certainly more than 2 stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Friendly staff and manager.
Good breakfast.
Clean room.
Two streets from main square but peace and tranquility once inside.
No hard sell of trips.
Good price.
What's not to like ?????

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Des Eaux for 5 nights and overall we thought the place was lovely.

The hotel is located just far enough away from Jemaa El Fna square to make it quiet but just close enough to be an easy walk away (about 2 minutes). Our first impressions on arriving at around 8pm were good - we dropped our bags off and headed straight out to the square for some food. When we got back and had a chance to have a closer look at the room we did find a couple of minor issues:

We stayed in the Zen Cleopatre room and the toilet is only separated by a curtain - there was a bit of an odour but the bathroom was spotless.

The bed is VERY firm - if you like a soft mattress then you might not like it. We had a look in some of the other rooms and all the mattresses are the same....

The room was small but there was enough room for two of us.

Breakfast was great, especially considering what we were paying and consisted of fresh pancakes, bread, jam, butter, boiled eggs, yoghurt, fresh squeezed orange juice and strong coffee. We ate our breakfast at a table overlooking the courtyard. The staff were attentive and very friendly and we got the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble.

Some people have made reference to being woken up by the call to prayer in the morning - yes, you can hear it but what else to you expect??

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to one of the suites. The beds are the same but there is a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad des Eaux et Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Eaux et Spa

Address: 24 Derb Lakhadar | Riad Zitoun Lakdim Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad des Eaux et Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad des Eaux et Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Des Eaux Et Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad des Eaux et Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.