We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad des Eaux et Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad des Eaux et Spa to your Saves list
Riad des Eaux et Spa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Derb Lakhadar | Riad Zitoun Lakdim Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Friendly staff and manager.
Good breakfast.
Clean room.
Two streets from main square but peace and tranquility once inside.
No hard sell of trips.
Good price.
What's not to like ?????

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Des Eaux for 5 nights and overall we thought the place was lovely.

The hotel is located just far enough away from Jemaa El Fna square to make it quiet but just close enough to be an easy walk away (about 2 minutes). Our first impressions on arriving at around 8pm were good - we dropped our bags off and headed straight out to the square for some food. When we got back and had a chance to have a closer look at the room we did find a couple of minor issues:

We stayed in the Zen Cleopatre room and the toilet is only separated by a curtain - there was a bit of an odour but the bathroom was spotless.

The bed is VERY firm - if you like a soft mattress then you might not like it. We had a look in some of the other rooms and all the mattresses are the same....

The room was small but there was enough room for two of us.

Breakfast was great, especially considering what we were paying and consisted of fresh pancakes, bread, jam, butter, boiled eggs, yoghurt, fresh squeezed orange juice and strong coffee. We ate our breakfast at a table overlooking the courtyard. The staff were attentive and very friendly and we got the feeling that nothing would be too much trouble.

Some people have made reference to being woken up by the call to prayer in the morning - yes, you can hear it but what else to you expect??

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to one of the suites. The beds are the same but there is a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater MA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I read the reviews and I booked it on Expedia. I had them call and ensure that the hotel staff spoke English and since I was traveling solo I wanted to be able to rely on them to book shows or local tourist attractions. For the negatives, The staff couldn't have been any nicer but they do not speak English fluently. There was no way I could have them book attractions for me. I booked the smallest room which was fine but the broken toilet which leaked and was not pleasant smelling was a problem. They apparently don't take credit cards but are more than willing to take cash in any currency. The positives breakfast is included and great, the massage was wonderful, the staff were super, the room aside from the constantly leaking toilet was kept clean, the location amazing, the rate was reasonable. I think the location is worth it if you decide to upgrade your room and don't rely on the staff to provide information on local attratctions.

Room Tip: upgrade your room. do not book unless you speak french
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This has been a difficult review to write as the Riad des Eaux was a great place to stay but we had some serious customer service let downs that have deflated the rating I would otherwise have given. Let me explain.
On arrival we were picked up by car as arranged by the Riad and arrived OK. So far so good. After waiting for 20 minutes for the manager to arrive we were told we were to be taken to a bigger room. A guy arrived picked up our bag and told us to follow him. Before we knew it we were being marched through the souk and after a few minutes arrived at another Riad. I asked for an explanation as to what was happening and were told that they were full and we were to stay here instead. At first my complaints were brushed off as "not my problem, I didn't take your booking" After some heated negotiation it was agreed we would stay one night and then return to the Riad des Eaux the next day for the rest of our 5 night stay. Not the best start to our trip.

The remainder of our trip proved good. The riad is very conveniently located. It was clean, tidy and the rooms were well appointed. We enjoyed a hamam in the spa and the breakfast was good but pretty basic.

On the last day I was presented with the bill and told that the credit card machine was broken so I would have to pay by cash. In addition I queried the extra 250 DH that had been added to the total but wasn't on the bill. This was for the airport transfer. Well after a week in Marrakech I was well aware that this was at least double what I could negotiate a Taxi for probably 5 times as much as a local would pay. The staff member became quite rude and said that he has confirmed the price to me by e-mail and he would prove it. He brought up my previous e-mails but of course the price had never been mentioned. After pointing out the trouble and aggravation of having to move rooms and the credit card machine being "broken" He finally agreed to reduce the transfer fee to 150DH. The whole experience left a bitter taste and was such a shame as the place itself was nice.

My advice if staying here.
Be aware that the credit card machine will probably be "broken" so keep some cash in reserve.
Don't book an airport transfer unless you can agree a price in advance. Haggle hard for a Petit Taxi from the airport instead.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This riad is run by helpful, friendly and professional staff who made our 3-day stay very comfortable, telling us to treat is as we would our home. We had booked one of the smallest rooms but it was very nice and well-kept. Breakfast was excellent and we were able to eat on the roof terrace which is surprisingly peaceful considering the proximity to the main square bustle. The whole riad is a peaceful escape from the fast pace of the city.
The location was excellent - but warning, hard to find so arrange with the riad for a pick-up or pay a local to show you the way. However, you don't have to go through the souks to get to it like another riad we stayed in, so finding it again is very easy. It's less than 5 minutes from the main square and a few minutes in the other direction to the palaces and other attractions. We were greeted with a mint tea and left to relax whilst the room was prepared.
Would definitely stay here again on another visit to Marrakech. Did not take advantage of the spa but it looked well equipped and there were always staff around to show it to you.

Room Tip: The Zen room - small but well-kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights from the 9th of may 2011. We opted to be picked up from the airport by a taxi sent by road we were then met by a member of staff who walked us down the little winding streets to the road des eaux. We were greeted with refreshing mint tea and then given a full guided tour of riad showing all five beautiful rooms. We stayed in the roof top suite and couldn't fault it. The only negative was the tv was out of use but that wasn't an issue for us. We both had hammans and full body massages which were exceptional value for money, as were the fabulous coffees we had on the roof top terrace. We enjoyed fresh tasty yet simple breakfast every day . The peace and quite of the riad contrasted with the hustle and bustle of the square which is literally a street away. I can't wait to return thankyou all

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

I staied in Riad Des Eaux (Suite Des Eaux) in April 2011.

PROS:
The staff are very helpfull and friendly.
The room was very clean.
Location is good, very central (3min walk from Place Jmaa el Fna), in the first time it could be a little bit tricky to find the Riad, but once you find it, you wouldn t be lost. You can ask to a local where the Riad is (but in the end you have to give him a coin).
Breakfast is simple, but good, is served anytime you like.
The Room (Suite Des Eaux) is very spacy and could be there 4 persons. They have a little fridge in the room and Air conditioning. Plenty of windows.
They have a little SPA area.
Roof Top Terrace.

CONS:
Awake every day at 5am with the Pray Calls from Medina (Megaphones) that lasts 10min, because i staied in the Top Roof Suite, but i think in the other rooms didn t hear that.
They have free Wifi (but i couldn t use it inside the room, i have to get out the room to access web - common areas).
Satellite TV didn t work (but ok, in Marrakech you have plenty of things to do).
The Bath area is inside the Room (Suite Des Eaux), next to the bed, so if you go with friends it could be a little bit awkward to take bath. but If you go in a couple it s OK and could be romantic. The toilet area is separated (with door).

The room that like most was the Room Minérale, really amazing, it s smaller than the Suite, but have separate spaces for Bathroom/Room.
The Moucharabieh Room is also great with separate bathroom BUT without door for that. Rooms Zen are the smallest one, but they are nice and have a curtain to separate the bath/room.

I RECOMMEND this RIad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad des Eaux et Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad des Eaux et Spa

Address: 24 Derb Lakhadar | Riad Zitoun Lakdim Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad des Eaux et Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad des Eaux et Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Des Eaux Et Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad des Eaux et Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.