We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven in Morocco...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecolodge Quaryati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ecolodge Quaryati to your Saves list
Ecolodge Quaryati
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Douar Tounsi, Sidi Abdallah Ghiat | BP 548 Marrakech Principale, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of heaven in Morocco...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Me and my other half visited Morocco for the first time in May and after a loooooong trip from London Gatwick (we caught the flight just after 6am, shudder...), we arrived at the Ecolodge. We had arranged with Francoise to have a taxi pick us up from the airport which we were so grateful for after a long trip and the driver was great, very patient with us frantically looking around for an ATM too!

After coming away from the craziness of London life, to be greeted with biscuits and some delicious mint tea (which we both got absolutely hooked on whilst we visited) was simply divine. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and we loved our room. The hotel itself feels luxurious but also down-to-earth and it's simplicity was perfect for us. Warning: the pool is freezing but trust me, if you arrive in over 30 centigrade heat like we did, you'll be grateful for it. The place itself is also full of peacocks and very lovely cats who we enjoyed making friends with.

The food is really great and very reasonably priced. The first night we were there, we had the tagine and it was delicious! My boyfriend and I kept ordering this and the mint tea and loved sitting outside when we could in the evening. The staff and Francoise were very warm and genuine which made us feel so welcome! Francoise was incredibly helpful when we wanted to go into Marrakech itself, lending us a Lonely Planet book and even drawing on a map for us! The hotel is about half an hour from the hustle and bustle of Marrkech itself but believe me when I say, this is perfect: after visiting this bright and intense city, you are grateful for the peace and quiet to relax in afterwards.

Whilst we visited, we also booked a private Hammam for the two of us which was fabulous and very relaxing! My skin felt so smooth afterwards.

It's now June and, even after a month, my boyfriend and I are still recovering from our post-holiday blues that we had after leaving this place! We're already discussing returning and we can't wait! I really cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you to Francoise and all of her lovely staff for such a wonderful & romantic holiday! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    24
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Thankyou Francoise, for a lovely holiday!
Have just got back to the UK and am missing the lovely ecolodge quaryati already.
Just as others have said, beautiful grounds, friendly and polite staff, healthy and delicious food...
we did some trips while there - quad biking, trips to medina.... but were also grateful to return to the tranquillity of the grounds.
We will be back!
Angela and family

Room Tip: They all seemed lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our stay comprised 7 days 20–27 December, the first time we had been away for Christmas since we were married back in the mists of last century. We had neither of us been to Maroc, nor even to Africa, and had no real idea what to expect.

In the dark, Quaryati Lodge seemed a long, long way up a bumpy track from the main road but our cab driver (ordered ahead of time, a good idea) hung tough and we were relieved and delighted to arrive.

It all made better sense the following morning. Our apartment was comfortable and spacious enough, the main building welcoming and stylish with its open log fire in the evening, the staff as helpful as could be, and the grounds a delight. The view from the roof puts the location into context, and at dusk the effect of the sun's last rays splashing the peaks of the snow-covered high Atlas to the SW quite spectacular

Ours was pretty much a hideaway holiday and if this is what you're after, I cannot recommend it strongly enough. Even so, dinner on Christmas Eve, in the French style, was very jolly with several very different anglophone couples getting on famously.

The daily navette to Marrakech is a useful service, but we visited only once, preferring poolside peacefulness. Daytime temps were as high as 23C but the water in the pool is cold...very cold!

Our thanks to Françoise and her staff for a great holiday experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We are back from a 3 night stay coming to rejuvenate after a week travelling. We have 3 children who were made to feel very welcome. We really liked the decor, the place feels luxurious enough without imposing on he the surrounding area as it is built in traditional style. The food is also very good and Francoise was really helpful. There is not much to do with children however and it would have been easier for us if we would have kept our rental car to have trips in the countryside nearby.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

+

The location of Quarayti is stunning, there's a beautiful pool and a view of the atlas mountains. The reception area and rooms were really lovely too, very clean and welcoming. It had a relaxing atmosphere and was very peaceful, not the place to go if you want entertainment and activities but somewhere to go if you want a little escape. The staff were generally good and friendly. We did enjoy our stay here however feel there are some things which need to be noted, to other staying and also to the attention of the staff so they can improve.

-
Food - Both not eating meat we had more limited options, which we expected and was fine, but the food could definitely do with improving. It was limited and very bland at times, really not what you want to sit down to after a relaxing day.

Facilities and 'Extras' - We booked on Groupon where it was stated we would get a hamman each and 1h Morrocan cookery course. We booked both of these and were then told the hamman was broken so we wouldn't be able to use it. We were disappointed and we'd waited all holiday to get one, but didn't make a fuss as there's nothing that could be done, and we were offered some wine as compensation. The 'cooking lesson' involved 15 minutes of us awkwardly standing in the kitchen watching the chefs, with a small amount of explanation from one of them. It was quite literally a joke.. I'm not sure whether it's because it wasn't peak season and we were the only ones, or whether it was because we booked on Groupon, but it was absolutely awful.

Overall, good, but a few extra things and you could really be running a 5* place, rather than a 3.5* (my opinion).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a 5 night visit at the Quaryati Eco Lodge. The lodge has been open for just over three years and the staff/owner are all very helpful/friendly. What I liked was the hotel recruits local village workers, who work here full time and some of the families helped build the hotel. Was strange having a hamam then being served dinner by the same person.

There are peacocks, chickens and cats roaming around the grounds freely and the gardens are well presented.

The staff leave you alone and are laid back. Don't expect things to happen at a snap of your fingers - remember you are on holiday so relax and enjoy.

The location has both positives and negatives:

Positives:

Isolated so you can relax away from the busy city.
Breathtaking views of High Atlas Mountains.
Half way between Marrakesh and Atlas Mountains.
Ideal for a short get away.


Negatives

Isolation means nothing else to do in the area.
Unless you catch a taxi to Marrakesh in the evenings ~ 400 MAD each way, you are restricted to eating at the hotel. to be fair the average price was 120 MAD pp.
Would be nice if the hotel put on some evening entertainment.
There is free wifi but if more then 4 people are connected you get connection problems.

Overall had a really nice time with my partner and would consider visiting again in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a roof terrace so you can star gaze and see the Sun Rise/Set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend at the beginning of September. On balance we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, but there are definitely things they could improve. The pool and gardens are amazing. If you want a relaxing week, this is definitely the place to come. Its out of the way, and all we did was sit by the pool for 5 days, sunbathing in the 30 degree heat. The rooms are pretty basic, but nice and big and comfortable. The negatives for me were the mozzies, of which there were loads, but we were told this is not common, and in fairness only last for 2-3 of the days. Also the food was very samey. Bearing in mind you cannot go out to dinner as there is nothing around, I found it surprising they didnt vary the menu much. If you stayed here for more than a few days you would crave different food. Saying that, the surroundings more than made up for it. I would come back again in a heartbeat, but only if I wanted a very relaxing week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecolodge Quaryati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge Quaryati

Address: Douar Tounsi, Sidi Abdallah Ghiat | BP 548 Marrakech Principale, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ecolodge Quaryati 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ecolodge Quaryati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecolodge Quaryati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.