We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best welcome ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarelle Riad

Save Saved
You added Aquarelle Riad to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquarelle Riad
35 Derb Roda, Riad Laarousse, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best welcome ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our whole family stayed in this riad for a week at Christmas. We had organised dinner bed and breakfast. The staff was brilliant, so welcoming and helpful. They had organised lifts from the airport, they also facilitated activities - quad biking and a wonderful Moroccan evening with musician and belly dancer. Everything went so smoothly thanks to Aicha who runs the place and was a star, by the end of the week she also became a friend.
The food was tagine, with brochettes and couscous one evening. Not one bad night of food. Breakfast were also very nice and plentiful.
Rooms were nicely decorated and very warm.
Riad is very central and on a very quiet back street. It is walking distance to the souks, great for those enjoying the local shopping experience.
Highly recommended. Would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet, but some bigger thank others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

The riad is very nice, clean, cosy and comfortable. The manager (a Lady) is a very nice and capable host. Breakfast is excellent. it is possible to have dinner on demand: ask for it and you will enjoy delicious Moroccan food.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Lovely Riad. Excellent option to stay in Marrakesh, where to start? Well, very affordable, super clean, nicely decorated, super friendly staff (Achia is really nice) excellent breakfast and very well located in the heart of the Medinah. Photos of the room are genuine. We stayed at the room shown in this picture, small but very cozy, Pretty terrace to have a cup of tea and very well located closed to all the main places to visit (10 or 15 minutes walking distance top)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, Wiltshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Stayed here pre and post trek. Small (5 rooms) just to North of Souk and 20 minute walk (15 at night) from the central square (tip: use compass to go due south to square and north to come back). As the taxi cannot reach the door, we rung ahead and were met on the Rue Rhad El Arous (taxi drivers will know this street) at the junction with Derb Rooda (see photos). The entrance to the Riad is unmarked (see photo) and leads into a small covered courtyard around which the rooms are arranged. You can also relax on the sofas on the roof. Aicha greets all guests with tea or coffee and the place is manned 24 hours (we were impressed how every time we went out they insisted we had their telephone number!). Rooms with en suite shower and toilet are simple, clean, with reasonable storage. We were in the purple room - the bed was comfortable though it was two singles acting as a double. Breakfast was simple, but wholesome. There is no TV but stable wii-fi. Of the Riads we have stayed in over the years, this was undoubetdly one of the best for friendliness, cleanliness and qualit of service

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portimao, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

i stood in the pink room, it looked like a little doll house, all pink and green, so cute, the breakfast was amazing, the service was too.
the location is a little hard if is the first time in maroco or you dont know very well marrakech, i got lost once (just a little bit, and then i found it) but when i got used to the place i got there easilly.
the only problem was sleeping, i dont know why, but some kinda machine made noise all nigth. the owner said that is not normal, i think it will be repaired in a few time.
it's great =D
P.S.-it has internet *-*

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Myself and my partner stayed at this Riad at the start and end of our trekking trip to the Atlas Mountains. It was recommended to us by the Trekking Agency. We were intending to stay for only two nights but as we were unceremoniously abandoned in Marrakech when Ryan Air cancelled our flights we returned to the Riad for an extra night.
The Riad is situated in the old town of Marrakech in the heart of the Medina, and is about 15 minutes from the main Marrakech square. The area was very run down and consisted of a maze of narrow streets that are full of motorbikes, donkeys and very few westerners. I suppose the approach would be very offputting for travellers who are used to the large western style detinations and western style hotels. If you are looking for this style I advise you to stay in the new town, but you will miss out on the hospitality and authenticness of staying in the heart of this vibrant, historical, interesting place.
When you arrive at the Riad and knoock on the door you will be greeted by a wonderful welcome from the hosts. It is like stepping into a different world from the narrow alleyways outside. The hosts speak some English, and I got by with a mixture of English and French. The Riad is a traditional tiled courtyard surrounded by rooms. We had the room with it's own roof top dining area. It was really quiet and safe up there, though it was a bit a trek up to the room via narrow winding stairs. The room was a treat. Clean and tastefully decorated with an en suite shower and toilet. Simple and lovely.
We were given tea and cakes on arrival, and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. Breakfast was served on the roof top and consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice, pancakes, coffee, mint tea, toast, jams and cakes. Lovely.
Other guests at the hotel were from Spain, Australia and France - though I don't think there are many rooms there, probably about four or five.

  • Liked — roof top room. Clean and welcoming. Historical Raid.
  • Disliked — The narrow alleyways and run down area was a little offputting.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarelle Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarelle Riad

Address: 35 Derb Roda, Riad Laarousse, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Aquarelle Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarelle Riad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.