We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Traditional Friendly Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ineslisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ineslisa to your Saves list
Riad Ineslisa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Derb Boualilou - Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #547 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Worcester
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Traditional Friendly Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my Wife stayed here at the end of Feb. We booked a taxi through the Riad to get picked up from the airport and on drop of at the mosque the closest you can get to the Riad by road, we were met by the Riad owner Youssef, who showed us the windy route to the Riad. He was great he could not do enough for us, he drew us a map of the area made us tea on arrival that he never charged us for and we were told by two english girls that he even walked them to Medina.

The whole experience at the Riad was great, it felt really traditional the Riad was simple but beautiful and quiet, I nice change of pace when you have fought your way through the souks. It was very clean and rooms were cleaned everyday.

If I wanted to be picky I would say that the hot water did not last very long and the close by Mosque will wake you up at 5am. However, for me that's all part of the experience. Being at this Riad made me feel like I had a real Marrakesh experience.

The breakfast was good, simple breads with Jams and a lovely fresh orange Juice. I fully recommend this place, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the riad early February. Staff were pleasant. On our arrival we were offered tea. The man who greeted us drew maps of the surrounding area which proved helpful as the medina can be a maze. The location was ok. 10 min walk from the main square and the souks. Breakfast was pleasant and would be enjoyed immensely if you have a sweet tooth. The room was basic but clean. It was all we needed. We had an evening meal in the riad which we arranged the night before. The tagine was excellent. The value of the riad was brilliant and it was so relaxing, a nice place to retreat to from the busy Marrakech streets. Would be very happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went for 5 days to Marrakech and stayed at the Riad Ineslisa. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff is very kindly en helpful. The rooms are not very big, but very beautiful and clean! The breakfast is very good, they serve several sweet breads and fresh orange jus. We also eat here for one evening and they have a woman who cooks for the guest. We ate a tajine with lamb, it was splendid!
The staff is very kindly. For example; I accidently threw away my ticket to the spa en the next day they gave it to me, because they saw we needed it. Especially Youssef (a young employee) was very sweet and helpful. The hotel is on the north side of the Medina, a cab will bring you to the center for €2,-, you really are in the middle of the people, which is a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited here in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found Marrakesh challenging, and were always happy to get back to our beautiful oasis of calm. We loved the traditional decor and everything was clean and comfortable. The staff were always there with a friendly smile and helpful attitude. I would have preferred more healthy options for breakfast, but loved the fig jam!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent a really pleasant week at Riad Ineslisa based on the recommendations of previous reviews on Trip Advisor and just wanted to reinforce those warm reviews.

This riad is small (4 rooms) and unpretentious but kept immaculately clean and comfortable by the staff who were courteous, professional but never intrusive. The location is toward the North end of the Medina and whilst the neighbourhood could at times be busy, the riad itself felt like a haven from the bustle, heat and noise.

Breakfast was generous, the water always hot and rooms made-up every day. A great place to stay and great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Ineslisa for 7 nights in mid August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found out after we had booked that we were visiting during Ramadan, but as a tourist this really didn't hinder our stay.

We had booked a taxi transfer (15euros) via an email to the Riad which was helpful as Abdheli was then there to walk us to the Riad rather than being hassled by locals who would have wanted money for directions. We had also ordered an evening meal (15euros each) on our first night which was very pleasant and consisted of Harira (soup), chicken couscous, chicken tajine, breads and fruit, along with complimentary mint tea.

Breakfast each day was very pleasant, consisting of pastries, breads, pancakes, cake and jam, with fresh juice and tea/coffee... simple but very nice! This was served in the outside courtyard by the Riad housekeeper who was VERY helpful and really nice at all times.

The Riad itself had four bedrooms, three of which were in use during our stay. The Riad was unbelievably peaceful considering how chaotic the streets outside were! It was clean and well-kept, and our room was exactly the same. We had requested a bedroom with a toilet door (having heard that traditional Moroccan bathrooms do not have doors) and we were given a bathoom with a door, although having had a brief look in the other bedrooms it looked like all of the rooms had bathroom doors, or at least a curtain of some sorts. We were very grateful that the room had air conditioning, as the temperatures outside were in excess of 47 degrees centigrade!!! There was also a heater in the room, presumably for colder winter nights.

The 'call to prayer' was frequent and we could hear it at 2am and 5am... although you get use to it and after a day or two it didn't really wake us up!

We booked an excursion through the Riad which was convenient and we were able to buy bottled water from the Riad staff. We were also given a tourist map upon arrival. The Riad had drawn a more suitable map on the reverse which was very useful! The Riad staff spoke some English and understood most of what we said.

The Riad itself is about a 20 minute walk from the main Djaama El Fna square... You can walk via the main roads (more direct) or you can take your chances and walk through the souks (markets). We got lost a couple of times whilst walking through the souks but you find your way eventually... Just watch out for everybody trying to give you directions as everybody has a completely different route of how to get to the square... usually via their shop!

We would recommend a stay in the Riad Inseslia to anyone. Marrakech was a huge culture shock but well worth seeing - especially the Cascade de Ouzoud waterfalls which are a 3 hour coach trip away. Be prepared to be hassled by some of the locals (in a nice way!) and watch out for the snake charmers/monkeys/henna ladies in the main square!

Be careful if paying for drinks/meals with Euros in the main square as the waiters have there own version of exchange rates... Apart from the charges at the Riad (taxi/meals etc) you can get away with just Dirhams!!!!!

Room Tip: Ensure that the bathroom in your room will have a door as we have read that this is often not the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Riad Ineslisa is a beautiful guest house situated not to far from the main square. It is a haven from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. If you are into rustic, clean living then this is most definately the place for you. The staff were helpful and attentitive. We were very well looked after. The room was clean and presentable and I was nice to have 3 communal sitting areas inside as well as the beautiful roof terrace which was definately an added bonus!! If you know how to speak some French it will definitely be worth your well in Morroco as although not the official language (which is Arabic) it is widely spoken. A note of caution, we were dropped off further away from the Riad than we should have been and was then escorted by somebody who demanded money from us. This was not the fault of the Riad as they should have been contacted to alert them of our arrival which they were not. Nothing is free in Marrakech and tipping is a necessary. Beware of this when pricing goods/services etc. I will definately be going back Marrakech as it is a beautiful city with much to offer and also back to Riad Ineslisa, our stay was definately enchanced by the Riad.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ineslisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ineslisa

Address: 3 Derb Boualilou - Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ineslisa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Ineslisa is situated in close proximity to Jeema El Fna Square, in the Medina of Marrakesh (an ancient part of the city). Push open the door and experience life in calm and peaceful surroundings.Each room, welcoming and comfortable, has it's own individual and tasteful decor. There is a traditional bathroom and toilet in every room.On the terrace, lie back and relax on a chaise lounge with cushions and mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Ineslisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ineslisa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ineslisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.