We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ineslisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ineslisa to your Saves list
Riad Ineslisa
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3 Derb Boualilou - Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #521 of 1,137 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed in the riad early February. Staff were pleasant. On our arrival we were offered tea. The man who greeted us drew maps of the surrounding area which proved helpful as the medina can be a maze. The location was ok. 10 min walk from the main square and the souks. Breakfast was pleasant and would be enjoyed immensely if you have a sweet tooth. The room was basic but clean. It was all we needed. We had an evening meal in the riad which we arranged the night before. The tagine was excellent. The value of the riad was brilliant and it was so relaxing, a nice place to retreat to from the busy Marrakech streets. Would be very happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    32
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
55
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went for 5 days to Marrakech and stayed at the Riad Ineslisa. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff is very kindly en helpful. The rooms are not very big, but very beautiful and clean! The breakfast is very good, they serve several sweet breads and fresh orange jus. We also eat here for one evening and they have a woman who cooks for the guest. We ate a tajine with lamb, it was splendid!
The staff is very kindly. For example; I accidently threw away my ticket to the spa en the next day they gave it to me, because they saw we needed it. Especially Youssef (a young employee) was very sweet and helpful. The hotel is on the north side of the Medina, a cab will bring you to the center for €2,-, you really are in the middle of the people, which is a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited here in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found Marrakesh challenging, and were always happy to get back to our beautiful oasis of calm. We loved the traditional decor and everything was clean and comfortable. The staff were always there with a friendly smile and helpful attitude. I would have preferred more healthy options for breakfast, but loved the fig jam!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent a really pleasant week at Riad Ineslisa based on the recommendations of previous reviews on Trip Advisor and just wanted to reinforce those warm reviews.

This riad is small (4 rooms) and unpretentious but kept immaculately clean and comfortable by the staff who were courteous, professional but never intrusive. The location is toward the North end of the Medina and whilst the neighbourhood could at times be busy, the riad itself felt like a haven from the bustle, heat and noise.

Breakfast was generous, the water always hot and rooms made-up every day. A great place to stay and great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Ineslisa for 7 nights in mid August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We found out after we had booked that we were visiting during Ramadan, but as a tourist this really didn't hinder our stay.

We had booked a taxi transfer (15euros) via an email to the Riad which was helpful as Abdheli was then there to walk us to the Riad rather than being hassled by locals who would have wanted money for directions. We had also ordered an evening meal (15euros each) on our first night which was very pleasant and consisted of Harira (soup), chicken couscous, chicken tajine, breads and fruit, along with complimentary mint tea.

Breakfast each day was very pleasant, consisting of pastries, breads, pancakes, cake and jam, with fresh juice and tea/coffee... simple but very nice! This was served in the outside courtyard by the Riad housekeeper who was VERY helpful and really nice at all times.

The Riad itself had four bedrooms, three of which were in use during our stay. The Riad was unbelievably peaceful considering how chaotic the streets outside were! It was clean and well-kept, and our room was exactly the same. We had requested a bedroom with a toilet door (having heard that traditional Moroccan bathrooms do not have doors) and we were given a bathoom with a door, although having had a brief look in the other bedrooms it looked like all of the rooms had bathroom doors, or at least a curtain of some sorts. We were very grateful that the room had air conditioning, as the temperatures outside were in excess of 47 degrees centigrade!!! There was also a heater in the room, presumably for colder winter nights.

The 'call to prayer' was frequent and we could hear it at 2am and 5am... although you get use to it and after a day or two it didn't really wake us up!

We booked an excursion through the Riad which was convenient and we were able to buy bottled water from the Riad staff. We were also given a tourist map upon arrival. The Riad had drawn a more suitable map on the reverse which was very useful! The Riad staff spoke some English and understood most of what we said.

The Riad itself is about a 20 minute walk from the main Djaama El Fna square... You can walk via the main roads (more direct) or you can take your chances and walk through the souks (markets). We got lost a couple of times whilst walking through the souks but you find your way eventually... Just watch out for everybody trying to give you directions as everybody has a completely different route of how to get to the square... usually via their shop!

We would recommend a stay in the Riad Inseslia to anyone. Marrakech was a huge culture shock but well worth seeing - especially the Cascade de Ouzoud waterfalls which are a 3 hour coach trip away. Be prepared to be hassled by some of the locals (in a nice way!) and watch out for the snake charmers/monkeys/henna ladies in the main square!

Be careful if paying for drinks/meals with Euros in the main square as the waiters have there own version of exchange rates... Apart from the charges at the Riad (taxi/meals etc) you can get away with just Dirhams!!!!!

Room Tip: Ensure that the bathroom in your room will have a door as we have read that this is often not the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Riad Ineslisa is a beautiful guest house situated not to far from the main square. It is a haven from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. If you are into rustic, clean living then this is most definately the place for you. The staff were helpful and attentitive. We were very well looked after. The room was clean and presentable and I was nice to have 3 communal sitting areas inside as well as the beautiful roof terrace which was definately an added bonus!! If you know how to speak some French it will definitely be worth your well in Morroco as although not the official language (which is Arabic) it is widely spoken. A note of caution, we were dropped off further away from the Riad than we should have been and was then escorted by somebody who demanded money from us. This was not the fault of the Riad as they should have been contacted to alert them of our arrival which they were not. Nothing is free in Marrakech and tipping is a necessary. Beware of this when pricing goods/services etc. I will definately be going back Marrakech as it is a beautiful city with much to offer and also back to Riad Ineslisa, our stay was definately enchanced by the Riad.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Riad is situated in a central area in the Medina which means that there is lots going on around it and good access to the central markets. For a real taste of Marrakech, THIS is the place to go. The rooms are very comfortable with en-suite bathrooms. There is a brilliant roof terrace with views over the city which is perfect for long summer evenings. In the morning we enjoyed freshly squeezed orange juice (a feauture of the city in general), coffee/tea and a range of breads and pastries with assorted spreads. As well as this, our room was unbelievably affordable for a weeks stay. Our hosts we faultless and welcoming on every occasion - in fact I would definitely stay there again.
Be prepared however, this is right in the middle of a residential area with a mosque nearby that will wake you up every morning at around 5.00am. But hey, if you want to absorb the real culture of this fascinating city then i suppose it is all part of the fun! In terms of the riad itself I cannot think of any obvious faults and I would highly recommend it for a couple who are looking to explore and discover all that Marrakech has to offer.

RM&DB 2012

Room Tip: If you book early try and ask for the superior suite. It is the largest room in the riad, situated o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#402 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#366 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#382 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ryad Mogador Hotel
Ryad Mogador Hotel
#425 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#357 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#424 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ineslisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ineslisa

Address: 3 Derb Boualilou - Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 1,137 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Ineslisa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Ineslisa is situated in close proximity to Jeema El Fna Square, in the Medina of Marrakesh (an ancient part of the city). Push open the door and experience life in calm and peaceful surroundings.Each room, welcoming and comfortable, has it's own individual and tasteful decor. There is a traditional bathroom and toilet in every room.On the terrace, lie back and relax on a chaise lounge with cushions and mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Ineslisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ineslisa Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ineslisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.