We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 1,125 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Elegant and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed two nights in this riad in early December. We cannot praise the welcome and the staff enough. We arrived quite late but were warmly welcomed and our room (Clementine) was lovely - especially as the weather was a bit cooler than we expected. The riad is beautifully decorated. Sara gave us wise advice for places for dinner on both evenings as well as taking us on a short but interesting tour around the medina - including an unforgettable avocado milkshake which was divine! She also took us to see some of the modern secrets hidden in the medina which we would never have believed were there. This riad is in a very beautiful and quiet area just like a film set but it was a little confusing coming back late in the evening - don't use shops as the signposts as they close quite early. Breakfast on the roof terrace was perfect in the sunshine despite the chill - unfortunately we left very early the second day and missed a second one but we were presented with a nice packed lunch for the train trip to Fes. Overall a most enjoyable stay - would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
96
323
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just back from a week's stay at this lovely and peaceful Riad. This is much more than a place to stay, the hosts are like a loving family who welcomed us with open arms. The lovely Sara booked our first night's dinner on arrival so we didn't have to lift a finger, she even guided us there (the medina is a warren, but you get to know it soon enough). The next morning she took us on the 25 minute walk from the Riad to the Jmaa El Fna (the main square) and expertly gave us all the information we needed to find our way back.

The Riad is in the North Medina which is outside the touristy area -- the walk to and from the Souks really is half the fun and staying in a "real" part of the Medina is a real perk. Lovely breakfasts are served on the sunny roof terrace, and the rooms are lovingly appointed, quiet, and blissfully dark at night for a great sleep.

Manel and David are perfect hosts supported by a team of really lovely people providing a welcome and smiling presence every time we returned, answering all our questions, and really going over the top to make sure every need was met. I researched dozens of Riads and really lucked out to land at this one -- so take my word for it and search no longer -- this will be an excellent base to enjoy your time in the wonderful and magical Marrakech!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breckenridge
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This Riad was one of our favorites in Morocco.

I kept asking my husband "could they be any nicer?!" From the moment we walked in the door we were treated like royalty. We were shown to the mapas room which we loved but honestly all the rooms were very nice.

The central courtyard is beautiful with a small pool and a cozy sitting area. The staff twice fixed us a wonderful, exotic fruit plate when we were too tired to go out and did not even bill us for it! They also had a little bar area where we enjoyed a glass of wine. It was so peaceful in there we didn't want to leave and had to force ourselves to go out and sightsee!

One of the girls from Spain who was so lovely twice accompanied my husband and I to the medina, gave us a main highlights tour and even paid for the taxi. It was a very interesting tour. Everyone of the staff are genuinely kind and thoughtful. The owner David was not there but his paintings of Morocco were amazing and displayed around the Riad.

The bed was so comfortable we slept well and the breakfasts were delicious and offered a variety of food. I highly recommend this Riad and you will too after you stay there!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Having never been to Marrakech before I had no idea what to expect. We chose Riad Agua Viva because of all the positive comments. Wow! What a place, tucked awy from the madness and motorbikes this Riad is the epitome of calmness and tranquility. Everything is spotless, the rooms are beautiful, all individually designed and the staff have become family. They're there when you need them but know somehow when to drift away. Such a special find, I would recommend this to anyone for their first visit, David will give you ideas of where to go and what to do. When the city is Marrakech, this is life saving. We will come back for sure! Love to David, Sara, manel, Jana, Oti, Alba and simo. What a team xxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Any of them, but Mapas doesn't have a wardrobe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The riad itself is outstanding, beautifully decorated, great style, impeccable, super clean and comfortable. It is located in a quite street in a more residential area of the Medina close to fantastic restaurants, stores and places of interests. This Riad really takes you away from the craziness of a city like Marrakesh, a true oasis. But that’s not the best part, the owners and hosts, David and Manel, are incredible human beings, really, I think they are not in this for the money, but simply to meet people, exchange ideas, stories and knowledge. These guys are on top of everything, organizing transfers, drivers, daily activities, dinners, etc. They personalize your day trips, based on what you do and what you like and create a list of places/visits that you can’t find on specialized guides or on the Travel channel. What else could you expect from two great artists (David is an amazing painter and Manel an experienced stage actor)? And the rest of their team is equally outstanding and graceful: Sara, Alba, Jana, Simo, Ibtissam and Sukaina, all of them always helpful and kind. We miss their smiles already.

Breakfast is included, and it is delicious. Fresh Moroccan orange juice and breads, preserves, great coffee and the personalized morning tips from Manel or David, who will not let you set a foot outside the riad until they have found out exactly what you want and create a special day plan for you. Oh! And the very first day, they personally take you around the Medina so you can avoid getting lost (which will happen anyway, that is a promise, but their tips help you to eventually find your way back...who knew you could walk back to the riad by following the "butts" of the satellite disks, which are all pointing the opposite way?)

Awesome experience, highly recommended, and 6 stars. We’ll be back soon, it‘s a promise.

PS. Don’t miss the little store with the incredible avocado milkshakes, the Golden Door, and the square where the shrine to Sidi Bel Abbes is located (ask them where to find these places).

Room Tip: Any and all rooms are amazing, but the ones that are slightly higher priced are well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We did lots of research before booking this Riad and used Trip advisor when we were choosing a place to stay. The reviews are spot on this place it's awesome. Being a Riad it is a small place with limited rooms so make sure you book in advance.
David, Sara and the rest of the team here were just wonderful. This place is located out of the old city, about a 10- 15 minute walk buts it's worth it for the peace and to see the real Morocco. On our first day Sara walked us into town with a map and home to ensure we knew our way. She warned us about what to watch out for and talked about the general culture. This was awesome! The best heads up!. Sara is Spanish and lives in Morocco, her English was impressive! The breakfasts were traditional and lovely and we loved that in 4 days we never ate the same food. Each morning Sara and David or one of them will proivde you some suggestions of what to do for the day. Some people have written that they felt this was pushy but we didn't find that at all. We loved getting reccomendations from a local and there was no pressure if you didn't want to do what they suggested. David recommended some upmarket restaraunts that are expensive in Moroccan terms but not for what we are used to in Australia. The whole team here were just gorgeous and we loved every minute of our stay at the Riad. David also a talented artist sketched me which was amazing! (David also Spanish, his english not as good but you work through it with him and it all ends up making sense, wonderful man). Make sure you try an avocado milkshake while you are there! The rooms were not huge but big enough and immaculately cleaned. I also highly recommend that you go to the french restaraunt they they recommend "La Comptoir" (I think). It's in the new town, is expensive but go later as the belly dancers will come out around 10pm and they are worth seeing. The food was outstanding and the people watching awesome. The difference between the old and the new town here is incredible.We never would have seen what we did without the wonderful advice provided at this Riad. Also make sure you go to the palace - that was awesome. Book it, you will not be let down!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned from 5 wonderful nights spent at the Riad Aguaviva. My first visit with my daughter was in November 2012. We were so impressed that this year my daughter in law and her mother joined us, based purely on our recommendation. David and Manel and their staff are exceptional. They go the extra mile to ensure that the whole experience is unforgettable. The accommodation is amazing with breakfasts to die for based on seriously healthy food. Their advice and recommendations on where to go, what to see, and where to eat are exceptional We will be returning for our third visit next year. I cannot recommend this Riad enough.

Room Tip: All rooms provide the last word in comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,125 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.