We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best experience ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best experience ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Riad Aguaviva it's not a hotel, it's a home! Home with people willing to do their best to help you. We were a group of friends and when this happens it's difficult to agree.. however, we all agreed on the opinion about Riad Aguaviva: the best experience we've ever had!!
The riad is a beautiful traditional house. Rooms are well decorated but it's not the place what makes this riad the best, it's the people in it!
I don't wanna spoil the magic...you will see when you arrive there ;)
Kisses to the whole team!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
307
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Where to start on this idyllic Riad?
This was the first trip to Marrakech for my Mother and I and we had no idea what to expect when we were in the taxi driving through the Medina which is a maze of busy little streets.
However, we didn't expect such a beautiful Riad! Atmospheric, relaxing, spotless, traditional in décor and very stylish. Every bit the oasis of tranquillity. The terrace was gorgeous and eating breakfast there in the morning was a real treat! We experienced a very much 'home from home' made all the more enjoyable by the incredible staff.
David, Manel, H'anna, Sema and Alba were amazing and so very welcoming. We can't stress enough how friendly and attentive they were. They immediately guided us through the Medina and ensured we knew how to navigate about with confidence. Anything we needed, wanted to book or find out was swiftly organised and most of what we saw and did was as a result of their extensive local knowledge and attention to detail. They really went the 'extra mile' to ensure our holiday was a very special and memorable one and we would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting to visit to stay there and experience their generous and personal hospitality at its best.
Thank you so much again ... Love Emily & Frances xxx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

It was our first time in Marrakech, the Riad was the best experience!!!!! The staff are really really lovely, very helpful and very accomodating. We stayed for 3 nights from the 19th Oct, we were 4 women on a girlie break.

It was so peaceful inside, the terrace is so nice to chill and relax and have some mint tea in the evenings. Breakfast is also served on the terrace and is really delicious.

Trust me you can never go wrong if you book this place. You don't need to plan ahead as the staff sit and plan your day with you.

Loved our stay and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, choose one on the 1st floor for less noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having searched all kinds of websites for Riads in Marrakech I decided on Aguaviva due to its great reviews here. Having now stayed there I can see why it's got so many really good reviews and I'm pretty pleased with my choice.

Before we got there we had to contact them to book a couple of extra days and arrange transport from the airport. They always got back to us really quickly and were more than happy to accommodate our requests.

Upon arriving 4 hours late due to flight delays we were greeted with smiles and welcomed into the beautiful building. We were shown to our room which had water and oranges waiting for us.
The room was really well and thoughtfully equipped. It had air con, extra blankets, loads of fresh towels, boxes of tissues, cotton wool, shower gel and shampoo. The room was also really clean, as was the rest of the riad in fact.

The staff were so helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them. You could pretty much just throw your guidebook away and plan your days from their tips and advice. We also got a personal tour of the medina from David in which he showed us how to get to the big square and the different ways of getting back etc. Not only was this super helpful, it was actually really great to see the city through his eyes.

Not once did any of the staff suggest that you do something or go somewhere because they get a cut out of it (which happens in most other places)
They were just a bunch of really nice people wanting you to enjoy your trip.

I would definitely stay at Aguaviva again and recommend it to anyone. I'd even go as far as to stay it's the best place I've ever stayed!


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Riad Aguqviva is a real gem. The Riad boasts beautiful decoration and quiet rooms and is an oasis of tranquility amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. But it is not just the lovely property which makes Riad Aguaviva such a wonderful place to make your base, it is the instant welcome, the feeling of being properly looked after, the effort that Manel, David, Oti, Sara, Simo Alba and Ibtissam & Sukaina put into making you feel completely at ease both inside the Riad and also in the city. With free guided trips around the medina to get you orientated, special maps and great recommendations, the team really make your holiday something special. Simon's breakfasts are just perfect and set you up for a day of exploring. Thank you to all at Aguaviva for making our trip really special!

Room Tip: Sultan is an Exotic room with lovely decoration
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The riad is located about 20 mins walk from the main square in an area with few tourists around. The airport pick up is recommended as it is hard to find and not many people know where it is.
The staff will give you a walking tour to get your bearings and a map to help and buses and taxis are nearby and relatively easy. We had already spent a couple of nights near the main square so it was nice to stay in a different area with less shops and locals going about their business, although if it's your first stay or you are a bit nervous you may be better near the square, especially if you want to walk after dark, as it is very easy to get lost.
The riad is nice, breakfast is different every day and the staff are very helpful and will give recommendations to suit your interests which you can choose to follow or not.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my first trip to Morocco and I arrived at Riad Aguaviva in the evening wondering if everything that other reviews had said could actually be true …. and the answer is YES.

Everybody from the Aguaviva ‘team’ was there to greet me on arrival and immediately the peaceful beauty of the Riad made me feel relaxed and on holiday. I was upgraded to a different room for free with water and orange waiting for me in the room.

I began each day with fresh breakfast on the rooftop terrace with something different every morning, always cooked beautifully and complimented by fresh bread, orange juice, mint tea and a variety of spreads.

On my first morning Manuel gave me a guided tour of the surrounding area and then the route into the medina with an essential map. This not only involved hearing about some of the social history but also sampling local fruits and sugar cane juice !! This tour and the map were invaluable throughout my stay in helping me to find my way around and back to the Riad each evening.

Manuel would then help me plan each day after breakfast, tailoring his suggestions to what I wanted to achieve during my stay and providing the necessary directions, tips and hand drawn map to guide me through the day. On my return each evening there was always a warm welcome and the chance to talk about where I had been, what I had done and where I had found to eat.

The Riad is immaculate, beautiful and peaceful … the team as welcoming, helpful and warm as you could wish for throughout your stay … and its location in north Marrakech gives you an insight into Moroccan working life. If you want somewhere personal and comfortable then this is the place to stay. Thank you Riad Aguaviva.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.