We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent doesn't even begin to describe this Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent doesn't even begin to describe this Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful place, beautiful people! So hospitable and kind!
The decor is very tasteful (the paintings done by one of the owners superb!), plenty of hot water, good amenities (the rose water especially!), rooms are of good size (maybe a wee bit narrow? but long, so it's compensated!) and the beds very comfortable. Cleanliness is impeccable and attention to detail their trademark. Breakfast is to die for, as their pastries (they said the best pastries in Marrakech are on Princess street, but they are wrong! Theirs are the best!). If I were to be picky, a closet in the room would have been great. They had some hooks to hang your clothes on the wall and a cabinet with shelves, but my husband enjoys wearing neat shirts and it's better of they have a closet. Also, a luggage rack would have been good to have when one unpacks..
Now for the really good part: the staff. They are amazing. If you really want to know Marrakech like a moroccan, you have to stay here. They will give you all the tips to see and try everything. It might be located a bit off the beaten path, but that is a good thing. You really get to know the whole city and not just the tourist parts. They walk you the first day (almost like a free tour on day one) and give you a fool proof map to get back to the riad. I get lost in an elevator and not once did I miss my way back. That's how good it is. It's about a 15-20 min walk to Place Jemaa el Fna and a 5 min walk to a bus stop that leaves you at Place Jemaa el Fna, so no problem with location. If, and only if, you really walk a lot on your vacations and then you come back to the hotel for a quick shower and change to go back out to dinner, well, then maybe you need a place located closer to all the noise, but remember you wont get all the good restaurant tips they have!
We were in Marrakech for four days and we felt at home from day one. We were greeted with mint tea and pastries every afternoon and talked about what we did and recommended what we could do the next. Marrakech was much more enjoyable thanks to Agua Viva!
Thank you Oti, Sara and Simo (especially Simo for indulging my whims during breakfast!) and congratulations David and Manel on such a lovely riad. We will be back. We promise!

Room Tip: We had the maps room. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
86
298
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thank you so much to Cesc, Juan and Sarah. Sarah your English is excellent, you put our Spanish to shame. You are all amazing. The maps and information you provided were excellent. Cesc special thanks for taking us out on the first evening, it was really great. I am so pleased I could help with the literature and the furniture! The restaurants you recommended were excellent and quite local. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were just lovely, home made jams, fresh orange juice with the traditional food - superb. We shall definitely return.
Muchas gracias amigos!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

You'll never chance upon Riad Aguaviva, it's tucked away down a very low ceilinged alley with no signage, but you'll be really glad you sought it out. It's an oasis of calm in the madness of Marrakech, yet still only about 15 - 20 minutes from Jemaa el Fnaa.
Sara, Oti, Simo and Cesc simply cannot do enough for you - Sara took us out on our first afternoon and walked us through the Medina, through a myriad of labyrinthine souks, pointing out reference points and way points, and out to Jemaa el Fnaa; then she let us find our own way back. And it's a brilliant way to orient yourself! Because of this we packed as much into our first afternoon as I expected to in our whole time there.
Breakfast, up on the terrace, begins the day with a casual chat and an outline of a suggested route and things to do, Sara annotating the map with hints, tips and guidance. We were good students and didn't go 'off piste' much but the grounding we got made us feel confident enough to step out on our own path every now and then.
As I said, Sara and co cannot do enough for you - my wife was unwell and they looked after her, letting us stay in our room after checkout and even bringing her something simple to eat and drink while we waited for our cab.
It's a lovely atmosphere staffed by friendly, caring people. Go there and have a fabulous time - we did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It has been a few months now and I finally have taken the effort to review this unique Riad which is within the Medina but close enough to the Medina wall to get out of the old city too.
The hospitality of the entire team was amazing. Cesc & Oti giving providing us with a personal experience by e.g. advising on where to go, drawing us maps on how to get there as well as the wonderful breakfast result in a refreshing customer focused experience all the other staff as well (Thais, Simo, Ibtisan & Sukain). The kitchen producing those delicious breakfasts and the decoration within the Riad are giving it a real identity too, esp. the paintings made by owner David.
That all on walking distance from all the big attractions and at such a reasonable price - try to book this place when visiting Marrakech!
Micha & Rose

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 5 days in Marrakech and I am sure we will remember this holiday also for the warm welcome and the fantastic people we met at the Riad Aguaviva.
We enjoyed a lot the breakfast with home cooked specialities. A very special thank to Sara for her suggestions and the first tour in the old Medina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not far from the hustle and bustle of Baba Kashish on the northern tip of the old medina is a special oasis called the Riad Aguaviva. As one navigates the mazes of the old alleyways and attends to the over stimulation of noise, sounds, and smells, in the most unassuming 'hole in the wall' is the entry to Riad Aguaviva. We booked the entire Riad for a week and each day that we returned from adventures, our collective sense of immediate calm and relief was immediate as we stepped through the threshold of the Riad. The staff at the Riad was enthusiastic, passionate, and caring from the beginning of our stay to our early departure to the airport on our last day. Orientation to the medina, hospitality, food choice, story telling, and comforting weary travelers were undertaken with good cheer, humor, love, and care. The Riad Aguaviva has earned its reputation for being an outstanding home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room at the Riad has its own character. The online web site are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for 1 week. It is a jewel hidden in the maze of alleyways of the old Medina. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable, felt at home and were able to negotiate the wonderful craziness and enjoy the historic sites of Marrakesh. laundry was done, money was changed, trips arranged and local treats and refreshments were provided after long days in the markets. Cesc, Sarah, Aina and Simon Muhamed were gracious, warm, knowledgable, genuine,helpful and wonderful. We also learned about Catalan history and saw David's beautiful artwork on the walls of the Riad. We have travelled around the world and have never stayed in such a genuinely warm, welcoming and helpful environment. Thank you Cesc, David and Manel! Ted and Liza

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.