We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem at the outskirts of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little gem at the outskirts of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It has been a few months now and I finally have taken the effort to review this unique Riad which is within the Medina but close enough to the Medina wall to get out of the old city too.
The hospitality of the entire team was amazing. Cesc & Oti giving providing us with a personal experience by e.g. advising on where to go, drawing us maps on how to get there as well as the wonderful breakfast result in a refreshing customer focused experience all the other staff as well (Thais, Simo, Ibtisan & Sukain). The kitchen producing those delicious breakfasts and the decoration within the Riad are giving it a real identity too, esp. the paintings made by owner David.
That all on walking distance from all the big attractions and at such a reasonable price - try to book this place when visiting Marrakech!
Micha & Rose

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
318
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent 5 days in Marrakech and I am sure we will remember this holiday also for the warm welcome and the fantastic people we met at the Riad Aguaviva.
We enjoyed a lot the breakfast with home cooked specialities. A very special thank to Sara for her suggestions and the first tour in the old Medina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Not far from the hustle and bustle of Baba Kashish on the northern tip of the old medina is a special oasis called the Riad Aguaviva. As one navigates the mazes of the old alleyways and attends to the over stimulation of noise, sounds, and smells, in the most unassuming 'hole in the wall' is the entry to Riad Aguaviva. We booked the entire Riad for a week and each day that we returned from adventures, our collective sense of immediate calm and relief was immediate as we stepped through the threshold of the Riad. The staff at the Riad was enthusiastic, passionate, and caring from the beginning of our stay to our early departure to the airport on our last day. Orientation to the medina, hospitality, food choice, story telling, and comforting weary travelers were undertaken with good cheer, humor, love, and care. The Riad Aguaviva has earned its reputation for being an outstanding home away from home.

Room Tip: Each room at the Riad has its own character. The online web site are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for 1 week. It is a jewel hidden in the maze of alleyways of the old Medina. The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable, felt at home and were able to negotiate the wonderful craziness and enjoy the historic sites of Marrakesh. laundry was done, money was changed, trips arranged and local treats and refreshments were provided after long days in the markets. Cesc, Sarah, Aina and Simon Muhamed were gracious, warm, knowledgable, genuine,helpful and wonderful. We also learned about Catalan history and saw David's beautiful artwork on the walls of the Riad. We have travelled around the world and have never stayed in such a genuinely warm, welcoming and helpful environment. Thank you Cesc, David and Manel! Ted and Liza

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Aguaviva for our honeymoon. The service was exceptional and the staff were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about Marrakech. The Riad itself is lovely too - we enjoyed home-cooked breakfasts each day by the pool, which helped prepare us for the craziness of the city. We were given a personal tour to the main square, Djemaa El Fna, so that we could learn to navigate the alleyways without getting lost. Their local knowledge is amazing and they will really go to any length to ensure your stay is enjoyable. They helped us with restaurant reservations and helped organise a day-trip for us to the Ourika Valley. I really can't recommend Riad Aguaviva enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Words cannot express our gratitude for the wonderfully attentive and superb service we have received here. Many thanks to David and Manel and all their wonderful staff for the personal tours, recommendations and attention to detail. If you want a wonderful oasis of calm within an otherwise manic Marrakech, this is definitely the place to stay. Beautifully prepared breakfasts, mint teas and plenty of good company/hospitality. I cannot recommend highly enough. If you are considering, then do book!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wow, what an amazing weekend. It was made all the more special with our fantastic hosts. Dinner on our first night was traditional Morrocan style, and every dish tasted great. Each morning we had breakfast on the sunny terrace, and what tasty treats they were.
The rooms were all beautifully decorated. There was a group of 6 of us, so got to see the other rooms too, each had it's own individual style.
If you are looking for a weekend getaway, with plenty of shopping the Moroccan way, I would throughily recommend the Riad Aguaviva

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.