We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perfecto - Expectativas Superadas
Reservamos por recomendaciones de amigos que nos lo recomendaron y aunque esperabamos algo bueno realmente superó nuestras expectativas. La atención, el personal, Manel, David, Cesc, y de todos los que trabajan alli nos hicieron sentir como en casa y vivir Marrakech de una manera muy especial. Todo fue perfecto, los super desayunos en la terraza, las habitaciones, las charlas, ... Desde luego un fin de semana perfecto que superó nuestras expectativas. Seguro que vamos a volver y recomendar ¡Gracias!

Perfect - exceeded expectations
We reserve for recommendations from friends who recommended us and although we expected something good really exceeded our expectations. Care staff, Manel, David, Cesc, and of all those who work there made us feel at home and to live Marrakech in a very special way. Everything was perfect, super breakfasts on the terrace, the rooms, the chats,... Since then a perfect weekend that surpassed our expectations. Surely we will return and recommend thanks!
Cristian & MaRosa

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
98
326
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place lives up to the expectations from the perfect reviews. The people working here are truly wonderful. They are very friendly and helps you with everything. And they help you in a way that is very useful even if you have Lonely Planet, Tripadvisor and good maps prepared before the trip.

The rooms are beautiful and the place is very elegant. It is located 15 minutes from the square. During the first night and the first day, Cesc walked with us to show good routes to walk and good places to see and eat (they also booked a restaurant to eat since we arrived late). Finding good roads to walk is quite important since young men often want to show you in the wrong direction in Marrakech (saying like "this road is closed" or "this is only going to a mosque").

I liked the area where the riad was located. It is not in the centre of Marrakech, but in a neighborhood with almost no tourists and a genuine feeling. It was no problem to walk home at night and we mostly walked to all places in Marrakech from the riad (sometimes we used taxi). The riad is located in a small derb that is easy to spot when you know of it, but not otherwise.

We stayed for ten nights so we had lots of time to explore Morocco. Every morning during breakfast, we combined our plans with the helpful suggestions from the Riad. Cesc helped us with maps and he together with David, Sara, Oti, David and gave great advice to us. And every night, Sara or Oti waited for us to come home and then talked with us about or adventures. This was very friendly and enjoyable. Spending time with Cesc, Sara, Oti and the others from the Riad was a real highlight of our vacation.

The room was very nice and perfectly cleaned (also fresh flowers now and then). And the riad is peaceful, elegant and perfect. The people of the riad also helped us to rent a car and go to Zagora, this is highly recommended if you have the time. They also helped us to prolong the rent of the car when we decided to stay in Zagora for one more night. Amazing service!

They gave us advice about places for taking photos (like the local market near Bab Khemis), where to buy certain objects like lamps, where to buy bus tickets and so on.

The moroccan breakfast was very nice and slightly altered each morning.

Leaving this place feels a bit like leaving your home! Warm thanks for a wonderful time!

Herman

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Even if the Riad is stunningly beautiful, spotlessly clean and serves the best breakfasts ever, it is its staff that makes it a truly unique place.

David and Manel (the owners) and the rest of the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was safe and tailored to our interests. On day one, they took us for a free tour around the city to teach us to to get to the main square from the Riad, something that would have been impossible if it wasn't for their own-created maps and their easy explanations.
They had different suggestions for what to do or visit each day, even restaurants where to eat. Following their suggestions, we found the most amazing, non-touristy secret spots of the city.

The room was tastefully decorated and was very comfortable (if I were to make one tiny remark, the beds where a bit short for western standards but, truth is, you get so pampered at the Riad that you don't really care!).
The bathroom was beautiful and with a huge bath.

The common areas are beautiful and the terrace is the perfect place to chill out after a long day of walking around the city. It is also in the terrace where breakfast is served, and breakfast is out of this world! Not only high quality ingredients but also homemade delicacies, both western and moroccan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in Riad Aguaviva for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time. David, Manel and the rest of the staff were very caring - with hand-drawn maps and a customized plan for each day and a guided tour through the Medina. We felt more like relatives or friends than hotel guests. The rooms and the whole riad were beautiful and we really enjoyed breakfast on the rooftop terrasse. We couldnt have picked a better Riad for our first stay in Marrakech! When you book this place you have to be aware that its about a 20 mins walk to the main square. But for us, this was one of the best things about the Riad, because we got to see a lot of authentic Medina life and were a little further away from the areas crowded with tourists. we loved it!!
Thanks a lot Aguaviva Team!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Smara", which was perfect but we had a look at all rooms and they were all b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our first visit to an arab country and we were not sure what to expect. When we found Aguaviva on Tripadvisor it seemed like a safe choice given the excellent ratings it has received.

The riad is simply stunning and when you first walk in from the derb you are transported to another world! The courtyard with its pool and lounge area is incredibly relaxing and beautiful and the terrace (where breakfast is served) was equally so. We had originally booked the Alhambra room, but David had said that if there was a suite free he would upgrade us at no charge. We were upgraded to the Maps Suite and it was lovely, but I think all the rooms are beautiful!

Every morning we had a delicious breakfast and David would visit with us to discuss our plans for the day. He made suggestions on things to see and places that were not to be missed. We were there for a week so we had a lot of time to see everything. In the end we managed to visit the major tourist destinations in the city but also got to out to the Beldi Country Club (David's recommendation) and spend a relaxing day by the pool in a beautiful and peaceful estate just outside the city.

The best part of Aguaviva are the people. The team do everything they can to ensure you get the most out of your visit and to make you feel at home in the riad. The first night Sara took showed us the way to the main square and gave us a bit of a tour along the way, explaining the significance of the places we were walking through and also a bit of cultural advice. I am glad they do this as otherwise we might have struggled to find the way as the streets can be confusing. But David gave us maps everyday according to where we were planning on going which was a great help. One thing that David did that was certainly above and beyond expectations was to draw our portrait. He is a gifted artist and asked if he could do our portrait for us. What a lovely treat! Not to mention an amazing souvenir of our trip to Marrakech!

I can only say that staying in this amazing riad will not disappoint. I have never stayed somewhere before where I felt like I had made friends by the end of the holiday! Many thanks to David, Manel, Sara, Thais, Simo, Ibtisan and Sukaina for your hospitality and kindness!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful! Just be sure to being some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the Riad Aguaviva and words cannot express my feelings about this place and the wonderful team here. It was our first (and certainly not last) visit to Marrakech. The people here are truly unique. Genuine warmth and kindness infuses this place. The smiles, care and attention are amazing. You are made to feel like part of their 'family' and that this is your home.

Some little things that need mentioning....
David's enthusiasm and concern that your visit is tailored to what you want.
The maps! (invaluable in a chaotic and sometimes confusing city).
Manel's constant smile and wonderful laugh.
Simon's quiet care and attention.
The breakfasts and little treats (harira, yoghurt, pomegranate) that were quietly presented to us after hectic days wandering around the Medina.
The beautifully decorated rooms. Spotlessly clean.
The stunning Riad and rooftop terrace where we spent many hours chilling out in the tranquility.
The fantastic portrait of our family that David had left for us on our last day. A unique gift that we will treasure always.

Believe the reviews on this place. It is amazing. We are already preparing to return next year.

We wish the staff here health, love and happiness and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This inexpensive Riad is 5-star worthy...a beautiful, tastefully-appointed place to hang-out
as a home-base while exploring the sights and sounds of this enchanting city ! The entire staff
gives 150 % to make sure you are totally happy. They guide you to the square, to the best
restuarants thru-out the city, to the best of anything your Magical Marrakech Fantasy-Vacation
requires to keep you content and hungry for more. We stayed for 5 nights in December, 2012
and by the time our stay was over, we felt like the staff were our personal friends - part of an
extended family. The breakfasts are gourmet, the people working here are extraordinarilly kind, the riad itself is stunningly gorgeous, and the location - in the medina, is the perfect
place for centrally-located shopping and sight-seeing. If you are planning a trip to the final
destination of the Marrakech-express...This is the #1 choice to stay at !
....John and Ginny, from Corpus Christi, Texas.............ThankYou-David !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#9 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#2 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.