We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Save Saved
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the Riad Aguaviva and words cannot express my feelings about this place and the wonderful team here. It was our first (and certainly not last) visit to Marrakech. The people here are truly unique. Genuine warmth and kindness infuses this place. The smiles, care and attention are amazing. You are made to feel like part of their 'family' and that this is your home.

Some little things that need mentioning....
David's enthusiasm and concern that your visit is tailored to what you want.
The maps! (invaluable in a chaotic and sometimes confusing city).
Manel's constant smile and wonderful laugh.
Simon's quiet care and attention.
The breakfasts and little treats (harira, yoghurt, pomegranate) that were quietly presented to us after hectic days wandering around the Medina.
The beautifully decorated rooms. Spotlessly clean.
The stunning Riad and rooftop terrace where we spent many hours chilling out in the tranquility.
The fantastic portrait of our family that David had left for us on our last day. A unique gift that we will treasure always.

Believe the reviews on this place. It is amazing. We are already preparing to return next year.

We wish the staff here health, love and happiness and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    551
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
288
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This inexpensive Riad is 5-star worthy...a beautiful, tastefully-appointed place to hang-out
as a home-base while exploring the sights and sounds of this enchanting city ! The entire staff
gives 150 % to make sure you are totally happy. They guide you to the square, to the best
restuarants thru-out the city, to the best of anything your Magical Marrakech Fantasy-Vacation
requires to keep you content and hungry for more. We stayed for 5 nights in December, 2012
and by the time our stay was over, we felt like the staff were our personal friends - part of an
extended family. The breakfasts are gourmet, the people working here are extraordinarilly kind, the riad itself is stunningly gorgeous, and the location - in the medina, is the perfect
place for centrally-located shopping and sight-seeing. If you are planning a trip to the final
destination of the Marrakech-express...This is the #1 choice to stay at !
....John and Ginny, from Corpus Christi, Texas.............ThankYou-David !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I travelled to Marrakech with my daughter on 28 November for a 4 night stay. From the moment we arrived we have never experienced such a welcome from the staff at Aguaviva who go out of their way to ensure that you experience a unique journey from start to finish. David and Manel are the perfect hosts. The breakfasts are exceptional and represent the finest quality in home made cuisine. Everything about the Riad represents individuality. The rooms are beautifully furnished. Each day Oti or Cesc ensure that you are given a detailed plan of where to go and what to do. Thais provided us with a guided tour of the city on our arrival. Without all this we would not have known in which direction to point ourselves. Indeed without the warmth of David, Manel and their staff the chaos of Marrakech would have overwhelmed us. We cannot wait to return next year. No wonder is it top of the list on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms is different - all of them are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Not much to add to the existing reviews. Lovely place to stay, spotlessly clean and lovely rooms. A haven of peace and quiet in a manic city! What makes this such a great place to stay is the way that you are welcomed and taken on a guided tour of the city. They give you a very useful tour and a map so you can find way around. Run by lovely people and we will certainly be back. It's position at the top of the table is well earned.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Riad Aguaviva. The riad is beautiful, greatly decorated, very clean and really comfortable, but what made our stay there unforgettable was the way we were welcomed. The team responsible for the place is amazingly warm and helpful and they ensured everything was easy and enjoyable. We totally recommend this riad!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My mother and I traveled to Morocco at the beginning of Novemeber. We stayed at Aguaviva only two nights and wished we had decided to stay longer. The Riad itself it gorgeous. It has a beautiful small pool in it's centre and a lovely Welcoming area. The roof top terrace is fantastic. The rooms are elegant and very well kept. The best part about this Riad however, are its people. They call themselves "cool hunters" and they come across more like a friend in a foreign place. Marrakech can be overwhelming when you first arrive - the medina is a labyrinth with motorbikes zipping everywhere. To the uninitiated it's very chaotic. But David and his team make sense of the place and tailor-make an itinerary for you based on your interests. The afternoon we arrived, two of his partners, Oti and Thais, walked my Mum and I from the Riad all the way to the main square. They gave us a map and pointed out landmarks that we could remember to get ourselves home. Then they left us in the square to explore. It was amazing. The whole place was a bustle, but we felt that they had put us at ease enough to adventure about. We went to the place they recommended for dinner and it was gorgeous. The next day we had breakfast on the Terrace and had a wonderful conversation with David and Oti about the city and the country - we learned so much from them. Then again they gave us a list of interesting places to go - a photography museum which we loved, the oldest Madrasa in the city, a beautiful Riad, and an upscale shop that was for the uber rich (just for looking). Unfortunately our day was cut short due to an injury (which the staff were expert in helping us deal with) and I think David was more disappointed than we were. We left the next day for the desert but decided to come back to Marrakech early the day we were to fly out to try to see the places we missed. We wrote to the staff and they agreed that we could leave our luggage with them while we went into the medina. Cesc and Simo gave us such a warm welcome and after our travels about the country, that it was almost like coming home.

We cannot recommend this Riad highly enough. It was by far our favourite of the trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Smara room which was very lovely. Not huge, but exactly what we needed. If I were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I just had 4 nights in Riad Aguaviva. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and all the rooms are beautiful and uniquely decorated, which sets this Riad apart from a normal hotel.
The staff: Cesc, Thais, Oti and Simo were extremely kind and helpful. Every morning we were given a program for the day with information about what to see. I’m sure that we saw many “secret” spots that we wouldn’t have seen otherwise. We were really feeling at home and part of the small “family” in the Riad.
The first day we thought the Riad was located a little far from the big market place, but we quickly realized that, if we stayed closer to the marked we wouldn’t see the less touristic and charming area around Barb el Khemis, where the Riad is located.
We really want to come back to Riad Aguaviva and we give it our highest recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.