We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, really warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Save Saved
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, really warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had the entire riad (hotel) - 6 rooms in all - for 5 couples and a single (her spouse couldn't make it). Manel and Cesc gave us a really warm welcome and went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. On our first night one of them walked us through the streets to show us the town and eventually took us to the restaurant we had reserved.
Breakfasts are served on the roof, in the open air. Every day there was something new specially made for us. They also arranged a dinner in the riad (instead of going out to a restauarant), together with entertainment.
We really felt like we were being welcomed into someone's home rather than customers in a hotel.
The entire place was clean, recently renovated and tastefully decorated.

If we ever go back to Marrakech, this is the only place I will want to stay.

ONE word of warning - the website says they have a swimming pool. Don't expect to swim any laps in it. It is really just a cooling-off pool in the lobby. Great to step into at the end of a hot day, but at 4 metres by 2 metres it isn't really for swimming.
That is not a criticism of the hotel, I just wouldn't want anyone to be disappointed if they expected a 20 metre pool.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are identified on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
288
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The first thing i remember getting into the Riad was David saying to us that "this is not just a Riad" and how true it is. Not only is the hospitality immediate and apparent, we felt immediately settled and comfortable. It shows how sincere David, Oti, Manel, Thais and Simo are. The Riad is calm, peaceful, intimate and nicely done and each of the rooms have unique character. Oti and Thais proceeded to take us on a walking tour through the medina and to help us find our way back to the Riad. That was a fantastic introduction to Marrakech, with her different streets and endless turns and corners that is bound to get one lost in the midst. In the evening, when we feel like returning to home of a very warm group of friends, rather than just professional managers. This is very important and for those looking for that, it is unbeatable. Every morning, there is a delightful breakfast that is served, and David would then proceed to provide recommendations to what we could do for the day, based on our expectations on what we wanted to see in Marrakech. Restaurant recommendations will be provided, tips will be given on how to avoid tourist traps and overpriced areas, etc.

We should not forget the good services of Oti, Simo, Thais as well as the very nicely designed rooms. Each of the rooms have a theme that makes it an extremely unique experience. Riad Aguaviva is about character, uniqueness, comfort and extremely warm people.

If you are looking for a stay in the Medina, have a little adventure, and away from the usual hotels, Riad Aguaviva is for you.

PC & Cor from Singapore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My partner and have been at Riad Aguaviva for 3 nights. It was our first time in Morocco and I have to tell that we were a little bit afraid of what we saw in a beginning.

The guys from Riad Aguaviva showed us how "to survive" at the Medina in Marrakech and made of the trip a fully unforgettable experience.

Thanks very much Manel and Cesc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our new adopted family! David, Cesc and Manel are indubitably the kindest, most generous and thoroughly gracious hosts, one could wish for. They rebuilt Aguaviva from ruins, poured their heart and soul into it, and it truly shows. This Riad is an oasis of love and creativity, not to sound cheesy. One of the guys is an amazing artist, another - an amazing chef and medieval scholar, the third - an amazing actor. These three Catalonyans stole our hearts.

We kept coming back again and again every time we returned to Marrakech. And each time we felt like we are returning home from a long exhausting trip. We would dive into the cold pool and have an fantastic conversation with one of the guys over a cold drink. Other guests would join in, and our night would turn into a small party with friends.

Our room was very cozy, inviting, super comfortable, and tastefully decorated. You have everything you need, and if you don't, the guys will go out of their way making sure you get it. The rest of the staff is very nice and accommodating. Especially Simo! What a nice addition to this team. Oh, yes, and the breakfast!...OMG!!!...Mmmmm!!! Awesome!!!

WE LOVE YOU AND MISS YOU GUYS!!! Nuesta casa es vuestra casa.
Milla and Sean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

At Riad Aguaviva we enjoyed the excellent food, friendly and helpful staff, and convenient location. On our wonderful tour of Morocco with WWW.moroccooverland.com
My daughter and I we had Exceptional experience at Riad Aguaviva. After ten days by the Atlantic coast desert Atlas,, we were expectant of full hustle and bustle in Marrakech, and so were pleasantly surprised by the most relaxing (riad) experience of our entire stay in The Kingdom of Morocco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

So, many of you may be looking at these amazing reviews and wondering what's up? The answer is easy. Riad Aguaviva has 3 things that no other lodging offers that will have a very positive effect on your stay in Marrakech. Namely: David, Cesc and Manel.

They are the stars of the place and without them the Riad would be an empty shell. If you asked me to review the Riad without ever interacting with them, it would be maximum 3 stars. The decor is nice, but nothing luxurious our extravagant, the location is hard to find, etc.

But despite any drawbacks of staying at Aguaviva, they get a glowing 6 star review from us (if I could give 6 stars that is). From the moment we arrived, my wife and I felt like we were staying with old friends who had opened their home to us and were showing us around their home town. They spent time talking with us and even helped take care of us when we fell ill.

David, spent three hours showing us around the Marrakech medina after we had lost half of our trip because we were sick. I'm not saying everyone can expect treatment like this, I'm just saying, this is how they treated us.

We had a fantastic stay here and I would love nothing more than to spend more time with David, Manel and Cesc and if they were ever in my home town, I'd open my home to them in return.

Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire Uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have just got back from Riad Aguaviva and can honestly say I've never been so well treated! Cerc, Simone and Elisa were so helpful, kind and welcoming. Cerc's advice, personal tour and impromptu maps were brilliant and it felt like a home from home. We were always being treated to little bowls of fruit, crisps etc with our drinks and the breakfasts were diffrent every day and delicious.
The Riad is truly stunning, with candles, books, sumptuous seating areas, rose petals in the dipping pool, drinks on the airy terrace and always someone there for a friendly chat. The whole experience was far beyond our expectations and thank goodness I showed Cerc my own itinerary in time for him to point out some preferable/more realistic options! What lovely people and what a beautiful riad. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sultan suite and it was very comfortable and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Riad Aguaviva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.