We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aguaviva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Aguaviva to your Saves list
Riad Aguaviva
Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I recently stayed in this Riad with my partner and his mother and father. When we arrived to the Riad, we were met with open arms. They guys treated us like family from the first moment we walked in. The place was extremely clean, and well taken care of. The rooms were beautiful, and very romantic! Breakfast was GREAT, and you never felt like you didn't get enough to eat. If you have problems with getting lost, they were there to help, all you needed to do was call and they would direct you to where you need to be. I can't say enough good things about this place... I will be staying here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
326
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The first impression of this riad is a small hole in the wall in a backstreet, which we later found out is the entrance to a 'Derb' or small dead end alley. so, the home that we found behind the front door was completely overwhelming! It is a beautiful place to stay and David, Miguel and Eli greeted us with lit candles, chilled music and rose petals in the plunge pool. We then shared a pot of mint tea after being shown around. The loveliest part of this place is that the guys really do treat you as guests in their very beautiful home.

Everything was perfect here, from the amazing decor and fantastic breakfast, to the way they take you out and show you around town

I would definitely recommend this to anybody who wants to see Marrakesh and I would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Riad Aquaviva is amazing! David and Manuel were excellent hosts and made us feel increadibly welcome. This was the first of many riads that we staying in during our vacation and it was by far the best. We only wish that the other places would have been this nice. From the excellent breakfasts to the mint tea before bed-everything was perfect. David took us on a tour of the medina so that we could get a feel for the area which was such a blessing because it can be insane. He also provided us with wonderful restaurant recommendations and was able to get us viewing access into some private riads that we would never have know about. Don't hesitate in staying here-even if you don't speak Spanish or French. We didn't have any problems even though we only speak English.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Never have we experienced such hospitality! Thanks so much for your friendliness and help!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This truly is an oasis of peace in the heart of the medina - what made it so special for us were our hosts. It’s run by three delightful guys from Barcelona. Cesc speaks good English (despite his protestations), David has a bit and they both speak French. We didn’t meet Manel. Their second-in-command, the gorgeous Mohammed/Simon speaks a bit of everything. They are charming, generous, and their enthusiasm for what they do just shines out. Nothing is too much trouble and as they say, their house is your house. When the guys are on ‘duty’ they wear a red velvet coat which just adds to the air of the exotic.

Have a look at all the photos, even from them it is difficult to appreciate just how beautiful Aguaviva really is. We stayed in Baraka which has a window opening on to the balcony that runs round at first floor level with all the bedrooms off it. On arrival we found a bottle of water and a plate of sliced oranges waiting for us. Beautiful sequinned bedcover, stunning 6 foot tall feature lamp. Not an awful lot of clothes storage. We had an enormous bath made of tadelakt with an excellent hand shower. We even had a brass wash hand basin. There were tissues, toiletries, a hairdryer and red rose petals sprinkled over our towels.

After we had a chance to get settled in Cesc made us a pot of mint tea and then took us on the first of two guided tours of the medina with useful home produced maps. The next morning he took us to the local market - very interesting. He was at pains to ensure that we had an idea of where we were going.

Breakfasts on the roof terrace (even in January) were phenomenal – a hot savoury dish, toast with savoury spreads and amazing jams, freshly squeezed orange juice or a smoothie or yogurt, a sweet dish, and good coffee or, in my case, mint tea. We were free to use their laptop for internet access. They gave us suggestions for restaurants and booked tables for us, sorted out taxis and carried our bags. And as if all that wasn’t enough, David is also an artist who took our photographs when we first met and then gave us sketched portraits before we left. I was lost for words I was so touched. When we went to Essaouira for a couple of days they let us keep our room on free of charge. This was in January though.

The only negative points we could come up with were the endless music, although it was varied; the entrance, literally through a short tunnel from a typical medina street; and the fact that it is so difficult to find your way back to. Take a taxi.

We had very good meals at Dar Donab (if you can stand the belly dancing – good gnawa music though) and Le Foundouk. Also in the square although we skipped the sheeps’ heads! For crafts we loved the Ensemble Artisanal on Avenue Mohammed V where you can see artisans work and the quality of the goods was excellent. No haggling!

Some tips on Marrakech

If you are remotely uncomfortable around cats, don’t go.

No thank you in Arabic is laa shukran (as in shoe). Depending on the situation you’ll need to say it firmly, loudly and repeatedly while walking as fast as you can, but often you can say it with a smile and a raised hand and just walk on.

Always take a taxi in the evenings. Agree your price first. Otherwise you will find yourself attached to a guy who says most convincingly “Don’t worry, trust me” who will get you home but will almost certainly get unpleasant when you don’t want to pay as much as he demands.

You will get lost in the medina. A compass helps to a certain extent if you can use it. There are no adequate maps. There are only guys who want to guide you and fleece you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Wow, what can I say. I booked my trip to Marrakech with a friend, a little reluctantly I must admit. I'd heard very mixed reviews and wasn't sure what to expect. Then, I fell in love with this place. Truly amazing, fantastic service and, still, the best mint tea I've had.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Me and my girlfriend Kathrin booked a couple of nights at the riad Aguaviva. It was a perfect choice for a number of reasons. The most important one is the owners, we were welcomed by Cesc & Manel as old friends, truly genuine warmth, they also brought us around Marrakech for a first contact. The riad is not easy to spot but once you are inside feels like a oasis of peace. The hotel has been renewed completely (previously was a old house), ask the owners to see the pictures of the work they made inside, it's really interesting! Also the breakfast was very good with homemade products. Definitely a place where we would return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Aguaviva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aguaviva

Address: Sidi Ghanem, Derb Derraz 3 | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad in a traditional and quiet neighbourhood in the Medina. A place to relax after an exhausting day in Marrakech. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Aguaviva Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Aguaviva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.